Goulburn Valley FL - Part 2

Re: Official GVFL Thread (part 2)

There are footballers throughout country areas in Australia who are capable of playing AFL,SANFL,WAFL but just dont aspire to play at a higher level, it is the same in interleague comps, it just doesnt interest them does that mean WHY HAVE FOOTBALL at all Its just a fact of life CD get over it and move on

Exactly

There are footballers throughout country areas in Australia who are capable of playing AFL,SANFL,WAFL but just dont aspire to play at a higher level, it is the same in interleague comps, it just doesnt interest them does that mean WHY HAVE FOOTBALL at all Its just a fact of life CD get over it and move on
YOU ARE BETTER OFF HAVING A PLAYER WHO IS 100 % COMMITTED AND WILL HAVE A RED HOT GO RATHER THAN A BETTER PLAYER WHO'S HEARTS NOT IN IT.REP GAMES SHOW THE QUALITY OF THE PEOPLE THAT MAKE UP THE LEAGUE AND RIGHTLY OR WRONGLY REP GAMES ARE WHAT A LOT OF PEOPLE BASE THE STANDARD OF DIFFERENT LEAGUES ON.

Who doesn't want to play in their game?
Would think there will be a bit of a crowd too!

Why do you think there hasn't been a SOO game in years? Plenty of players didn't want to play interstate football in the later years of SOO.

A few of them are keen this year, because it hasn't been on for years and it may not be played again for a while.

Since the VFL expanded to included interstate clubs there is no where near the same interest in interstate football.

Rep football is great fun, you get to play with a bunch of blokes you try to belt the crap out of every week and make some bloody good mates along the way as well. You also get to keep your jumper, which makes a good training top too!

If players don't want to play stuff em, I'm sire there are more out there that would love to play than not play. Its not AFL and theres not that many in the GV who needs injections before games.....

Rep football is great fun, you get to play with a bunch of blokes you try to belt the crap out of every week and make some bloody good mates along the way as well. You also get to keep your jumper, which makes a good training top too!

If players don't want to play stuff em, I'm sire there are more out there that would love to play than not play. Its not AFL and theres not that many in the GV who needs injections before games.....

Agree and also agree withthe earlier post that rep footy is usually best for blokes under a certain age. Archard out of Echuca wasnt picked up as a draft player but got onto Adelaide's rookie list based on age and making a name in country footy through games with Echuca and also performances in interleague. I think if the best players want to play let them but when they dont use younger blokes to fill the holes. Only makes them more valuable to your club through an experience of playing against the best players in the state.

Interleague is a stupid concept and they should change the way they go about it. If the best thing to come out of interleague is for younger players to prove themselves for the opportunity to be drafted change it to ander age football. Have your under 18s and a under 23. Might be the most beneficial way to do it for players and clubs. Give the kids that missed out a chance to show what they have against the best of other leagues and give the clubs the benifit of there kids getting the experiance. Have it run at an AFL type level like the under 18 championship.
Just an idea but im sure you will pick the eyes out of it!

Correct me if Im wrong, but I dont think Archard was put on Adelaide's rookie list through his performances with Echuca and GV interleague. He put on their rookie list after a sensational year playing at South Adelaide in the SANFL where he was right under the recruiters noses, not on a paddock in the Goulbourn Valley area.

GVFL SENIOR TEAMS

SEYMOUR
B: Judge-Williams, Inness, Penn
HB: Colbert, Hooper, Anderson
C: Pemberton, Scanlon, van Reit
HF: Green, Stevenson, Clifton
F: Saad, Schottner, Loraine
Foll: Tampkin, Liddell, Haberman
Inter: Amad, Russo, Groves

SHEPPARTON UNITED
B: Tenace, Anderson, Vidler
HB: Carroll, T. Campbell, Cullum
C: S. Campbell, T. Sidebottom, Friedlieb
HF: Forys, Ralph, Rendina
F: Barlow, Muggleton, Gribben
Foll: Holdsworth, Perkovic, Normington
Inter: Riordan, Roberts, Scott

SHEPPARTON
B: McIntyre, Parker, Kennedy
HB: Edwards, Chapman, Harriott
C: Wells, Dowie, Hiscock
HF: Thorsen, Dudgeon, Ridings
F: Dunne, Kelly, Crawford
Foll: Harrap, Allan, Cullinan
Inter: Bell, Thorpe, Gullick
Emerg: Bucktin

TATURA
B: McWhinney, McPhillamy, Burns
HB: J. Pollard, J. Barnett, MacGibbon
C: Jones, Crawford, C. Barnett
HF: Lovell, Kelly, R. Pollard
F: Eaton, Fraser, Gledhill
Foll: Chessells, Thorne, Hicks
Inter: Neville, Stewart, Londrigan, Isailovic

ROCHESTER
B: Moon, P. Oliver, Bubb
HB: Oakley, K. Oliver
C: Hyden, Collins, Watson
HF: Duscher, Bowen, Whipp
F: Cuttriss, Whitsed, McPhee
Foll: Givney, Hanna, D. Moon
Inter: Cavallaro, Letcher, Williams, Perry

SHEPPARTON SWANS
B: T. Hebbard, Veal, Barton
HB: H. Best, Ryan, Baker
C: McCarty, Bell, Barolli
HF: J. Best, M. Hebbard, White
F: Montgomery, Dundovic, McCarroll
Foll: Sutherland, Yze, Lanyon
Inter: Warburton, Ballinger, Hackett
Emerg: Kirkman

EUROA
B: Burls, Harper, Watson
HB: Thyer, Mills, Tate
C: Giovinnini, Clayton, Jacques
HF: Marshall, Ivill, Lamaro
F: Jansz, Bonson, Grainger
Foll: Clarke, Ruane, Roberts
Inter: Fox, Thompson, Saville

MANSFIELD
B: Jones, Trenfield, Darby
HB: Roy, Boschevski, Leitch
C: Gallagher, Monohan, Hopkins
HF: Saunders, Flint, B. Mahoney
F: A. Mahoney, Fagan, Trewhella
Foll: Spyker, Storer, Stevenson
Inter: Walsh, Vincent, Storer

MOOROOPNA
B: McDonald, Barca, Collyer
HB: Tweddle, Merry, Connally
C: Cox, Freer, Hockey
HF: Russell, Osborne, Whelan
F: Lowe, LaPorta, Parsons
Foll: Dean, Bl Campbell, Lee
Inter: Sullivan, Gemmill, Trevena

ECHUCA
B: Pollock, Sutton, Halloran
HB: Guinan, Dolan, Butler
C: Tonnizo, Durie, Nance
HF: McKittrick, Prendergast, Casey
F: Murphy, Smith, Voigt
Foll: Campbell, Mills, Dohnt
Inter: Zanella, Herrick, Kilmartin, Gilmour
In: Zannella, Herrick, Gilmour
Out: Agg, Crossman, Wilkinson

KYABRAM
B: Mangan, Vick, Chambers
HB: Thomson, Morgan, Pell
C: Edwards, Withers, Edwards
HF: Newman, Newman, Kent
F: Butler Singh, Gentle
Foll: Coventry, Deledio, Atkins
Inter: Hanson, Hilton, Finn
In: Mangan
Out: McCormack

BENALLA
To be selected from: M. Ashton, R. Bull, K. Cook, B. Cooper, B. Fahey, N. Fry, B. Green, D. Green, S. Harris, B. Harrison, S. Hazell, M. Mackenzie, D. McKenzie, L. McKenzie, T. McKenzie, B. Pollard, A. Polwarth, R. Priest, J. Rockliff, M. Stevens, D. Symes.

New season brings a change of fortune
This time last year Shepparton United was flying with four wins from four games, while Mooroopna was two losses into what would end up being a seven-match losing streak.
As the two sides prepare to battle in Goulburn Valley Football League tomorrow, the roles have been reversed with a rejuvenated Mooroopna currently on top of the ladder undefeated and United struggling at 1-3.
The Cats ground out victory against Kyabram last week, which coach Brad Campbell said was an ideal hit-out.
``Even though we hadn't kicked a goal and were down at quarter-time I wasn't too worried,'' Campbell said.
``I told the boys the game is played over four quarters and once we get our game into action we're capable of scoring goals quickly, and that's what we did to level it up after half-time.''
Mooroopna's ability to gain first use out of the centre will be severely hampered with the loss of gun ruckman Jake Cowman to a broken collarbone.
Campbell missed last weekend's clash against the Bombers with an Achilles problem and is touch and go to make tomorrow's game.
The Demons led at quarter-time against Shepparton Swans last week, but coach Brad Hazelman said skill errors and an inability to run out the game contributed to them being overrun by 26 points.
``Our disposal is an area that we still need to work, that let us down at important times last week,'' Hazelman said.

Eagles out to keep lid on Pies
After suffering its first loss of the season against Rochester last week, Mansfield is keen to get back in the winners' circle when it hosts Euroa tomorrow.
But Eagles coach Christian Thomson will need to be wary of the Magpies' stars, with full-forward Mark Jansz booting 31 goals in four matches, while Scott Clayton has been in sensational form in the midfield.
``You don't think about shutting blokes like that completely down, it's about minimising the damage,'' Thomson said.
``If you're able to limit them, then I think you've done a pretty good job.''
Mansfield won its opening three matches of the season, but went down to Rochester by 23 points last week.
``I thought it was a pretty even game, but they were a little more efficient,'' Thomson said.
``We've got to get a little bit better with the way we use the ball.
``This is a big game for us, there's plenty of history between the two clubs so we're looking for a good performance.''
James Herridge will miss this week with a knee strain, while Murray Bushrangers Brett Mahoney and Adam Boshevski come into the Eagles' side.
The Magpies are sweating on the fitness of Scott Grainger, with Brent Jacques, Andrew Doxey and Jason Wilson all pushing for senior selection.
Euroa coach David Putamorsi was impressed with his side's 76-point victory against Shepparton last week, but wants that form to continue against one of the league's stronger teams.
``Our third term last week was probably our best quarter for the season,'' Putamorsi said.
``But playing at Mansfield on the small ground, we've got to be more aggressive at the footy and the man.
``We've got to go over there with the right attitude and play four consistent quarters of footy.''

Team focus suits
Chris Casey is enjoying playing football in a more team-oriented environment at Echuca.
The 21-year-old apprentice builder spent two seasons with Bendigo Pioneers in the TAC Cup and said the fact everyone was focused on trying to get drafted by an AFL club made it hard to feel comfortable within the side.
``It felt as though blokes had other agendas and were only out for themselves to try and get a few kicks and impress coaches and scouts,'' Casey said.
Casey has been one of the Murray Bombers' best players during the first month of the season and he would like nothing more than to continue this form against Riverina rival Rochester tomorrow.
The pacy onballer is originally from Deniliquin, where he played junior footy up until he was 16 then made the switch to Echuca, where he went to school.
With more than 50 senior games under his belt, Casey now feels he belongs in Echuca's senior side and hopes it can do well enough to make finals like last year.
``We're travelling all right at the moment at 2-2 but we were in a position to win the games we lost, so it could be 4-0,'' Casey said.
``I think we're pretty much at the same level as we were this time last year but we've got a bit more depth ... there's probably four or five blokes that can come up out of reserves.''
Casey said last year's elimination final loss against Shepparton Swans was the best moment of his senior career to date but he hopes that will change come September this season.
``Playing in the final last year was exciting but the result was a bit embarrassing, so it would be good to get another crack at it this year,'' he said.
``We can't look too far ahead though, we've just got to focus on playing good footy and stringing a few wins together.''
Anthony ``Tank'' McPhee will return to Rochester's line-up after missing two games with a groin injury, while Scott Oakley is a chance to come back from Bendigo Pioneers.
Centre half-forward Elliot Bowen bagged six goals and Ash Watson racked up plenty of leather as the Tigers handed Mansfield its first loss last week.

Bulldogs remain positive despite setbacks
Tatura is likely to regain talented on-baller Bill Hicks for tomorrow's Goulburn Valley Football League night game against Kyabram.
With the Murray Bushrangers having a bye this weekend, Hicks will return to help bolster the Bulldogs, who are likely to be missing a couple of regular senior players.
Tatura has struggled early in the GVFL season, but coach Paul Serra said the players were not dropping their heads.
``It's been quite positive (around the club) actually,'' he said.
``We know where we are at ... Guys are still putting their hands up, they're not getting disgruntled.
``It's not the young guys' fault that they are young and still learning, and that there's no bigger bodies around.
``We've been playing some pretty good sides. The results haven't been going our way but we've got to look to the future.''
With only one win for the season, Kyabram will be looking for a strong performance.
``We've just got to worry about ourselves and stick to our game plan,'' coach David Williams said yesterday.
Kyabram has played two home night games this season against Echuca and Mooroopna, and the crowd support has been strong.
``Mooroopna was down a bit but Echuca was excellent,'' Williams said.
Bombers assistant coach Scott McCormack (unavailable) will miss the match.

Warburton in line for return
Shepparton Swans captain Brett Warburton is a genuine selection chance for the first time this Goulburn Valley Football League season as he attempts to return from ongoing groin injuries.
Warburton's last game for the Swans was last year's Goulburn Valley league grand final and he has been out of the mix for the first four games of this season.
But Swans coach Peter White said last night's training session was a big step toward Warburton coming back into the mix.
``He's been training for a while so this week might be the one,'' Warburton said.
``We'll also get Lucas White back from suspension this week so it does mean more changes for the team.''
White said the Swans, third on the ladder with three wins and one loss, had been unsettled by the ongoing team changes in the season's opening month.
``With the injuries we have we've just had to adjust,'' he said.
``We're playing patchy footy and what I'm looking for is consistency.''
Benalla coach Tim Symes said his team was heading to Princess Park with winning on its mind.
Despite sitting 11th on the ladder with an 0-4 record, Symes said he wanted his side to show him it was good enough to win.
``We've been competitive and when we're competitive I can't fault the effort,'' Symes said.
``What I want to see now is a bit more discipline.''
Farran Priest and Al Jacka will be back from Murray Bushrangers duty for the Saints while Shayne McKean is also back in the side.
``We're playing patchy footy as well,'' Symes said.
``Our focus will be on what we can control, the discipline is the one I want to see.''
Shepparton Swans is on a three-game winning streak against the Saints, stretching back to August 2005

Allan to hit 100th
Nick Allan has had some pretty good mentors during his senior career at Shepparton.
As a youngster starting out in the senior ranks, Allan would find himself in the engine room alongside Bears club legends and Morrison medallists Stephen Ash and Matt Byers.
Ash has since retired as the club's games record holder and Byers now coaches Murray league side Barooga, but Allan is still leading the Bears' midfield as captain of the club, and tomorrow marks his 100th senior game against Seymour.
``It means a lot to me to play 100 games and lead the club, and to wear Ashy's jumper (number three) is an honour because he's someone I've looked up to,'' Allan, 23, said.
``Playing with Byso and Ashy in the midfield Byso was such a hard runner around the ground and Ashy in the middle at clearances was smart and tough.
``I've been lucky to have two different types of player to learn from.''
A Murray Bushrangers player as a junior, Allan _ now a qualified builder _ made his senior debut as a 17-year-old against Kyabram in 2002.
He has since played three interleague games on his way to establishing himself as one of the competition's premier midfielders.
A number of clubs tried to coax him away from the Bears at the end of last season but he decided to stay.
``I could have went and I thought about it, but I looked at some of the young guys at the club like Danny McIntyre, Rowan Hiscock and Chris Cullinan and thought I couldn't leave them to try and rebuild our senior side,'' he said.
``We just need a few more talls to play around these younger guys and I think we can push for finals again.''
Captaining the senior side was one of Allan's ambitions, and he said the responsibility had changed him as a player in some ways.
``I always said I'd love to captain the club, and now I'm leading the side I've noticed I speak up a bit more because I'm a pretty quiet person,'' he said.
Never a man to shy away from long odds, he believes the Bears can cap off his milestone game with a win against Seymour.
``It would be great to knock them off because they're the side everyone wants to be as good as at the moment,'' Allan said.
Seymour is coming off a thumping win last weekend against Tatura and is yet to taste defeat this season, with Saad Saad's 12 goals taking him to 29 for the year.

The Shepparton news is a disgrace and is surely taking what people say in an interview and putting in their own words to make the interview sound better. There is no way Chris Casey would have said the word agenda, let alone knowing what the word means!!!!!

Because its a personal choice if players that are asked want to play, that maybe why mark jansz isn't in there either... There's also the fact some players may have niggling injuries and want a week off to have a bit of break... You're never going to get a commitment out of all the best players in the comp but it would be good if we could... Not a bad squad i reckon
It would be great to Clayton in a GV Jumper but he obviously has his reasons for not playing. If it was a one of game against the O&M then that may be different but 3 modified games in 3 days is hard to back up for i would imagine. As for Janz, after speaking to him on the pi** saturday night, he said he would love to play if he had the oppurtunity so not sure why he wasnt picked?

Re: Official GVFL thread

Wish there were more blokes like you in footy. All about the Club and its survival. Well done:cool:

Its great to read a good post like this every now and then :thumbsu:

Thanks for the support guys. It is good to see some positive feedback on this site for a change.
You have inspired me so now I would like to send out a very big well done to all of the volunteers in local footy. From the waterboys to the runners to the canteen mums and wives and to all the non paid committee members. They should all pat themselves on the back!:thumbsu: How good was it seeing the young 18 year old president of the Millewa league on the Footy Show last night. There wouldn't be many people of any age involved in clubs or leagues with that much dedication, let alone an 18 year old ! :) So to all of you footy volunteers out there: Hip Hip Horray!

Euroa 21. 15. 141 def. Mansfield 10. 19. 79 :mad:

Rochester 22.12 (144) defeated Echuca 12.9 (81)
Euroa 21.15 (141) defeated Mansfield 10.19 (79)
Seymour 23.23 (161) defeated Shepparton 12.5 (77)
Shepparton Swans 19.12 (126) defeated Benalla 4.5 (29)
Mooroopna 19.16 (130) defeated Shepparton United 16.8 (104)
Kyabram v Tatura (playing tonight)

There must be a bit of optimism building at the Pies. Very good win on the weekend. Was there excuses for the Eagles?

Pies and Tigers had super wins. To beat Mansfield and Echuca at their home grounds by 10 goal margins means these 2 sides will seriously challenge Seymour come the business end of the season. Especially like the Tigers, have a super fwd line and look to have a midfield which is firing at the moment with Bowen, Deuscher and Co. Had excuses against Seymour when they last met with injuries to key players early. If they're still double figure odds at Sportsbet, its worth a fiver!

Especially like the Tigers, have a super fwd line and look to have a midfield which is firing at the moment with Bowen, Deuscher and Co. Had excuses against Seymour when they last met with injuries to key players early.

Had a discussion with Rochy player on the weekend about changes so far in regards to new coach. He suggested that it feels completely different as Lenny doesnt do hard tags and also just backs his players to beat their man. Also doesnt send out the message to reconfirm that you have made a mistake. Lenny has a plan in place and is flexible with it if its not working.
He aslo suggested Duescher could be one of the best pickups the club has got as he can do most things well. Forward, backman and onball.

On all the above, Dirty is still the best coach Rochy has probably ever had so Lenny has big shoes to fill.
Time will tell but I wouldnt be spruiking about rolling Seymour too early as I reckon they still have a few out as well and still the yardstick.

Especially like the Tigers, have a super fwd line and look to have a midfield which is firing at the moment with Bowen, Deuscher and Co. Had excuses against Seymour when they last met with injuries to key players early.

Had a discussion with Rochy player on the weekend about changes so far in regards to new coach. He suggested that it feels completely different as Lenny doesnt do hard tags and also just backs his players to beat their man. Also doesnt send out the message to reconfirm that you have made a mistake. Lenny has a plan in place and is flexible with it if its not working.
He aslo suggested Duescher could be one of the best pickups the club has got as he can do most things well. Forward, backman and onball.

On all the above, Dirty is still the best coach Rochy has probably ever had so Lenny has big shoes to fill.
Time will tell but I wouldnt be spruiking about rolling Seymour too early as I reckon they still have a few out as well and still the yardstick.

I'm not saying they will roll Seymour as Seymour are a sensational side and if all travels smoothly for them with injuries and form then they will more than likely win it again. Just think Rochy have enough going for them to say if they get things right and Seymour aren't quite on song then it could be interesting? Never mentioned anything about whos the best coach out of Willams and Schmidt, you can't compare, Dirty couldn't have done anything more than what he did. Schmidt obviously has the passion and enthusiasm of a new coach with new ideas and it seems like the players are responding well.

Doesn't say much for their other coaches then! From what you Rochy people post Dirty was too hard on his players, coached too negatively and is only liked by people in his own club. Didnt her also have the job for sooooo just because the club didnt have to pay him??
So Gobly Guts does "feels completely different" mean that Lenny's style of coaching better than Dirty's????
Sound like on one hand you say how good of a coach Dirty is but you back it up with how bad he is. Whats the story with that?????

Doesn't say much for their other coaches then! From what you Rochy people post Dirty was too hard on his players, coached too negatively and is only liked by people in his own club. Didnt her also have the job for sooooo just because the club didnt have to pay him??
So Gobly Guts does "feels completely different" mean that Lenny's style of coaching better than Dirty's????
Sound like on one hand you say how good of a coach Dirty is but you back it up with how bad he is. Whats the story with that?????

You are obsessed.

Does Kevin Sheedy being replaced by Matthew Knights mean that Knights is a better coach than Sheeds?