Get a damn backman

I'm still laughing it up.

Hay keeps Williams to two and Thomo kicks eight.

The two things you needed in that game a key forward and key back were playing in enemy colours. :D

Without Hodge and Mitchell Hawthorn become a very ordinary team. :)

Hawksforever! said:
Bring Back Chris Langford!!!! Then all of our full back issues will be solved...:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Chris Mew would have been handy, but then Roughead would have had to give up #2. :D

mark73 said:
Is anyone going to tell me how many Thommo kicked?

Big%20Eight.JPG

mulhollanddrive said:
Why are we so sure Dawson is our future FB? Nothing according to the BH and Hawthorn games ive seen. He's praised about his height and speed, which is great if he is average or above average at other things, but he's not. Going on with this, apparently we have no options. Campbell, Roughead, Boyle are all young players with as good a chance as Dawson at FB.

Everyone keeps talking about Langford in his early days with respect to Zac. Nobody mentions Madigan and J Robran though and many thought those two showed more early promise than Dawson.

Maybe you have heard of a bloke called Jonny Hay??? He seems to be very strong, and with some time to get over his niggling injuries from his time at his prior club, where he wasnt looked after properly. Besides big defenders rarely develop and play at there best till they are 27 plus. And with hay having 6 - 8 years left in him we are very happy with what we have got, cant wait for his peak! Best of luck with waiting for Dawson to reach his late 20's! :D

Schwatta said:
Maybe you have heard of a bloke called Jonny Hay???

The bloke who costs 400k+ per year but turns up for training on sleeping pills, pulls out of games time after time and threatens to leave every time his contract is up?

You mean the bloke who hasn't kicked a football for four years because his back and knees are chronically stuffed?

Yeah, we've heard of him...

Schwatta said:
He seems to be very strong, and with some time to get over his niggling injuries from his time at his prior club, where he wasnt looked after properly.

Niggling? Try chronic. Too bad your club is too poor to have run him through a medical prior to signing him up...might've brought a few things to light. No worries, you'll find out soon enough.

As for not looking after him properly, if the same fitness staff who took Port to a flag two years ago can't 'fix' Jonny, what makes you think you've got any chance?

Schwatta said:
Besides big defenders rarely develop and play at there best till they are 27 plus.

So Scarlett, Fletcher, Michael, Gaspar and even Hay himself have gotten better later into their 20s?

At what age did any of the above win their AA selections? How old was Rutten last year when he won it.

Schwatta said:
And with hay having 6 - 8 years left in him we are very happy with what we have got, cant wait for his peak! Best of luck with waiting for Dawson to reach his late 20's! :D

6-8 years? Good luck keeping Jonny on your list till he's 35 years old. With his injuries he'll be lucky to last another three years, but hey, full marks for blind optimism.

Honestly, could that post have been any easier to pick apart? If you're gonna talk out of your arse, at least try to make it mildly delusional...Zebra, Flag Man, Mark and co have it down to a fine art, you'd learn a thing or two from them.

Hodge_is_God said:
The bloke who costs 400k+ per year

First thing is he is on half that. (that was hard to pick apart)

threatens to leave every time his contract is up?

He barracked for the roos growing up and he knows the chance he has been given to refresh his afl career, he wont leave till he retires.

You mean the bloke who hasn't kicked a football for four years because his back and knees are chronically stuffed?

dont even need to expand on this just look up his statistics ( heaps hard to pick apart)

Niggling? Try chronic. Too bad your club is too poor to have run him through a medical prior to signing him up...might've brought a few things to light. No worries, you'll find out soon enough.

Yeah probably when weve won a flag and the hawks are still putting faith in zac dawson Lol conceeding 7 or 8 goals in 3 or 4 years!

As for not looking after him properly, if the same fitness staff who took Port to a flag two years ago can't 'fix' Jonny, what makes you think you've got any chance?

Hmm easy again, he carried your defence for years and put his body through hell and playedwith injuries just to hold the hawks back half together. do you think dawson or jacobs do that?? Lol

So Scarlett, Fletcher, Michael, Gaspar and even Hay himself have gotten better later into their 20s? At what age did any of the above win their AA selections? How old was Rutten last year when he won it.

I said MOST get better in their late 20's. look at silvagni, jakovich, hart, martyn, langford, frawley, all played much better in their later years. what standard of forwards does Rutten stand on these days? ablett snr, dunstall, brereton, lockett, carey? just because some players make AA early, you also need to take some things into account like injuries, teams that were playing well, times the ball made it into the defensive 50 and so much more. wakelins, michael, gasper, fletcher, scarlett and hay are all still playing so you cant judge their careers until they retire but i would say that most of those have definately been much better players in their late 20's!
so do you have to win awards to be rated as a top player or reaching your prime you clown, ted whitten didnt win a brownlow so does that mean he isnt a good player?

6-8 years? Good luck keeping Jonny on your list till he's 35 years old. With his injuries he'll be lucky to last another three years, but hey, full marks for blind optimism.

I believe with a low injury run he will definately play for 6 years. a new club a new start with a club he loves and a different game style and culture there is no reason why he cant go on for 6 years.

Honestly, could that post have been any easier to pick apart? If you're gonna talk out of your arse, at least try to make it mildly delusional...Zebra, Flag Man, Mark and co have it down to a fine art, you'd learn a thing or two from them.

well that seemed to be pretty easy to pick apart as well. not much sense just sounded like sour grapes to me. suggest you pick upa tissue and you may be able to see more clear. cheers, oh and thanks for the 4 points. :D

One thing i'm yet to understand is how north supporters think hawk supporters are upset at losing Hay.
I don't know of any member or supporter who gives two crackers.We were glad to see the back of him, he was inconsistant, drousy and his skills gradually got worse than anyone else on our list.

Schwatta said:
well that seemed to be pretty easy to pick apart as well. not much sense just sounded like sour grapes to me. suggest you pick upa tissue and you may be able to see more clear. cheers, oh and thanks for the 4 points. :D

No football knowledge, delusional ranting, grammatical errors, and to top it off can't even quote properly...geez you're going well...

GALON said:
One thing i'm yet to understand is how north supporters think hawk supporters are upset at losing Hay.

One thing i'm yet to understand is how Hawthorn supporters think North supporters should be upset at gaining Hay.

We aren't, he is fitting in nicely.:thumbsu:

The happier we are with him, the more :D:D:D:Ded off you guys seem to get.

Odd.

Flag Man said:
One thing i'm yet to understand is how Hawthorn supporters think North supporters should be upset at gaining Hay.

Odd.

Starting threads about us on our board, the main board...and even his own team's board.

Closet Hawks supporter...

From the Age

Top Hawks grounded by injury
By Jake Niall
May 10, 2006

HAWTHORN's good fortune with injuries ended abruptly yesterday when it learned it would be without midfielder Shane Crawford and centre half-forward Trent Croad for Saturday night's match against the Brisbane Lions at Carrara.

While Crawford will miss this week and possibly one more with shin soreness, Croad will have surgery to "flush" bone fragments from his wrist joint. Croad has played with the injury for the past two weeks, but the extent of it only became clear after examination yesterday. He will miss three to four matches.

Crawford has already been ruled out this week. While the Hawks have listed him as out for one to two weeks, they hope they might regain him for the round-eight clash with Melbourne.

"It's something we think will settle down pretty quickly," Hawthorn football manager Mark Evans said of Crawford's injury last night. Evans said Crawford had been struggling to run as a result of the shin problem and needed a rest.

Croad, used successfully as the main target across half-forward this year, yesterday visited a specialist, who confirmed that he had loose bone fragments and would require an arthroscopy to remove them. Evans said it was an old injury that had been aggravated earlier in the season.

The Hawks' fortunes have improved markedly since Croad was shifted from defence and has given them a tall mobile target in attack to complement 180-centimetre Mark Williams.

In another significant development, Hawthorn has called off contract talks with ruckman Peter Everitt and is unlikely to resume them until the end of the season.

Schwatta said:

If you want a tissue, try looking in Nathan Thompsons purse.
All Hawk supporters have see Tommo star in one game a year, because thats what he does.
This year for North Mel......... sorry Kangaroos, it was against a very young kid.

Good for him.
Hope the treatment is going along well.

Schwatta said:
Maybe you have heard of a bloke called Jonny Hay??? He seems to be very strong, and with some time to get over his niggling injuries from his time at his prior club, where he wasnt looked after properly. Besides big defenders rarely develop and play at there best till they are 27 plus. And with hay having 6 - 8 years left in him we are very happy with what we have got, cant wait for his peak! Best of luck with waiting for Dawson to reach his late 20's! :D

Mate we could do with Hay and there's no doubt he is a handy pick up for you's, but if you think he has 6-8 years left there is something wrong. He is no doubt passed his peak, and will only get worse in the years to come.

Flag Man said:

Odd.
You still don't get it. And I guess you won't as I read that you now have me on ignore.
Why is that, may i ask Flag man? Were my points and argument with you making too much sense, was I infuriating you with logic and maturity?.....oh, never mind, it's not like you can read this anyway. :thumbsu:

from todd viney:
"Yes, Nathan Thompson booted eight goals for the Kangaroos but by our reckoning, Zac Dawson was responsible for only four of those. Thompson booted some of his goals when Jarryd Roughead was his actual opponent because they happened during a 'handover' period when Dawson was looking after another opponent.

But irrespective of whether his opponent was Zac or Jarryd, the delivery of the ball into the Kangas forward line was pretty good for most of the game, and I defy any defender to stop Thompson on the lead when Shannon Grant is steaming out of the middle with the ball."

We have a few injuries so i think that means we qualify for a rookie promotion much like collingwood with O'brien. why not chuck in McEntee? he was tainted as a top 20 pick in the NAB draft but got over-looked. and even though he is a forward, looks like he has a fairly mature body so might be an idea to see if he can cut it while he has a chance.

DannyJ said:
Mate we could do with Hay and there's no doubt he is a handy pick up for you's, but if you think he has 6-8 years left there is something wrong. He is no doubt passed his peak, and will only get worse in the years to come.
The "conspicuous by his absence" poster has arrived.Where have you been droid? Saw you every day prior to the game,bobbing up here and there with an insult to add.Strange thing that karma huh? :)

mark73 said:
The "conspicuous by his absence" poster has arrived.Where have you been droid? Saw you every day prior to the game,bobbing up here and there with an insult to add.Strange thing that karma huh? :)

Don't lie again Mark,i wasn't on every day prior, because i new Dawson would play on Thompson(and kick 8). BTW how is Hale going? top three yet?

And Danny Jacobs the "the dud" how is he going?? A little injured, but that shouldn't hurt us against Brisbane, he is a dud isn't he?

And mate i wouldn't worry about a 4 goal loss to an ageing list anyway, we have the youngest list in the competion, you can have you ageing core group of players.

Get a damn backman