• Lachlan Sholl

• Rory Sloane

• Brodie Smith

• Jake Soligo

• Riley Thilthorpe

• Taylor Walker

Results are only viewable after voting.

Yeah that was a shocker but from memory Brodie Smith lost us the game with a botched 15m pass that missed Seedsman at a crunch time
From memory Laird had 30 disposals, 29 of which went straight to the opposition.

We managed to beat them the following year though, despite even worse umpiring.

Another thing I noticed ..... on several occasions - at least twice - but could have been more, a Crow, running free from the centre, would kick it low to a leading forward - either Fogerty or Walker, only to have it chopped out by a Hawthorn defender unexpectedly arriving in no-man's land ten to fifteen in front of the leading player. Because the kick was a low dart aimed at the chest of the leading forward, it was low enough for the interception. My memory says Rachele but it might have been him and another. I reckon that was a conscious coaching decision - and it worked well. Just one of the many good plans made by Mitchell in preparation for the game against us.
For sure and if there’s one area of the ground where the hawks are exceptionally good it’s their back 6

They are especially attacking with plenty of very good intercept players including Sicily , Jiath , Hardwick , Impey … even Frost for his kamikaze errors does alot of intercepting

I was at the game.

Good - Sloane and the maturity and will to win. Sloane in the last quarter was inspirational. In the last ten minutes, it was like a switch was flipped and the team realised that unless they put their head over the ball, they‘d lose.

Walker taking his opportunistic chances and, with Fog presenting and nailing it when he needed to.

Michaelanny can hold his head high after beating Breust.

Doedee carries himself well and was doing a good job marshalling the backline.

Pedlar provides good spark in the forward line and Rachele oozes class but just needs to slow it down sometimes and make the good decision.

Bad - our defenders clearly don’t like lining up on their opponents. If they’re playing man on man, they need to be closer. If it’s a zone defence, it’s not working.

Hawthorn wanted it more all day, and if it wasn’t for some extra polish, they would have got the choccies.

Ugly - the gap between best and worst.

Do clubs get forewarned when umpires are going to adjust their interpretation of rules?

Eg the no holding the ball frees yesterday

Seemed that the Hawks loaded numbers around the stoppages. Very congested. Lots of repeat ball ups. The rule adjustment suited what they were trying to do.

FWIW I like the principle of protecting the ball winner and giving more time & leeway to the guy who's actually winning the footy. I could care less about rewarding the tackler in congested situations. Open field tackles a different story.

However it made for a worse game to watch. Less flow, slowed it down. Hot on htb frees opens things up even if it's a raw deal to the ball winner

Not quite sure where I sit on it overall because if they err towards rewarding the tackler then being second to the ball will become a genuine tactic.
It’s weird as you’d expect if they are trying to limit chances of dangerous sling tackles they would have adjusted the interpretation the other way a little

Classic AFL is if it’s direct opposite interpretation this week against collingwood

I dont agree with all of these.
BEST
Hawthorn:
Newcombe, Sicily, Nash, Amon, Greene
Adelaide: Laird, Sloane, Walker, Fogarty, Dawson

Have the coaches votes come in. I thought Soligo and Sholl had good games.

Whole post was food for thought :thumbsu:, for me. I wasn't going to watch the replay, but I think after your post I will.
I noticed one of their blokes breaking the HB line and rebounding strongly. Was that Impey?

1) There's a possibility Murphy and Keays had other roles to play; we don't know.
if neither Murphy nor Keays spotted Impey's influence, isn't it up to Nicks to point that out and get one of them (hard-running Keays would be my pick) to clamp down on him?
2) I agree that they are not, but have no clue what they're thinking.
My criticism of Keays (apart from no-R-foot) is that he's very "busy", even when he doesn't need to be. I've seen signs over the last 2-maybe-3 weeks that he's finally learning to give off when he's not in a great position and not try to snap superstar goals from poor positions eg his handball to Jones early in the Carlton game (resulted in Rankine goal), his handball to Rankine late in the last.
Rankine was deeper in the pocket but much more likely to kick the freak goal, which he did.
Definitely had Murph on him in the last quarter...

I was at the 09 semi. And that free kick was right in front of me. Bloody Rutten

I did all of the 2007 Elim, 2009 semi, 2012 prelim, 2015 semi, 2016 semi, 2017 Grand Final.

And people wonder why I'm not an optimist.

They're Tasmanians; do they think that far ahead?

Seriously, my guess is they don't rate Hawthorn.
Mrs OldCrow and I had a last-minute thought to go down to Tassie for the game. Accommodation and travel pretty easy.
BUT - very few tickets left, and only in the forward pocket for $100 each, so we gave it a miss.
All the other areas of the ground that were "sold" clearly not full. The AFL won't schedule another Vic club down there, so teams coming from other states are less likely to help fill the ground.

On hating Hawthorn, does anyone else remember a Friday or Saturday night game at the MCG circa 2015 to 2017 ish where the #freekickhawthorn was worse than the 2012 Preliminary Final?

Or have i imagined this?
There was the day game at the MCG against the Hawks (2017 i think) where DMAC tackled Paul Puopolo after Puopolo had tried to fend off a couple of players and got caught cold HTB..

But right at the end of DMAC’s tackle he ended up on top of Puopolo (not geavily mind you) and the umpire paid it “in the back”.. 15m out pretty much right in front of the Hawks goal..

Even the commentators said it was one of the worst decisions they’d ever seen.

The night one you are talking about was a year or two earlier.. Hawks were in the lead in the last minute.. at the bounce the ball went into the Crows forward line and a Hawk player just grabbed it stood upright and just waited literally 2-3 seconds holding the ball tight to his chest waiting for a tackle..

He was tackled and the ump instead of calling it HTB said “mine, I’ll ball it up”..

It was the last play of the game.. we lost again through yet another blatant umpire cheating episode that benefitted Hawthorn.

There was the day game at the MCG against the Hawks (2017 i think) where DMAC tackled Paul Puopolo after Puopolo had tried to fend off a couple of players and got caught cold HTB..

But right at the end of DMAC’s tackle he ended up on top of Puopolo (not geavily mind you) and the umpire paid it “in the back”.. 15m out pretty much right in front of the Hawks goal..

Even the commentators said it was one of the worst decisions they’d ever seen.
Footage of it here:

Still makes me angry

That cost us a top 4 spot that year.
What about the year Essendon match fixed that last game of the year and allowed themselves to be flogged by a huge (and just the right amount mind you) margin that resulted in the Crows getting knocked out of a top 4 spot and a double chance.

AFL.. “move along.. nothing to see here”..

I laugh at naive supporters that dont think the AFL does everything it can to fxxk us over.

They will not let the crows win another flag until we’ve gone atleast 50 years between our last one..

They would love nothing more than to see crows supporters suffer as long as Saints supporters have.. and as long as Dees supporters had to..

Apologies if posted earlier, this is an awesome video highlighting Dawson's leadership in the last minutes of the game, well worth watching.

Adelaide’s decision to appoint Jordan Dawson as skipper has been further validated, with the star midfielder lauded for showing “elite level leadership” during the thrilling final stages of his side’s win over Hawthorn.

‘Passed with flying colours’: Crows’ ‘elite level leadership’ during frantic final seconds revealed

What about the year Essendon match fixed that last game of the year and allowed themselves to be flogged by a huge (and just the right amount mind you) margin that resulted in the Crows getting knocked out of a top 4 spot and a double chance.

AFL.. “move along.. nothing to see here”..

I laugh at naive supporters that dont think the AFL does everything it can to fxxk us over.

They will not let the crows win another flag until we’ve gone atleast 50 years between our last one..

They would love nothing more than to see crows supporters suffer as long as Saints supporters have.. and as long as Dees supporters had to..

I think people feel less ripped off about that year after we got our asses kicked at home in an elimination final.

Review Good/Bad/Ugly vs Hawthorn, R6 2023