Geelong vs Collingwood - 2011 Grand Final

Just thinking back to 2003, where the lions limped into the granny, and the pies were flying. We all know what happened there! What I'm saying is that the slate is wiped clean (to a point) when it comes to grand finals, prior form isn't always the be all and end all. Having said this, I'm definitely not as confident as I was last year. Contrary to a lot of people, I really don't want a close one. I dont think I could handle it after the preliminary final!!!

come on catters...i think Most of the footy fans apart from collingwood would be going blue and white for that day.

Geelong should win.

Jolly in doubt should see Ottens and west dominate.
Reid probably out, with Pods and Hawkins in good form. Tarrant can't be in two places at once. Do they bring Keefe in?

Geelong midfield can match them at least in the middle.

hmmmm...

(shakes head)

You looking at things very positively there (barracking for Geelong)? Almost troll like I would say. Bartel, Stevie J both have injurie clouds at this stage too.

Reid and Jolly both ran out the game. Do they bring in Keefe? I suspect yourtrolling there? Wood comes in and Brown would have to play defence. You were either not thinking or baiting, as the proposition of Keefe playing in a GFis frightening. It won't happen. No chance! Anyone that thinks so either has absolutely no idea about Collingwood, or they are trolling.

Reid still played out the game, and he would be given a jab, worst case scenario he misses, Leigh Brown plays defence/ruck, Wood goes to the ruck, and we also bring in Fasolo. Wood Fas, Joll, Reid, or we might bring in Goldy.

Wood's form before the finals was better than Jolly's, remember when he towlled up the Dockers in Round 23?

Cat's midfield has big question marks with Bartel under concerns, Corey massively underdone.

Re: Collingwood v. Geelong - 2011 Grand Final

I'm expecting a big Geelong win.
There's a surprise. :rolleyes:
Collingwood would need to be at their best to compete with the classy Cats next week... and they aren't. :)
Collingwood's best is better. Geelong's current form is better. I expect significant improvement next week though, because the Collingwood players know they only have to do it once more this year, and they will give everything in Mick Malthouse's final match.
The Cats would have done the same against the Hawks last night if they were in the same situation, we don't drop our heads. The Pies and the Cats both have the 'never say die' attitude, and their stars always step up when needed.
It's hard to tell because Geelong hasn't had a hard match in ages! Round 22 was a bye. Round 23 was a loss at their home ground against a fired up Sydney. Round 24 was a soft match. Qualifying Final was a soft match. Then another bye. Preliminary Final was a soft match. Not the best preparation for a Grand Final.
Geelong - they don't like getting humiliated and that's exactly what the pies did to them in the prelim last year and that won't sit well for quite a few guys who maybe playing their last GF
Collingwood feels even more humiliated by their Round 24 effort. They weren't fair dinkum that night, but they were far from happy and it is fresh in their minds.
Collingwood is ready to hunt in packs again and when Collingwood hunts, no team can match us
It will happen in the Grand Final. I'm sure of that, and when it does, Collingwood are the best team in the league. It probably isn't a bad thing to have lost twice to Geelong this year because it gives the players the hunter mentality.

Collingwood feels even more humiliated by their Round 24 effort. They weren't fair dinkum that night, but they were far from happy and it is fresh in their minds.

I cant for the life of me see why you would think, (because you have been on record as saying it time and time and time....... again,) that a dead rubber game that meant absolutely nothing would have a much greater influence on a team than one of the greatest teams of all time being humiliated in a preliminary final.

The justifications you come up with at times absolutely boggles the mind. I look forward to the line by line breakdown of my post :rolleyes:

Most football purists would agree that the "Geelong way" is simply a better brand of football than the safety first boundary-line modus operandi that Collingwood employ.

There's not much panache with the Pies game-style and they generally get over the line through 4th quarter attrition.

Geelong have a terrific fitness base and won't be running out of legs late in the game. In fact with Collingwood's injuries and underdone players they might even struggle to match the Cats in this regard.

Geelong's best is better. :)

My prediction - this will be a cracker of a game, with multiple lead changes. But the Cats will be holding the parcel when the music stops for the last time - Geelong by 6 points.
First goal : Chris Dawes
Norm Smith : Jimmy Bartel

Getting excited.

Got tickets at 10 on the dot when it opened sitting in row aa on the wing 1st level.

Does anyone know how to get Level N or P for grand finals? Haven't been able to get them for any of the 4 grand finals in the past 5 years..

I cant for the life of me see why you would think, (because you have been on record as saying it time and time and time....... again,) that a dead rubber game that meant absolutely nothing would have a much greater influence on a team than one of the greatest teams of all time being humiliated in a preliminary final.
Why are you making things up? Is it an unsuccessful attempt to discredit my opinion? If you're going to "quote" me, then use the actual posts you're referring to instead of making things up. I did not say once that it meant "absolutely nothing" let alone "time and time again," so please don't lie.

I had said that not a lot had could be taken from that match because they weren't fair dinkum and then put the cue in the rack early. That does not mean they weren't humiliated by the blow-out margin though because they were. These two articles support my opinion...

"Stand-in captain Scott Pendlebury said the Pies were left embarrassed after falling to their biggest loss against the Cats."

and...

"It was a final-round opportunity to test our set-ups against their quick ball movement. Instead, we went into self-preservation mode after the main change."
The justifications you come up with at times absolutely boggles the mind.
Don't look at me. If that's the case, I think it has more to do with you. Maybe you should just read my posts properly before misquoting me and making things up that I didn't say. That may help you regarding that. :rolleyes:

"It was a final-round opportunity to test our set-ups against their quick ball movement. Instead, we went into self-preservation mode after the main change."Don't look at me. If that's the case, I think it has more to do with you. Maybe you should just read my posts properly before misquoting me and making things up that I didn't say. That may help you regarding that. :rolleyes:

Quit picking fights?

It's hard to tell because Geelong hasn't had a hard match in ages! Round 22 was a bye. Round 23 was a loss at their home ground against a fired up Sydney. Round 24 was a soft match. Qualifying Final was a soft match. Then another bye. Preliminary Final was a soft match. Not the best preparation for a Grand Final.

Are you kidding me? The Qual against Hawthorn was not soft; the first three and a half quarters was an arm wrestle. The Cats had a burst of brilliance over a five minute period, but except for that it was a relativily even game. Considering how much discussion there was regarding Geelong winning close games throughout the year, its laughable that anyone would question their ability to win close games.

Also, the 09 final series was very similar for Geelong; easy Prelim win. 08 however was much like COllingwood this year; tight Prelim win, obviously running out of gas, etc etc.

Thats not to say the magpies wont lose, however you will have to improve your form. You can only be as good as your last game, and in both finals games Collingwood have struggled to kick decent scores. If Hawthorns defense can hold your team, Geelongs can.

It should be a good game, but dont bother sprouting stuff about how geelong has had zero preperation. This is the teams fourth grand final; the majority of the players have bene there, done that, and they have been fighting it tight all year around. Geelong is ready for this, as I am sure Collingwood is to.

Jolly and Reid will be major factors in the result, if they play then they'll be jabbed up to mask their injuries but won't be 100%, so they run the risk of taking in players who aren't right. If they don't play them, well Goldsack could cover Reid somewhat, but Wood will get r*ped by Ottens and West.
Jolly needs a big game, if the Cats rucks get on top, it could be the deciding factor.

Well the best possible matchup in the GF has resulted, should be a ripper game.

Jolly 's form has been poor and he limped off in the 4th quarter v Hawks but did come back on but looked proppy. Don't be surprised if Jolly doesn't make it and may even have played his last game and may retire. At the best he's got 1 year left in him IMO.

Cats most likely have lost Johnston, massive loss with Milburn the lickly replacement, will be astounding if his knee is right for the GF.

Ben Ried is another under massive doubt with his groin??

My tip is the Cats in a close one.

Form doesnt worry me at all, there is one more game to go and everyone will give their all, its Micks last game as a coach the players will also have that in mind. Expect a very hungry Collingwood team on Saturday. Collingwood by 26 Points.

Pies by 27.

People are seriously underrating Hawthorn last night, they were good and we played pretty ordinary shit for much of the night and still won.
We've been the best side for 2 years and there's a reason for that.

being the best side all year doesnt account for anything on the big day.

2008 and 2009 says hello.

Well I hope the Pies can stand up on the big day.
I dont think we have been as good as everyone thinks we have been over the last two years.
Everyteam has a bad day and Geelong had its one in the 2010 prelim. If we had of played geelong in the 2010 GF im not sure we would have won or had a draw...

Yes Geelong and to an extend collingwood are well above the other teams.
But god damn tell me how the pies can stop Geelong? Hawthorn cut us to pieces with their short kicking, Geelong can easily do the same. Against west coast geelong found space in short way too easily, they were always in front taking chest mark after chest mark. They kick goals easily from anywhere from any one.

The Mighty Pies will definitely need to stand up. They were way too soft against the Hawks, always second to the ball, didnt dive in first always reacting, if we do that against geelong they will be 50 up at halftime.