General MFC Discussion 2.0

Hey guys apologises for the intrusion. Firstly I just want to say that even though you got beaten by still a very experienced side yesterday, you're still on the correct trajectory. And if your best player was available, there's no doubt you would have won yesterday.

I just want to get your thoughts on Jones' comments mid week about saying "if he was a betting man, he would put money on Oliver for the Brownlow" do you guys think that was an unnecessary comment? Or were you guys okay with it?

The fact you parade a kid around as your excuse not to go..... pathetic.

If you only have weekends to spend with your child and a winning teams stops you from doing that?

And by that, i mean if thats all you have why the hell are you at the football?

Well my hours changed dramatically only 2 weeks ago. I went from having plenty of time during the day to hang with her. To getting home at night and she is already in bed.

Not sure what's pathetic about that? Things have changed so now I have to also. Couch football it will be for awhile I think.

Well my hours changed dramatically only 2 weeks ago. I went from having plenty of time during the day to hang with her. To getting home at night and she is already in bed.

Not sure what's pathetic about that? Things have changed so now I have to also. Couch football it will be for awhile I think.
I didn't even understand his attack, was some weird condescension because you're no longer going to games.

I rarely make games these days for what it's worth, I play saturdays, so can't make any saturday game. I don't go friday nights because I have to work before footy on saturdays (generally start at 5:30am then go straight to footy), and I go with the missus to Casey games if they play sunday, and if i'm not at casey i'm generally too ****in tired and sunday is my only day off so I cbf travelling an hour to the footy

Couch footy is great

I didn't even understand his attack, was some weird condescension because you're no longer going to games.

I rarely make games these days for what it's worth, I play saturdays, so can't make any saturday game. I don't go friday nights because I have to work before footy on saturdays (generally start at 5:30am then go straight to footy), and I go with the missus to Casey games if they play sunday, and if i'm not at casey i'm generally too ****in tired and sunday is my only day off so I cbf travelling an hour to the footy

Couch footy is great

I love my international streaming service. I shut off the game after the ball rolled out in front of watts so I didn't have to hear the siren. Did it against the dockers as well. Helps you feel that little bit better

Yesterday was the first game I could've made but the girl I train Sunday nights didn't reply to my text asking to move our session until 2:30 so it was too late to head in. Just had mates over and watched from home.

I honestly enjoy local footy the most (since I'm actually involved), then Casey, then the dees.

Yesterday was the first game I could've made but the girl I train Sunday nights didn't reply to my text asking to move our session until 2:30 so it was too late to head in. Just had mates over and watched from home.

I honestly enjoy local footy the most (since I'm actually involved), then Casey, then the dees.

Nothing like backing the ute/car up to the fence on the 50. Stocking an esky and watching footy at its purest form
Especially country footy which is still very 80s in the way blokes 'earn' their kicks

Nothing like backing the ute/car up to the fence on the 50. Stocking an esky and watching footy at its purest form
Especially country footy which is still very 80s in the way blokes 'earn' their kicks
Yeah I play country. Don't think we've had a game without a decent punch on haha

It's how footy should be played. It's not pretty, it's rough, the tactics don't really exist but it's bloody footy at its essence
Belt the **** out of each other and then hit the social rooms for a truckload of piss afterwards

It's how footy should be played. It's not pretty, it's rough, the tactics don't really exist but it's bloody footy at its essence
Belt the **** out of each other and then hit the social rooms for a truckload of piss afterwards
It's just hard hits and pure footy. We always play a praccy match against random suburban sides in the pre season and lose. Because all they do is bloody run barely any contests
None holds grudges after the game basically (I hold one but the campaigner drove his boots studs first into my ribs when I jumped for the ball. Tore my chest to shit and cracked three ribs)

I just want to get your thoughts on Jones' comments mid week about saying "if he was a betting man, he would put money on Oliver for the Brownlow" do you guys think that was an unnecessary comment? Or were you guys okay with it?

No issue whatsoever

Even when we were shit, going to the footy was one of my favourite things. At the moment, its too stressful. We should be winning, but we're not. Its the hope and expectation that kills you.

No we aren't getting smashed but nor should we, we have Vince Lewis Hogan Gawn Mcdonald Frost Jetta Jones Viney Tyson Hibberd Garlett and even Pedo. That's a lot of senior players.
Our senior players are all just OK. We somehow need pass the baton of responsibility onto the new breed and have them develop not flounder like all of our other kids
C'mon, all the bolded are far better than 'OK'. The rest of them are pretty good too.

I think we are heading in the right direction.
That's what I've been telling myself for 2-3 years now so not sure if it's true or I just believe what I'm telling myself because I've said it for so long.
The losses this year hurt much more than in previous years because I feel like we SHOULD be winning.
To lose Gawn is a massive hit and it should not be underestimated but we still play good footy at times after a sh*t quarter here or there in the same game so it's not the excuse.
I'll always be a member and I'll always support but f*** we are a hard team to follow.
I admit I stay away from games I don't think we'll win because those games are too frustrating.
If we played the same brand every week I could handle the losses but we seem to be a different team weekly which is too draining and I've got far better things going on in my life with a young family to waste my time at the cold MCG getting annoyed at blokes who play well when they feel like it.
Some people would call me a barrecker and not a supporter, good luck to them.
When you've followed this club for 32 years and experienced nothing but disappointment from them for the most part of your adult life, there comes a time.
Love them, always will but with yet another season almost a write off, I'm filthy with this pack of blokes who play cute, millionaire footy.

He's not wrong. Dogs and swans have had pretty shit runs (swans more so)
Our issue is we threw all our chips in the Gawn basket. So one injury has r*ped us.
My comments were more regarding the number of players used through us having some injuries and suspensions rather than any one injury impacting our ability as a side.
Agree we relied heavily on Gawn but of course we do, who wouldn't!?

My comments were more regarding the number of players used through us having some injuries and suspensions rather than any one injury impacting our ability as a side.
Agree we relied heavily on Gawn but of course we do, who wouldn't!?
You were disagreeing about the dogs and swans being more impacted?

Was disagreeing our injuries and suspensions haven't severely impacted us.
You've assumed the other bit.
Could've elaborated ;) you just said you disagreed, didn't say you only disagreed with a small part

It's a toxic relationship. As a dees supporter you are just constantly getting your hopes smashed. In a fair world after a decade of complete ineptitude and patheticness you'd then experience ten years of domination. Not with our beloved Dees.

Things I'm sick of:
- having four defenders go up for the spoil leaving two opponents unchecked on the deck;
This one I can't wrap my head around. We have all been saying this for 10 years. It happens almost every long bomb that comes in. No one stays down. No one acts as a sweeper towards the goal side. Surely the coaching staff notice this, which makes me think they would prefer everyone going up. Like I noticed a few times even Nev going up with the two Mac bros and Frost. Admittedly both times Nev was in best position (obviously) but maybe a bit of talk and understanding could happen and Nev could either run a block or just skip to the back for a crumb?

It seems to me that the decent sides don't do this. They recognise that they need one or even two players to stay down for the ground ball. It is absolutely infuriating

EDIT: Just to add. I asked the question during the week whether it was good or bad and still don't really know the answer. Is it good that we have pretty much played one quarter of good footy every week, but have managed to either be in very winnable positions, won, and not got smashed at all? Or is it bad that we are only playing one quarter of good footy a week.

Seems to me our best footy is way way up there with the very best in the comp. Our putrid footy is still terrible, and we have seen a few quarters of this so far, but we haven't really been put to the sword with it. Which makes me think that we aren't all that far off. If we can play as badly as we have for periods in each game and still be in positions to win (we have either been in front or scores level in every game this year, well into the game) maybe we really aren't that far off.

Seems to me yesterday we got beaten by a slow start, no height on the wings and hence no get out kick or answer to the hawks being able to lump it forward along the wings and turnovers (at one point they were 47 points out of 55 from turnovers). These are fixable things. I know they keep happening but it seems that even if we can put 2 quarters of footy together, we'll win most games. We have been pretty good at hanging on when not playing that well until the good quarter comes along. We just need to lift that a bit. The richmond game was a good example. We dominated the shite out of them but 'only' led by 4 or 5 goals at 3 qtr time, then simply ran out of legs.

I think it'll come. We dominated for large stretches yesterday but just the last kick inside 50 or a bad decision in the corridor here or there got punished. And it will at this level. This round shows that if you're opponents are even a bit off, and you're on, any side can beat any other side.

I know we're all sick of this, but we are still fricken young. This sort of stuff happens. It is totally frustrating but once we put 2 or 3 of those 3rd quarters together, we will start flogging the shite out of teams.

Go dees

I know we're all sick of this, but we are still fricken young. This sort of stuff happens. It is totally frustrating but once we put 2 or 3 of those 3rd quarters together, we will start flogging the shite out of teams.
I agree and I like most, have become impatient.
Just feel like after 10 years it neeeeeds to start happening now but you are right.
I reckon I've said "next year is our year" for over a decade! But, next year is our year.

Opposition:
1st Quarters: 26.15
2nd Quarters: 18.26
3rd Quarters: 21.16
4th Quarters: 27.21
MFC:
1st Quarters: 15.23
2nd Quarters: 31.18
3rd Quarters: 31.21
4th Quarters: 24.18

Unless I got confused and mixed them up near the end, which I am now (irrationally) stressing about but I'm 99% sure they are right.

Our 1st and (to a lesser extent) 4th quarters are killing us - we need to work out what we're doing wrong, especially with our starts, from a coaching perspective as playing catch-up football is being proven to be unsustainable.