Gibbs Rising Star

Like everything else associated with the AFL at the moment, the Rising Star Award is wrong in so many ways. The fact Pendlebury, Ryder, M.Clark, Hurn, etc etc etc can compete for the same award against Selwood, Gibbs, etc ... is just wrong. I'll let you all try and figure out why I make such a statement.

If they didn't there would be 5 or so people to choose from. a 1st year player wins it about 50% of the time anyway.

For example it took Adam Selwood to keep Nigel Lappin to 10 possessions and to rack up 26 of his own to finally get a nomination. These are the types of games Non Vic players have to play to get a nomination. For a Vic player 10 possessions is all you need.

Your potty mouthed drone Selwood is victorian!!!

Eagles youngsters are streets ahead of the rest of the comp. Not even Victorian bias awards can hide that.

Other than Waters & Rosa who have the Eales got that is under 22 and worth such high praise

Hurn? Morton? McKinley? Lecras? Spangher?
Hahahahahahaha!!!!!!

Keep bowing to the mass opionion of the media in your hometown when it comes to your historyless fast food football club. Eagles supporters are clueless...

Your potty mouthed drone Selwood is victorian!!!

Other than Waters & Rosa who have the Eales got that is under 22 and worth such high praise

Hurn? Morton? McKinley? Lecras? Spangher?
Hahahahahahaha!!!!!!

Keep bowing to the mass opionion of the media in your hometown when it comes to your historyless fast food football club. Eagles supporters are clueless...

Priddis is 22 I believe. Morton Hurn Mitch Brown Sam Butler Nicoski all go alright too. When you remember the likes of Selwood Lynch Seaby Judd Kerr Priddis Staker Nicoski Waters Butler Rosa Hurn all have 10 years left of footy its quite scary

Like everything else associated with the AFL at the moment, the Rising Star Award is wrong in so many ways. The fact Pendlebury, Ryder, M.Clark, Hurn, etc etc etc can compete for the same award against Selwood, Gibbs, etc ... is just wrong. I'll let you all try and figure out why I make such a statement.

Why shouldn't they? Last year M.Clark was struck out by injury, Pendlebury had glandular and has played competitive football for less than 3 years, Hurn has to compete for spots in the reigning Premiers with the most talented midfielders in the league. Why should they miss out? Based on the above Pendlebury is arguably less experienced than Gibbs.

Gibbs is young and if he played in the VFL all year, he might have cleaned up the award next year, but he's been given a big role at Carlton and lots of game time and he's going to be all the better for it in the long run.

The award is not called best first year player. Its called the rising star . I think it has a very good criteria.

Priddis is 22 I believe. Morton Hurn Mitch Brown Sam Butler Nicoski all go alright too. When you remember the likes of Selwood Lynch Seaby Judd Kerr Priddis Staker Nicoski Waters Butler Rosa Hurn all have 10 years left of footy its quite scary
Mate wtf are you doing?? Not sure why you're persisting... do you think if you try hard enough then bigfooty are going to change the nomination to Hurn :confused:

This thread isnt about our team, but every post you've made in it has been....

Mate wtf are you doing?? Not sure why you're persisting... do you think if you try hard enough then bigfooty are going to change the nomination to Hurn :confused:

This thread isnt about our team, but every post you've made in it has been....

Pointing out the hypocrisy. I cant remember a more undeserved nomination really then Gibbs this week. You dont get a nom just because you were selected at pick 1. Makes a mockery of the award.

i belive i said Under 22 ... typical comprehension of an Eagles supporter ... i don't know why i bothered. Ask Barra for the answer ...

but whilst you bought them up.
Staker is the worst footballer ever to pull on a jumper - he's already cost you one premiership
Seaby was hopeless when he couldn't bludge behind Cox
It doesn't matter if Butler and Nicoski are superstars if they can't get on the park
Lynch is a dud
Morton is average
Kerr - although he has a habit of hitting people in the jewels - is a star if he can avoid undisciplined acts

still, they will all have a harder run next year (and will most likley be found wanting) if your puppet Captain leaves...

i belive i said Under 22 ... typical comprehension of an Eagles supporter ... i don't know why i bothered. Ask Barra for the answer ...

but whilst you bought them up.
Staker is the worst footballer ever to pull on a jumper - he's already cost you one premiership
Seaby was hopeless when he couldn't bludge behind Cox
It doesn't matter if Butler and Nicoski are superstars if they can't get on the park
Lynch is a dud
Morton is average
Kerr - although he has a habit of hitting people in the jewels - is a star if he can avoid undisciplined acts

still, they will all have a harder run next year (and will most likley be found wanting) if your puppet Captain leaves...

Staker- been very good this year. I've been one of his biggest critics in the past but credit where its due. Improved out of sight. He was a young KPP player in 2005, they all make mistakes.

Seaby- Great back up ruckman, see round 1 this year against syd.

Lynch- Not a superstar and never will be, but offers great value and gets everything out of his body. Eagles pay him bugger all

Morton- Too early to judge, the guy is a kid. Has shown flashes of what he's capable of this year.

Kerr- Undisciplined acts:rolleyes:, had a brain fade against mitchell, this years suspension was there, but largely bad luck, wrong place wrong time stuff IMO. Star with a capital s

Me thinks you need to watch more eagles games, and are judging players on past performance

Difference is Hurns been drilling 60m lace out passes and booting 80m goals. Gibbs has been giving 10m chip kicks and dinky handballs to no one. Add to the fact that Hurn actualy takes the best small forward and not some random half forward hack. The difference is amazing

You didn't watch the game did you? Gibbs does a lot more then just kick it short. He sets up a lot of rebound for us, and you can't do that with lil 10m chip kicks. He gets contested possessions and stops his opponent. Gibbs' little "dinky" handballs usually result in the ball being cleared from our defensive 50 as he's so composed he can pick it up in the middle of a pack, and still have enough time to give it to somebody in space. Watch the game before you comment

And if he only got it because he was the number 1 draft pick, why has it taken 10 rounds? Last round he was just as good as this week, yet the nomination went to a well-deserved Mitch Clark who kicked 5 goals for a NON-VICTORIAN TEAM. Face it, Gibbs was the best this week out of the contenders, he deserved the nomination, is beginning to show what he is capable of, and will be 10 times better than Hurn

Kerr- Undisciplined acts:rolleyes:, had a brain fade against mitchell, this years suspension was there, but largely bad luck, wrong place wrong time stuff IMO. Star with a capital s

a long history both on and off the field ... sure sounds like bad luck???:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Me thinks you need to watch more eagles games, and are judging players on past performance

me thinks you have no idea how much of the eagles i see - i haven't known them to play too many games in bunners though....

Difference is Hurns been drilling 60m lace out passes and booting 80m goals. Gibbs has been giving 10m chip kicks and dinky handballs to no one. Add to the fact that Hurn actualy takes the best small forward and not some random half forward hack. The difference is amazing

Mate, from memory he played on a past Brownlow winner and 3 time premiership star on the weekend, and also a 7 time club B&F. I tell you what though, I reckon the award is flawed, but you can still keep all the stars you have over there and shove em up your clacker mate, aside from Judd there is no-one you have on your list that I would even consider trading for Gibbs, and I think you can pretty much take that as gospel from all Carlton supporters. Bryce Gibbs is a special talent, and will be a future syuperstar of the game, Hurn is a good kid, but is limited as far as upside because of his size. No question he is a good kid, but I would argue pal, that he is probably getting it easy as far as being surrounded by the stars that you have on your list. BG is growing and developing with a heap of young kids around him, therefore he is at a disadvantage.

a long history both on and off the field ... sure sounds like bad luck???:eek::eek::eek::eek:

me thinks you have no idea how much of the eagles i see - i haven't known them to play too many games in bunners though....

Sorry, i didnt realise you were hutchy. I wasn't judging kerry for off field stuff.:rolleyes:

On field his record in the last couple of years isn't bad enough that i'd label him undisciplined.

As for the eagles playing in bunno, well, no. But there's this magical thing called television these days. Lets you see a game without actually being there. Check it out.

I'm going to the TD this weekend if thats any consolation...

Regardless i'm sure i've seen more eagles games that you've seen "Unlisted" games

Really? What round?
Last week for his consistent form or the game against the Cats when he had 18 possessions. Wood didn't deserve the nomination that round and Clark did nothing against the Tigers' pathetic backline.

The people who vote each round must read Big Cox's posts for info on who is playing well. :D:eek:

Gibbs Rising Star