Toast Grand Final food and drink preparations. What are you doing?

What's a traditional westaustralian football snack? Churros?

Breakfast is for the weak.

Lunch…Chicken parmy with wedges and coleslaw and half a pint of sweet chilli sauce.

Halftime snacks of comte cheese, Nacho cheese CCs (not Doritos), assorted crackers, mix nuts with extra cashews and 2 kilos of pistachios on the side with shells on.

After match…a family size gourmet pizza with the lot ( extra prawns) delivered …that costs at least $40 all up. Garlic bread extra if you’ve got kids.

Drinks: Melbourne Bitter, (some pale ale crap if you’re not an ex Victorian) Ouzo, wild Turkey 101 and a few glasses of Yarra valley Pinot with the cheese.

Shots of black sambuca around 9pm

Green apples to snack on during the day.
Likely blueberry, banana and caramel milkshake with an extra splash of caramel for lunch.
Dinner whatever I feel like. Hard to predict a week in advance. Could be dumplings. Could be wood-fired pizza. Could be curry. Plenty of tofu and veggies in any case. I like Kidney Beans and rice too.

Once the game is on, I’ll be on the bubblegum kush through an airizer solo II. Golden Tops on standby if there’s a cause to celebrate. I can keep that party going for a while but I’m an old man now- so i might need some dexies if I get a little puffed, or xanax if I get a little excited.
Half time i’ll shove a pinger up the rear regardless of the score.
If we get thrashed I’m going go hit the Ketas hard. Probably hit it if we win too come to think of it, but with not quite as much gusto as if it was a loss.

Hydration is key. I‘ll be pre-chilling plenty of delicious H20 on the day. If I’m lucky I might find a Furphy in the fridge. No big deal I don’t. There’s some Nudie Orange Juice around if I need something with a little more flavour.

Dees by four goals.

One important tip is to drink a litre of water as soon as you wake up to avoid passing out from dehydration in the evening.

If water is not your thing, a stubby of Carlton Zero every 45 mins will suffice.

i might make choc chip and blueberry pancakes for brekky.
probably some bacon sandwiches for lunch
dinner is an unknown, probably just whatever snacks are leftover tbh from the cheese platter

tell me more...

I make a concerted effort to eat as much of them that I can when I am in the US

I once made a massive run across Dubai airport between connecting flights to grab one of these bad boys. Got relatively close to missing move connecting flight

Oysters and bloody Mary's about 11am-12pm, normally get's me through to the bbq post game with a little help from a brewery or two. Can't eat oysters after midday on the last Saturday in September, so I'll just sit there in the f****n dark feeling sorry for myself. F**k night time Grand Finals.

I was way too nervous to eat last year. Smashed a bottle of scotch and some ouzo during the game to settle myself down.

End of game was out on the street with my next door neighbour who is more of a feral than myself waking up the neighbourhood.

I may have overdone it as a few days later my defibrillator went off. All I can say is faaark me.

Charcouterie board this year and a flagon of goon in honour of the 2 finalists.

I was way too nervous to eat last year. Smashed a bottle of scotch and some ouzo during the game to settle myself down.

End of game was out on the street with my next door neighbour who is more of a feral than myself waking up the neighbourhood.

I may have overdone it as a few days later my defibrillator went off. All I can say is faaark me.

Charcouterie board this year and a flagon of goon in honour of the 2 finalists.

Hit the ouzo again

Be a man

Toast Grand Final food and drink preparations. What are you doing?