Goulburn Valley FL - Part 2

Re: Official GVFL Thread (part 2)

So match of the round Shepp Swans vs Rochy - how are the teams looking? Who is missing from both teams? I think I'm gonna tip Swans to win by about 4 goals.

Should be a good match. Rochy beat the Swans by 44 points in round 17 last year.

Rochy still have Tank, Steve Rasmussen and Loughman to come back in. The first two should be back this week.

Heard the BIG PRINCE kicked a lazy 10 on thw weekend for Kyabram.

Will he last the year or head to Marybrynong Park in the EDFL?

hey is there anyone involved in the Euroa football club here that can give me some info on a new player to the club this year Steven Ruane??? How is he going so far??? I have played with him for a few years and am wondering how he has made the transition to a stronger league.

cheers, burger5

How long will that last?
Cant say I will miss having him post crap everytime someone has something to say.

Euroa are having a good start to the season. Will Hyatt have to come back in throught the 2s with Jansz kicking heaps of goals?
How's buisness and the snow dropping going?

Hyatt going back to euroa??

Heard the BIG PRINCE kicked a lazy 10 on thw weekend for Kyabram.

Will he last the year or head to Marybrynong Park in the EDFL?

I thought he had a Buddy good night...I heard on the radio going home after the schlacking that he Kicked 9.7 not 10 :D:D

My uncle with no legs would have kicked 10 against Tat.:confused:
If ol' stumpy can kick 10 a week against Tat can we sign him up? We need to recruit a lot of good players including probably 4-5 key forwards so get him to give me a call.:thumbsu:

hey is there anyone involved in the Euroa football club here that can give me some info on a new player to the club this year Steven Ruane??? How is he going so far??? I have played with him for a few years and am wondering how he has made the transition to a stronger league.

cheers, burger5

Caught the Seymour v Euroa game on Anzac Day and he in the Magpies top 4-5 no worries. The couple of guys Ive spoken to up that way say he is going well considering the rise in standard from the Riddell League :thumbsu:

i was at that game as well, the only one i have been able to get to. Great to hear he is going well hope he keeps it up.

Got the teams FootyBoss?

I got em.

GVFL SENIOR TEAMS

SHEPPARTON
To be selected from: Allan, Bell, Dowie, Chapman, Cullinan, Crawford, Dudgeon, Dunne, Edwards, Gullick, Ganino, Harriott, Hiscock, Kelly, Kennedy, McIntyre, McMullan, Parker, Ridings, Thorp, Turner, Thorsen, Tuohey, Wells.

ROCHESTER
B: C. Moon, Oliver, Bubb
HB: J. Perry, Oliver, Schmidt
C: Hyden, Collins, Watson
HF: Duscher, Bowen, Whipp
F: Cuttriss, Whitsed, Letcher
Foll: Givney, Hann, D. Moon
Inter: Rasmussen, O'Brien, Williams

SEYMOUR
B: Judge-Williams, Inness, Green
HB: Hooper, Colbert, Groves
C: Pemberton, Scanlon, van Reit
HF: Stevenson, Tomkins, Anderson
F: Loraine, Saad, Russo
Foll: Schottner, Liddell, Penn
Inter: Amad, Haberman, Hateley

TATURA
To be selected from: Keast, McKinley, Burns, J. Pollard, Gledhill, MacGibbon, Jones, Crawford, R. Pollard, O'Neill, Barnett, Kelly, Eaton, Barnett, Frazer, Isailovic, Chessells, Thorn, Neville, Londrigan, Stewart, McPhillamy, Ryan, DiPetta

SWANS
B: Warburton, Hebbard, Barton
HB: H. Best, Veal, Hackett
C: Baker, Bell, McCarty
HF: J. Best, Ryan, White
F: Uebergang, Dundovic, Sali
Foll: Sutherland, Yze, Montgomery
Inter: Lanyon, Ballinger, Barolli

MOOROOPNA
B: McDonald, Connally, Barca
HB: Hockey, Br Campbell, Tweddle
C: Gemmill, Freer, Russell
HF: Lee, LaPorta, Whelan
F: Cox, Osborne, Parsons
Foll: Dean, Bl Campbell, Lowe
Inter: Sullivan, Boyer, Collyer

MANSFIELD
B: Vincent, Walsh, Trenfield
HB: Mahoney, Trewhella, Gallagher
C: Hopkins, Stevenson, Minto
HF: Smith, Fagan, Darby
F: Leitch, Flint, Cios
Foll: Jones, Storer, Monohan
Inter: Taylor, Hendrikson, Chapman

BENALLA
B: Bull, McKean, Polwarth
HB: Green, Cook, Dalton
C: Ashton, R. Priest, McKenzie
HF: Harrison, Fahey, D. McKenzie
F: P. Symes, MacKenzie, Hazell
Foll: Cooper, Stevens, Rockliff
Inter: King, D. Priest, Martiniello

SHEPPARTON UNITED
B: Vidler, Hazelman, Rendina
HB: Anderson, Carroll, Tenace
C: Scott, Barlow, Friedlieb
HF: Normington, Forys, Gribben
F: Muggleton, Schirmer, Campbell
Foll: Ralph, Sidebottom, Perkovic
Inter: Roberts, Campbell, Riordan

KYABRAM
B: McCormack, Vick, Gorman
HB: Edwards, Calma-Holt, Deledio
C: Edwards, Withers, Pell
HF: Kent, Newman, Newman
F: Hilton, Singh, Hansen
Foll: Coventry, Thomson, Atkins
Inter: Butler, Finn, Pryde, Coulstock, Roxford
In: McCormack, Calma-Holt, Gorman, Pryde, Coulstock, Croxford
Out: Gentle, Morgan, Mangan, Chambers

EUROA
B: Harper, Watson, Lamaro
HB: O'Brien, Ivill, Jacques
C: Mills, Clayton, Bamford
HF: Thyer, Jansz, Fox
F: Gilliland, Ruane, Roberts
Foll: Clarke, Burls, Wilson
Inter: Tate, Bonson, Marshall
In: Wilson, Gilliland, O'Brien
Out: Thompson, Saville, Giovannini

ECHUCA
B: Rayson, Sutton, McKittrick
HB: Holloran, Prendergst, Guinan
C: Nance, Durie, Casey
HF: Wilkinson, Campbell, Gilmour
F: Murhy, Smith, Agg
Foll: Zannella, Tonizzo, Dohnt
Inter: Herrick, Mills, Pollock, Kilmartin, Dolan In: Wilkinson, Smith, Dohnt, Agg

Young NT star Jethro Calma-Holt from Waratahs to line up with Kyabram this season!

I think we can officially call this season the GVFL/NTFL. As there would be close to a 18-20 players that are from or have either played in the NTFL.

Its good to see the NT Talent coming down this way

Cheers mate.:thumbsu:

Better times are in Storer
By his own admission Matt Storer hasn't been in the form we all know he's capable of this season.
The Mansfield ball-magnet isn't complaining with the Eagles' 3-2 start to the year, but he would like to be making more of a contribution to the result than he has been.
Tomorrow against reigning three-time premier Seymour would be the best place to start.
``I've just got to put a good four-quarter one together,'' Storer, 27, said.
``You've always got to produce your best effort against Seymour because they're the side everyone wants to knock off.''
Easily spotted on the footy field as the skinny bloke in long sleeves wearing a helmet, the Mansfield butcher is in his eighth season with the Eagles after playing his first senior game in 1999.
He spent a couple of years with Ovens and Murray Football League side Wangaratta in 2002-03, but it is at Mansfield Recreation Reserve that he has done his best work.
Storer was a member of Mansfield's historic first Goulburn Valley Football League premiership in 2004 and has figured prominently in interleague sides, Morrison Medal and club best and fairest counts.
Names like Trent and Cameron Hotton, David Mensch and Brendan Hehir stood out in that 2004 side but they have since gone, with the one constant being Storer giving his all in the middle.
``It's a bit of a changing of the guard because the two Hottons both retired last year and they were a big part of our structure,'' Storer said.
``I've been good mates with `Fish' (Mansfield coach Christian Thomson) for a long time now and he's got us going the right away about it.
``We have a few young kids in the side and as 17 or 18-year-olds playing against bigger blokes it can be nerve-racking, but `Fish' gives them that support they need and backs them.
``We're trying to make finals for the sixth year running I think, and even though I'm not getting a lot of kicks _ as long as we're giving ourselves every chance of playing finals, that's good.''
Seymour's 84-point win against Shepparton last week was its biggest of the year with Shane Schottner, Tim Hooper and Guy Pemberton all in brilliant touch.

Ruck duel expected
Euroa looks like it could lose exciting midfielder Rowan Bonson to injury as it prepares to face Echuca in Goulburn Valley Football League tomorrow.
The Magpies sit fifth on the ladder heading into the contest with three wins and two losses, while Echuca sits eighth on two and three.
While Bonson is likely to miss for Euroa as he battles a hamstring injury, the Magpies could welcome back Brad Cunningham from representative duty with Northern Territory under-18s.
``Bonson's pulled up better than we thought and we're not ruling him out,'' Euroa coach David Putamorsi said yesterday.
``Our rucks had been down a bit this year until the Mansfield win last week, and against Guy Campbell they'll be in for a big test again.''
Echuca coach Steven Orr said he had been quietly confident about Campbell hitting top form before the mid-point of the season.
The ruckman has been in the Murray Bombers' leading players in the past three weeks, and was instrumental in their first two wins of the season before they were defeated by Rochester last week.
``Both on-ball brigades are pretty similar,'' Orr said.
``There's quality on both sides of the ball and whoever gets the best service from the ruck will have the advantage.''
Echuca could make as many as six changes this weekend with Brad Smith and Luke Agg back in the mix.
``Greg Byrne was back for his first match of the year in the reserves last week and he'll be a tall option in defence once he's had a few games under his belt,'' Orr said.
``At this stage we're unsure as to who we'll send to full-back to play on Mark Jansz because we have options.
``It could be Brendan Prendergast, it could even be Guy Campbell.''

United looks to lessen Ky forwards' impact
Finding a way to stop dynamic Kyabram forwards Balraj Singh and Paul Newman will be high on the agenda for Shepparton United in their Goulburn Valley Football League clash at Deakin Reserve tomorrow.
The pair combined for 14 goals in the Bombers' 111-point victory against Tatura last weekend, with Singh fourth on the goal-kicking table with 20 for the season and Newman eighth on 18.
Kyabram's victory last week put it within one game of the top six on two wins and three losses, while United has struggled to put together consistent efforts and sits ninth with only one victory from five games.
United coach Brad Hazelman is wary of the impact Singh and Newman can have on a game, but the focus is on trying to stop the run of midfielders such as Linc Withers and Chris Atkins who have been in outstanding form of late.
``Our on-ball brigade will have to put a lot of pressure on and limit the supply coming into them,'' Hazelman said.
``It should be a good contest in the midfield and hopefully our guys can get on top there.''
Hazelman said United would be sticking to the same unit that in the past couple of weeks has suffered close losses to Mooroopna and Shepparton Swans.
``I think we've got the right playing group, we just have to work on our disposal and keeping our skill errors down. The endeavour has been good enough, so we've concentrated on our skills in training this week,'' he said.
Hazelman believes his side is not far away from bringing up its second victory.
``We've just got to keep having a crack. As soon as we get a win, more will come and hopefully we can string a few together,'' he said.

Bulldogs are hoping to break their duck
Tatura will be without several key players as it searches for its first win of the Goulburn Valley Football League season against Shepparton on Sunday.
Midfielder Billy Lovell, arguably one of the Bulldogs' best this season, is set to miss eight weeks after suffering a fractured collarbone last week against Kyabram, while back pocket Dylan McWhinney will also miss eight weeks after breaking bones in his hand in the same game.
With Bill Hicks and Tom Durward also missing due to Murray Bushrangers duties, it leaves Bulldogs coach Paul Serra with some selection headaches ahead of the game at Tatura Park.
Alex Isailovic and Brendan Keast are set to slot straight back into the side after missing last week.
Despite the injury setbacks, Serra said Sunday's match was a good opportunity for the Bulldogs to break their season duck.
``To get a win would be sensational for the club, but that's a way off yet we've got to play at our best for that to happen,'' he said.
``It's going to be a very hard contest.''
Shepparton coach Richard Warburton yesterday said the Bears had been competitive in patches during their losses to Seymour and Eurora in recent weeks, but had been let down by a lack of consistency.
``Being such a young group, we're still learning, but the guys have been fantastic in their approach,'' Warburton said.

Cats prepare for wet weather
Mooroopna coach Brad Campbell believes the weather forecast for tomorrow will change the way his side approaches its Goulburn Valley Football League encounter with Benalla.
The Cats have played some fluent, free-flowing footy to be undefeated from five games; but with rain predicted tomorrow, Campbell is aware the game plan will have to alter slightly.
``We're preparing for it to be greasy and slippery,'' Campbell said.
``Skill and finesse goes out the door and you have to be more direct and cut out those couple of extra handballs we would normally have.''
Campbell said it was important for his side to focus on continuing to improve each week.
``I'm trying not to look at the ladder too much and think about where we will end up at the end of the year,'' Campbell said.
``The boys set themselves little challenges each week to raise the bar and try and play their roles a bit better.''
Campbell has coached the past three games from the sidelines due to a calf complaint but is a chance to return this weekend along with Kane Boyer, who missed last week's win against United with a shoulder injury.
Benalla is yet to win a game this season but has been thereabouts except for last weekend's 97-point loss against Shepparton Swans.
``We need a better four-quarter effort this week ... in patches we've showed we're capable enough,'' Saints coach Tim Symes said.
``Brett Cooper in the ruck and Rowan Priest in the midfield have been good for us but we need to get more out of most of the group.''
The Saints have a growing list of injuries with Matt Sharp (groin), Casey Roberston (hamstring), Brendan Stevens (thumb), Ricky Symes (hamstring) and Al Jacka (achilles) all not ready to return this weekend.

Chasing the dream
Dean Moon is proud to be captain of Rochester in a new chapter in the club's history.
The majority of his 100-plus games have been played under Rochester legend and current Kyabram coach David Williams.
Tomorrow the tough on-baller will lead Rochester into battle against Shepparton Swans in Goulburn Valley Football League action on Saturday with first year coach Daniel Schmidt now in charge.
A Rochester boy born and bred, the privilege of captaining the Tigers this season is a role Moon has relished.
``It's a great honour to captain a really good bunch of blokes and the club I've played at all my life,'' the 2005 best and fairest winner said yesterday.
The start of his senior career was a period of unfulfilled success with Williams at the helm.
Moon played in successive losing grand finals in 2001-02 and successive preliminary finals in 2003-04.
Although Williams has since departed, Moon's hunger to claim Rochester's first flag since 1999 is still bigger than ever and it would mean even more to him as leader of the club.
``It would mean everything to me because that's what I've dreamed about ever since I was a kid growing up and going to school in Rochester,'' Moon said.
Moon has played alongside Rochester greats Simon McCarty and Robbie Miller and still plays with arguably the greatest of them all _ Anthony ``Tank'' McPhee.
However, now is a different era for the Tigers, and young recruits like Sam O'Brien, Ben Deuscher and Brad Collins are the ones to lead the club into a new successful age.
``We're trying to rebuild a new part of the club's history and we're at the stage now where some of these young guys need to figure in this development,'' Moon said.
``The game style has changed a bit under `Lenny' (Schmidt), we're running the ball a bit better and the structure of training is different.
``Personally I still go about my game the same way I did under Dirty (Williams) as I am now with Lenny, but the team is firing and we've all got the passion to win.''
Both Rochester and the Swans have dropped one game so far this season with Glenn Dundovic in good touch up forward in all four of the Swans' victories with two bags of seven and two bags of six goals.