Mega Thread General MFC Discussion IV – Roffey and Pert Gone

This is interesting.

One source went as far as saying that the jobs of premiership coach Simon Goodwin and Head of Football Alan Richardson are no longer safe; such is the scepticism over the intentions of some.

This club doesn't know whether its Arthur

But then immediately followed up by:

"None of the several sources that spoke with Foxfooty.com.au were in favour of dismissing either Goodwin or Richardson from their current roles, nor were they against Brad Green’s involvement in the review."

2025 is shaping up to be the most pointless season ever. Just delaying the inevitable.
Or Martha.

This is interesting.

One source went as far as saying that the jobs of premiership coach Simon Goodwin and Head of Football Alan Richardson are no longer safe; such is the scepticism over the intentions of some.

"None of the several sources that spoke with Foxfooty.com.au were in favour of dismissing either Goodwin or Richardson from their current roles, nor were they against Brad Green’s involvement in the review."

2025 is shaping up to be the most pointless season ever. Just delaying the inevitable.
The conflicting reports in the same story just shows how rudderless and at war we are behind the scenes. No one has ****ing clue.

“What I do know is that we need stability and unity, from the board, to Perty, and club leaders, to Goody [men’s coach Simon Goodwin], our AFL program, our AFLW program, staff, members and supporters.”

-Green

gfy mate

I said before he became president that Brad was just a club yes man and goes along with everything the board does

I said when he became president, no major changes will happen

I'll say it again, don't expect anything different from Green. He'll still tow the line and we'll still see the same old 'leadership'

This club doesn't know whether its Arthur

Or Martha.
This is the main problem atm. Zero direction. We shop Oliver around yet don't want to trade him! Trac wants to leave yet we chain him to the Casey Fields fence! We sack the president and replace her with a clone! We do a review yet a couple of blokes involved in the review seems to be part of the main problem. Goody dabbles into a more offensive gameplan, gets smashed then moves back to a defensive plan. We pick Brown for a debut and play him for 5 minutes. We constantly bang on about the issues we have(forward half, movement from the midfield) yet do absolutely nothing about it. I can see our worst crowd figures for years next year. The club is a mess. This review isn't going to do anything. It's all for show.

I said before he became president that Brad was just a club yes man and goes along with everything the board does

I said when he became president, no major changes will happen

I'll say it again, don't expect anything different from Green. He'll still tow the line and we'll still see the same old 'leadership'
The club really wants Smith. But he's said no(for now). Sounds like he is travelling overseas and can't do it initially, and most likely is waiting for the review to see what exactly he might walk into. Green was probably the guy the board felt the club needed as an ex player. He's never come across as a potential president to me. Was hoping he might at least make some hard calls on the coaches/playing list having been captain of the club, but it sounds like he's as brainwashed as all the others.

GZDBOgIawAAHszs

BY 2 VOTES! TWO! ANB ALMOST WON AS WELL!

I'm gonna go check 426 history, this might have just broken a record.
How good. 4 guys 30 plus and 1 guy leaving.
What a state our list is in

The club really wants Smith. But he's said no(for now). Sounds like he is travelling overseas and can't do it initially, and most likely is waiting for the review to see what exactly he might walk into. Green was probably the guy the board felt the club needed as an ex player. He's never come across as a potential president to me. Was hoping he might at least make some hard calls on the coaches/playing list having been captain of the club, but it sounds like he's as brainwashed as all the others.
I get this vibe when it comes to the review:

Pert: "yes you're an ex captain of this club but you wouldn't know anything about winning flags, now, be a good puppet president and sit over there in the corner and let the grownups talk, Brad"

Green: "Yes, sir"

This is the main problem atm. Zero direction. We shop Oliver around yet don't want to trade him! Trac wants to leave yet we chain him to the Casey Fields fence! We sack the president and replace her with a clone! We do a review yet a couple of blokes involved in the review seems to be part of the main problem. Goody dabbles into a more offensive gameplan, gets smashed then moves back to a defensive plan. We pick Brown for a debut and play him for 5 minutes. We constantly bang on about the issues we have(forward half, movement from the midfield) yet do absolutely nothing about it. I can see our worst crowd figures for years next year. The club is a mess. This review isn't going to do anything. It's all for show.

Perfectly put.
Leadership of this club got handed a premiership by a playing group that caught fire for one year.
Then proceeded to ruin any chance of a follow up with a bullshit defensive, refusal to adapt game plan and woeful list decisions.

I was a member for 20 years (2004-2023). But, last year was the final straw for me. The whole mess surrounding Oliver in the media and backing down from trading him was pathetic. Then, the absolute circus that followed throughout the preseason to basically playing a bloke because his wellbeing was put ahead of the team/club. Reverting back to a shit boring gameplan and then imploding on and off field before the trade period. This club will not get another cent of my money until every incompetent boob from Pert to Lamb are no longer there.

“What I do know is that we need stability and unity, from the board, to Perty, and club leaders, to Goody [men’s coach Simon Goodwin], our AFL program, our AFLW program, staff, members and supporters.”

-Green

gfy mate
Whether this were true or not, the fact he's declaring this before completing the review demonstrates why an external review is necessary.

Should get some sweet draft picks though when we finish bottom four and Trac/Oliver/JVR/Rivers want out.

Well in more positive news, if you don't have kayo you probably won't watch us anyway as we will get absolutely (and rightfully) reamed with the fixture. Welcome back Sunday 1pm!
Sunday games aren't even that bad. I'm actually looking forward to Sunday games again

Selfishly for me. All night games I'm not able to attend without a stay over in Melbourne. Saturday Arvo doesn't work when country footy loves that timeslot. Sunday 3:20pm is a late travel home and Sunday twilight is another stay over in Melbourne because no trains leave any later than 6pm

But legit i'm also tired of so much yellow footy even in other matches. There is soooooo many night games. The finals have pretty much become a night/twilight experience bar grand final day

I'm not really interested either in watching us **** up on a Thursday night against an interstate team in front of an empty MCG while the commentators complain

Sunday games aren't even that bad. I'm actually looking forward to Sunday games again

Selfishly for me. All night games I'm not able to attend without a stay over in Melbourne. Saturday Arvo doesn't work when country footy loves that timeslot. Sunday 3:20pm is a late travel home and Sunday twilight is another stay over in Melbourne because no trains leave any later than 6pm

But legit i'm also tired of so much yellow footy even in other matches. There is soooooo many night games. The finals have pretty much become a night/twilight experience bar grand final day

I'm not really interested either in watching us **** up on a Thursday night against an interstate team in front of an empty MCG while the commentators complain

100%

Friday nights are alright if you work in the city. But for mine it's Saturday Twilight>Early Sunday>Early Saturday

Yep. Kids sports on Saturdays and night games are generally hard to get to. Thursday nights even worse. Sunday games are perfect! Have no issues with that at all.

Friday night sucks when you're a rabble.
Ruins the weekend, cbf watching other games when uve already lost.
Just do it Sunday night when i'm already over football for the week.

I was a member for 20 years (2004-2023). But, last year was the final straw for me. The whole mess surrounding Oliver in the media and backing down from trading him was pathetic. Then, the absolute circus that followed throughout the preseason to basically playing a bloke because his wellbeing was put ahead of the team/club. Reverting back to a shit boring gameplan and then imploding on and off field before the trade period. This club will not get another cent of my money until every incompetent boob from Pert to Lamb are no longer there.
I quit a year earlier, otherwise basically the same.

Mega Thread General MFC Discussion IV – Roffey and Pert Gone