Gold Coast Kangaroos does have a good ring to it

Poor Matt. Can't think, can't type: can revise.

I would have thought the following sentence of my post there, in which I talk about the supporters of certain clubs being willing to sacrifice other clubs while unwilling to move their own clubs, may have triggered some spark in your minuscule brain that the subject of my address to you was in point of fact your club.

Perhaps I was expecting too much of you. Such is life.

Back on topic? The Gold Coast Kangaroos would achieve nothing but the mutilation of the North Melbourne Football Club.

Yes them and everyone else besides a few of the supporters. It is obviosu that they will move or merge in the next few years. Sooner the better imo. The less Vic teams the more the game apears to be Australian

Until we have the Coober Pedy Cockroaches, it won't really be Australian. And think of the broadcast rights when we have the Broome Bulldogs.

By the way Marge, I was being sarcastic.

Western Bulldogs are a good chance. The most likely to come to Sydney I would say.

Ah yes, the old theory that West Sydney deserves a team but West Melbourne doesn't. Was just driving down to Geelong during the week and was amazed by the western suburban sprawl. Has to be the fastest growth corridor for young families in all Australia. Why would anyone abandon that for the rugby league wasteland?

LMFAO. All I hear are these responses from supporters that don't turn up to watch there team play. Go to the games, bring your mates, sign up other members and your club won't leave Melbourne. Otherwise its off to the Gold Coast for you:p

You need to look up the meaning of schadenfreude and then take some serapax.

From a West perspective.

Gold Coast Kangaroos, does sound amazing

Epitomises alot of what Australia is all about.

It might be an easy name for people overseas to relate to as well

The name could be catchy enough to get people interested

What are other peoples opinions

Gold Coast Cane Toads sound better.

You know what, I don't think that's a good thing. Thinking about it now... what benefit is there to gain in moving the Kangaroos to the Gold Coast when a well established rich club with alot of supporters can just move up into it similar to Port Adelaide. With that said, if that happens, someone has to go cause the AFL has always been vocal about a 16 team competition, no more, no less.

If the Roos fold or relocate I will be as disillusioned with the competition as I ever have been.

I'm sorry, apparently I need to spell out that by "no Melbourne team" I mean "no currently-based Melbourne team".

Duh.

Besides, you're so keen on a Melbourne club going interstate? Off you go then. Funny how the people who are so ready to sacrifice Melbourne clubs always balk when it's their own club in question.
Correct !! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

And if Caro's story in today's Age is correct (I know that would be a rarity, but funnier things have happened) and the Roos are bribed with a big package of $ + draft concessions, just sit back & wait for the squeals of outrage from all the morons who have spent the last few months demanding the Roos relocate

Back on topic? The Gold Coast Kangaroos would achieve nothing but the mutilation of the North Melbourne Football Club.

Spot on.

Should the Kangaroos permanently relocate to the Gold Coast?

Yes 72% No 28%
http://www.realfooty.com.au/polls/results.html

Well - sold then. Let's move.

Look around bigfooty - the vast majority of knobs want North gone (most of them have their teams 'unlisted') where as nearly all the respected posters who can put an intelligent argument together are against relocation. There are a couple of exceptions - which is fair enough - but it would be more than 72%.

That is a better sample than a bunch of morons who click yes because we regularly kicked there arse in the 90s and they hate Carey,

Dont shoot the messenger.

I just saw it and thought it was relevant.

I'd rather see them stay in Melbourne because the GC is a dead area. Previous NRL experiments have shown that many times.

The Titans have got in first this time and I dont think there is room for two fulltime teams regardless of if they're in a different code.

Dont shoot the messenger.

I just saw it and thought it was relevant.

And I addressed it's relevance.

The other factor is that the message of North relocating is the only view the Age readers have had shoved down their thorats. Over and over and over. There is an agenda in place and they substantiate their facts with opinions.

The closest they have come to a counter argument is aMichael Voss article this week. The bloke who would no most about QLD football and what it means to be onvolved with a football club.

That is terribly sad. What happened to the coming of one of the league's supporters that was witnessed during the Bulldogs near death in 1989?

Fans keep complaining about the game changing, but we're changing too much with it.

I am amazed that any true footy supporter would want this. Especially in the leagues current financial state.

I hate a lot of Melbourne teams - ****ing hate them - but I would never want to see them relocate or die and would give up money to try and stop it.

I had a lot of Fitzroy friends, and it ripped their hearts out and they were lost to footy for ever.

Ah yes, the old theory that West Sydney deserves a team but West Melbourne doesn't. Was just driving down to Geelong during the week and was amazed by the western suburban sprawl. Has to be the fastest growth corridor for young families in all Australia. Why would anyone abandon that for the rugby league wasteland?

i'm with you
Weet Melbourne>West Sydney

I'd rather the AFL have teams in NQ, Tasmania even maybe Darwin before Sydney, let RL have Sydney, there is no point in putting a second team there at the expense of western melbourne. I'd go even further and say that a stadium (maybe only 30,000 capacity not all seats) shoud be built out there as well. Then again in the SE of Melbourne also a fast growing area, they closed the ground down, so who knows what the AFL want.

What have we learnt from moving teams into hard to crack markets?

Allow North Melbourne time to build a local following on the GC and then around 2015 perhaps move there.

Southport sharks sounds better.Gold Coast won't embrace the Kangaroos. 11,000 with the Lions involved is pathetic. Watch the crowds get worse in the next 2 matches. another 3,000 could have fitted in easily. If it was a Southport sharks team people on the coast would be more receptive.

If Southport got a licence, it simply would not work unless they named themselves the "Gold Coast Sharks". The name sounds cool too, but not exactly a boost for beach tourism ;)

Canberra Kangaroos always sounded better (national capital, national emblem).

It has already been established that few people support the club in the area in which they grow up. There are only 2 stadiums in Melbourne that really are used for footy. Why is it a problem then if a team is moved. Western Bulldogs are not supported by West Melbourne you nucklehead. They would have more Collingwood supporters there

Definitely not true. If you go to a juniors training session in the EDFL all you see is Essendon and Bulldogs jumpers. I was watching kids train the other day and would have only seen 5 or 6 Collingwood jumpers in all of juniors. People generally support the family team... and if you grow up in a certain area you're more likely to support that team.

And your basing this on what sort of statistics?

I think that the Kangas need to make the leap of faith and move to the GC permanently. I know this is not popular, but you have to understand that the GC just got the Titans (NRL) who are there permanently. The Titans are doing a great job at building a fan base and bonding to the locals. The Kangas can't do this with a few token games a year up at the Gold Coast. Its a waste of time. You won't build a fan base doing that. The Kangas if they really want to make a go of it on the Gold Coast need to relocate there and form an alliance or some sort of agreement with Southport. Get those two clubs together to help get an immediate base of fans (sure it will be tiny by AFL standards but its a start). At the moment the Kangas are just throwing money away as most people aren't going to get behind them when they might change their minds and go back to Canberra or try for Tassie. Better to go for the Lions who are an established QLD team that won't be going anywhere. The AFL needs to get behind the Roos moving to GC and the competition will need to support them through the transition period which may take 10-20 years. Its going to be rough, but if they really want to make a go of it on the Gold Coast they need to do it fully instead of pissfarting around and not committing.

Enough with this Southport shit. They are a largely a social club with a football club on the side. If the only reason to relocate North is because of pensioner pokies money then why cant we stay in Melbourne and call ourselves the Crown Casino Kangaroos.

Southport is the Essendon equilavent in the QAFL. Rich off-field but hated by the rest of the clubs. No Broadbeach supporter would barrack for Southport.

The Titans are a rugby league club in a rugby league dominated state. That is why they are going well.

The AFL trying to put a team into the Gold Coast based on the success of the Titans would be like the NRL saying that because the Adelaide Crows are doing so well in SA that we should put a rugby league team there.

That is absolute crap. The support for the two codes is 50/50 on the coast and AFL supporters are by and large a lot more passionate about their game than the sniffers. Adelaide, conversly, would have little to no support for NRL.

More and more southerners are coming to the coast and raising families. There will be an AFL club on the Gold Coast and it will more than likely be the Kangaroos. It will be gutting for their hardcore but the competition must develop in areas of growth.

What are the Kangaroos going to do if they go it alone in Melbourne? No amount of Shinboner spirit will save them if the AFL pulls the plug on the $'s.

That's true..........but if the AFL decides to give every club the exact same amount of $, North aren't the only one that could go under. On the other hand, if the AFL honors the stated policy of doing all that is reasonable to ensure the survival of the current 16 clubs, there is no reason why North has to go under.........or why they HAVE to relocate.

How about Darwin's theory applied to football? The Kangaroos aren't going to get a smaller supporter base by moving to the Gold Coast.

Gold Coast Kangaroos does have a good ring to it