Grand Final Rematch: Hawthorn vs Fremantle - Who will win?

I think Fremantle should be going in favorites after their start to the year and our outs. With Hodge, Mitch?, Lake and all the other outs I'll be slightly surprised if we win.

If Freo don't win this week and then go on to win the flag it will be the biggest choke in the history of sport.

Well considering that Hawthorn 6 months ago was only able to beat them at the MCG by 15 points WITH Lake (who played a handy game from all reports) Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell and Stratton playing. (Not to mention a bloke named Franklin) I'm not sure Hawthorn will be a great chance without these players as good as O'Brien, Litherland, Langford, Cheney, Duryea and McEvoy may be.

Would love for it to live up to the hype though, and despite the above I do feel we're a type of team these days that no matter the personnel we'll always be somewhat competitive. Freo are a class side and deserve to be premiership favourites let alone favourites for this week's game.

Lol. That was last year...

The fact is that you've lost your best player, and Roughy showed signs the other night that he can't cope with that. No need to get so cut over a legitimate opinion.

He only missed one game, Mitchell will be back this week.

Recent history has shown that vanquished teams in Grand Finals totally fire up against their vanquishers, have that bit of extra motivation to get them over the line. Based on that alone, I revise my earlier tip, I think it's Freo's game to lose. Not to mention our overwhelming outs. That it's at the 'G and not Subi is the ONLY thing we have going for us. We have an extra day's rest but that's countered by the fact that we had a very tough, hard encounter and we'll be banged up from that. Freo had a RELATIVELY cruisy game.

I think we'll put it up to them though, Freo by 11 points.

How have we slipped?
Brisbane having you on the ropes for 3 quarters at your home ground in Tassie, and then barely getting over the line against Essendon. This Buddy deal could potentially be harmful to us, but the moment he left Hawthorn it made an impact on your future.

2009: 0-2
2010: 1-1
2011: 1-1
2012: 1-1
2013: 1-1
2014: 2-0

We also had our best preseason under Clarkson, Syd
Again, those stats mean nothing whatsoever. It all depends on the draw and your players.

I think Freo will win. No Lake, Stratton and Sewell. Doubts on the 2 superstars Hodge and Mitchell up against a close to full strength Freo, who will be looking to prove that they can beat the hawks at the MCG. Either way it'll be a ripper, can't wait to watch it.

Should be a great midfield battle. I wonder if Mitchell will *sacrifice his game again like the GF to help the Hawks. Very even but as a lot have said the outs favour us, the 6 day break, travel and soggy Pattersons track favour them. Genuine flip of the coin.

*Clarksons excuse for Mitchell getting pantsed by Crowley

Lol. That was last year...

The fact is that you've lost your best player, and Roughy showed signs the other night that he can't cope with that. No need to get so cut over a legitimate opinion.
Hawthorn were missing Lake, Stratton, Shoenmachers, Sewell, Mitchell and Hodge for half a game on Friday night and still got up and won on Essendons home deck. Franklin didn't finish in the top 10 in Hawthorns best and fairest last year. Your "legitimate opinion" shows all the hallmarks of a Hawthorn hater or someone with NFI ( probably both ). Big tough guy calling people flogs from the safety of the keyboard too.

Brisbane having you on the ropes for 3 quarters at your home ground in Tassie, and then barely getting over the line against Essendon. This Buddy deal could potentially be harmful to us, but the moment he left Hawthorn it made an impact on your future.

Again, those stats mean nothing whatsoever. It all depends on the draw and your players.

Learn to use the quote function correctly.

We had equal struggles against the Lions in 2013 and 2012. It was a typical Launceston fixture, scrappy early and then we comfortably pulled away late. That aside the Lions are a half decent side as exemplified by their finish to last season.

With regards to Essendon, when you're down your big bodies in the middle (Mitchell, Sewell), our CHB and FB (Stratton, Lake), our best HBF'er (Birchall) and our captain for a half (Hodge) Im amazed we won, particularly against a side that has a proven track record of high performance in early season fixtures.

As I said, our record thus far is far and away our most optimistic start sine 2008. On top of that we've blooded 4 debutants thus far and given Langford his 2nd and 3rd match (which will do wonders late in the season)

...and please don't compare us to the Syds, the Syds are a basketcase :)

Hawthorn were missing Lake, Stratton, Shoenmachers, Sewell, Mitchell and Hodge for half a game on Friday night and still got up and won on Essendons home deck. Franklin didn't finish in the top 10 in Hawthorns best and fairest last year. Your "legitimate opinion" shows all the hallmarks of a Hawthorn hater or someone with NFI ( probably both ). Big tough guy calling people flogs from the safety of the keyboard too.
Congratulations. We were missing half of our best 22 last year and still managed to make the prelims.

That's what you call heart.

I think we are going to get pantsed unless we can get some key players in ASAP. If Sewell, Stratton and Mitchell are included in the side hopefully it's enough to steady the ship. Losing Hodge will also be quite big so hopefully he can play a part.

Freo on form look a lot better than us though and look very hungry. I'm tipping Freo by more than a few goals.

Fremantle look extremely ripe to take out the whole thing this year. They've definitely got a stifling gameplan and not sure the Hawks can edge them this time, particularly with the quality that won't be playing. Fremantle by about 3-4 goals.

Freo will win...

No, wait, Hawthorn will win...

Hmmm, after careful consideration, I think either Freo or Hawthorn could win.

(I think I'm doing Big Footy wrong)

Fremantle look extremely ripe to take out the whole thing this year. They've definitely got a stifling gameplan and not sure the Hawks can edge them this time, particularly with the quality that won't be playing. Fremantle by about 3-4 goals.

Difficult to tell it must be said.

As it stands, the Dockers have played mediocre opposition. Like Hawthorn the Dockers will have some question marks as too whether or not some senior players can survive the season without significant injury

I would argue that is could be one of the most open flag races in recent seasons...

Difficult to tell it must be said.

As it stands, the Dockers have played mediocre opposition. Like Hawthorn the Dockers will have some question marks as too whether or not some senior players can survive the season without significant injury

I would argue that is could be one of the most open flag races in recent seasons...
super true, i think the entire freo board holds there breath when injury reports post game come out, i think we are all praying sandi gets a solid 18 home and away games done and that words like turf toe are never heard again