Gorringe: I'm disgusted, Port lied to me.

I think something fans are forgetting is, it's his life. Would not surprise me if Port convinced him to leave GC, not for his benefit, but as a plan B.

They used the kid and he has woken up to it.

People always side with the clubs and see them largely as an innocent party in disputes, but the way Port have conducted themselves at the trad table in the last few years, whilst beneficial to them is pretty reprehensible. In the case of Ebert, Polec and Ryder, they have convinced the player to bend their former clubs over and given the fallout with Gorringe, it seems that this approach shows almost a sociopathic diregard for the consequences should it not pan out.

Players beware is my suggestion. Port are asking that they burn bridges, to ensure they get kids at minimum cost. But if it doesn't pan out, or a player like Gorringe is being used, so as a backup, it will end badly for all parties but Port. Absolute scumbag behavior, and Gorringe's attitude shouldn't cloud fan perception as to what they are doing .

I reckon that's the most stupidest post I've ever read. "PLAY BY NUMBERS " yeah right. You've got 5 numbers on your hand, go use them W.....R

Saw him host a video talking to his teammates earlier this year. Rather amusing and he seemed like a bit of a lad.

Now he seems like a whiny little fu*kface with a god complex after playing all of 16 minutes for a side that's won a third of its games in its entire history.

Won't be such a big shot when he's back living in Tea Tree Gully jerking off, playing Xbox and crying (in that order), before his Mum yells out "Are you going to be home for dinner?!". Then he'll get picked up by some overweight slapper in a Daewoo Lanos who wears leopard print tights, a faux leather jacket and far too much generic Big W makeup. He'll sneak her back into his bedroom so he doesn't wake up his Mum, look in horror at the behemoth that lay before him, start weeping and regret being such a sanctimonious w*nker when he had the opportunity to make a nice living on the Gold Coast, after being a top 10 draft pick and looking towards being a possible premiership ruckman.

Silly little flog. :thumbsdown:

AFL-Footy-Player-Off-Season-Twitpic-117.jpg

Picture of Dan currently on the Goldy laughing at your post ;)

Lot of people shooting off at the mouth. Oh he's naive!? Really? How old he is?

The issue is what Port told him re getting him there. Because they told Ryder he'd be a Port player and he was extremely nervous last week. Part of the Ryder deal (pick 37) was offered to GC for Gorringe. What if it was accepted? We'd never hear from Gorringe and Ryder is left out in the cold.

Port just treating humans like cattle. Ok that's how the AFL works, but don't jump up and down like knobs just because one of those cattle a reacts with a human emotion. How dare they hey!?

It's all perception. This was gonna be Ryder or Gorringe. If it was Ryder nobody would be smashing him. Leave the kid alone.

Port were stringing both him and Ryder along knowing they'd only ever be able to get one.

I'm happy because it ended with Paddy getting his trade but at the height of the impasse they made an official offer to GC for Gorringe (pick 37 which was a bit laughable but anyway)... If that were accepted then it would have been Ryder in Gorringe's position.

Gorringe needs to come to terms with the fact he was Plan B. I'd be looking in the direction of his manager as he clearly wasnt doing his job.

Having said that Ryders campaigner of a manager did his job and he was still very nervous this week given it took Port so long to come up with a realistic trade offer. But all's well that ends well on that front - just not for Gorringe I guess.

Regards of Gorringe's twat status, I think ethically clubs shouldn't be telling players they want them and to make noises about leaving unless they have a genuine willingness to get the trade done. Obviously there's the possibility of the player being left with his arse in the wind as Gorringe has.
Geez you wonder why people think Bombers fans are delusional. You actually think that Port Adelaide are telling players to actively piss off their clubs so they can get them to leave. Have you sat and thought that it would actually make a trade HARDER, not easier?

17 and 37 is a crap offer for Ryder, who couldn't make top 5 in your B&F ever? 37 is a laughable offer for a player who struggled to get game time this year at a club that has never made finals, but apparently 37 is ok to offer for a Brownlow medallist? Give up.

We made a play for Gorringe last year, and he turned us down. Apparently to secure a bigger contract from GC, which he got. And we should feel sorry for him? It appears to me that he went public with Port's interest this year because he saw an opportunity to get in with the Ryder trade stalling, and wanted to force the issue.

And finally, you are definitely the last set of fans to be telling other fans about how clubs can treat players ethically.

This bloke has just put a big fat full stop on his career.

Gold Coast will probably delist him, and if most clubs have a no dickhead policy, he wont get a gig after next year.

Sounds pretty stupid. As if Port went out of there way to "lie" to this bloke. Its the way the mop flops at trade time.

Think Ryder was more important to Port than some backup ruckman.

Sounds like a right dill

Geez you wonder why people think Bombers fans are delusional. You actually think that Port Adelaide are telling players to actively piss off their clubs so they can get them to leave. Have you sat and thought that it would actually make a trade HARDER, not easier?

17 and 37 is a crap offer for Ryder, who couldn't make top 5 in your B&F ever? 37 is a laughable offer for a player who struggled to get game time this year at a club that has never made finals, but apparently 37 is ok to offer for a Brownlow medallist? Give up.

We made a play for Gorringe last year, and he turned us down. Apparently to secure a bigger contract from GC, which he got. And we should feel sorry for him? It appears to me that he went public with Port's interest this year because he saw an opportunity to get in with the Ryder trade stalling, and wanted to force the issue.

And finally, you are definitely the last set of fans to be telling other fans about how clubs can treat players ethically.

Not even gonna go there.

This sounds like Essendon and Ryder.
Especially the treating humans like cattle bit.

When replying to my post, do any of you have anything to say on the topic?

Port behaved poorly throughout the trade period. Attacking some 20yo isn't going to change that.

Nobody's saying it's better or worse or has anything to do with the Essendon - ASADA affair. Why don't you grow up and discuss the topic?

If you want to talk about Essendon, there's hundreds of threads and multiple boards to do it.

Port behaved poorly throughout the trade period. Attacking some 20yo isn't going to change that.

Nobody's saying it's better or worse or has anything to do with the Essendon - ASADA affair. Why don't you grow up and discuss the topic?

If you want to talk about Essendon, there's hundreds of threads and multiple boards to do it.
How so? As if we promised him he would be at Port next year when he is contracted to the Gold Coast. We would have told him that we'd do our best to get him here and we did.

Port behaved poorly throughout the trade period.

Just rubbish, his manager knew exactly what happens as the week unfolds. If Jeremy Cameron said he'd had enough and wanted to come to port, dya think he'd blame port still, every club in the comp would change course if he declared he wants to leave. such a woosy attitude, he'll cop far worse than that if he stays in the system. Thank god he didn't come.

Have a look at your own clubs ethical standards before you continue to act all high and mighty, as some of your supporters have done over Ryder.

Every club has had ethical issues in the past, some are just more public and severe than others but they are all there.

As for Gorringe it's entirely possible that he was told he would be drafted, only for what you thought you would get Ryder for wasn't enough and you had to up your offer and lose Gorringe. Not saying that's what happened but for a player to come out publicly and say you lied to him is a big move if it didn't actually happen.

Port Dodged a bullet. Wouldn't want this dude in your club when you're going for a premiership.

like a cancer

What "bullet"? What "cancer"?

As I said earlier, footy clubs, players and people must be seriously ridiculous places if this sort of stuff is considered "damaging" or "hurtful" to anyone or anything. It's just a young bloke who didn't get what he wanted blowing off some steam. Surely anyone with an ounce of sense would see it for what it is and just laugh it off or dismiss it, rather than it actually hurting anything.

If Port had gotten him in a trade, then none of this would have been said, and there'd be no "bullet" or "cancer" to be seen. Still, it's hardly the massive indictment on his personal character that it's being made out to be. Young blokes say and do stupid stuff all the time. This is pretty petty and essentially meaningless, and as low as it gets on the "damage" scale IMO.

As much of a dick he may be, Port shouldn't have ****ed him around.

Have done so, multiple times, and you just ignore it.
Your posturing on Port Adelaide's negotiations with Essendon for Patrick Ryder trade would be funny if you weren't so serious. "Oh dear, Port Adelaide aren't throwing the kitchen sink at Essendon, therefore they aren't serious." That's what a NEGOTiATION is, you know that don't you? "Oh pick 17 is laughable. Oh pick 17 and 37 is laughable. Port a Adelaide aren't serious. They are abusing Ryder here and don't care."

And who's attacking a 20yo, we are defending observes against said 20yo who, when 19, negotiated with us when out of contract, only to find that he was simply bumping up his salary at GC and used us to do it. The player and his manager knows EXACTLY what was going on, and how the trade game is played.

I wonder if Essendon was stringing Cooney along like "cattle". Obviously weren't interested in doing a deal until very late, were they? If they'd come clean to Port a Adelaide and said "Give us 17 and 37 and we have a deal, so we can then get Cooney, then it would have been done and dusted long ago." As it was, if Port said no deal, then Essendon would have left Cooney hanging. double standards abound.

(And it has everything to do with the ASADA affair. Because if it wasn't for that, then Ryder would be playing for essendon still. It was Essendon's poor treatment of their players that led to these events. If you'd looked after their welfare, we wouldn't be listening to your whining.)

So if he's loving the beaches and getting more pussy than a toilet seat, what does the fact that he's desperate to get back to Adelaide say about the ol' GCS?

It says that he's a third-stringer for them who has played 20 games in four years, and his standing on the totem pole doesn't look like changing, so he wants to go back home to clubs that just happen to need a second ruckman at the time.

I think when it comes down to it the bloke probably just wants to get a regular go already and get some momentum behind his AFL career. Nobody "deserves" a game just because they're young and they've got potential and were a high draft pick, but at the same time, to go from being a first round pick, All-Australian U/18 ruckman, playing SANFL seniors at age 18, etc. to having injuries and have other people go past you, and having it look like your spot in the pecking order won't improve must be pretty frustrating.

Have a look at your own clubs ethical standards before you continue to act all high and mighty, as some of your supporters have done over Ryder.

Every club has had ethical issues in the past, some are just more public and severe than others but they are all there.

As for Gorringe it's entirely possible that he was told he would be drafted, only for what you thought you would get Ryder for wasn't enough and you had to up your offer and lose Gorringe. Not saying that's what happened but for a player to come out publicly and say you lied to him is a big move if it didn't actually happen.
We don't draft, we trade.
And this is for a contracted player, we didn't have the ability to promise anything to any player apart from our best efforts, to Ryder or Gorringe.
Gorringe missed his chance to join us last year, his choice. We didn't attack him then, maybe we should have.

Just incredible how you guys view the events at your club in the past 2 years. Always amazes me.

My post doesn't take away from any of the events at my club that we were responsible for however your club is far from innocent, as are all the others of various degrees of unethical behavior, so drop the holier than though bullshit for a change...
So why do Essendon supporters feel they can tee off on Port Adelaide about ethical behaviour?
Double standards methinks.

We don't draft, we trade.
And this is for a contracted player, we didn't have the ability to promise anything to any player apart from our best efforts, to Ryder or Gorringe.
Gorringe missed his chance to join us last year, his choice. We didn't attack him then, maybe we should have.

Doesn't mean you didn't do it.

As i said, i don't know if it happened or not but i doubt a player would come out publicly and say what he did without it most probably being true.

It says that he's a third-stringer for them who has played 20 games in four years, and his standing on the totem pole doesn't look like changing, so he wants to go back home to clubs that just happen to need a second ruckman at the time

Fair enough, except that he would've still been a third-stringer at Port if we'd failed to get Ryder...

Gorringe: I'm disgusted, Port lied to me.