Grant Thomas - Hall has no Case to Answer for.

memberforever

Mar 30, 2005
FFC
Spot on from Grant Thomas:

Hall Has No case to Answer for

I hope the AFL are as keen to assist and support a man with aggression problems as they are with the anonymous drug takers. Barry Hall gives his heart and soul to this game and it is his livelihood. When he crosses the line he should be penalised - when he doesn't lets make sure we don't over-react. The performance by the Kangaroos players was pathetic and not akin to a young, emerging group that needs to implant discipline and team values into their brand. It wreaked of their coach Brad Scott. I have plenty of respect and admiration for Scott however if he has incited this situation he needs to acknowledge it and apologise. I would be disappointed if his advisers didn't let him know this is not the pathway he should be promoting. Players are impressionable and vulnerable, living your own career through them is dangerous. It may have been "deja vu" for the Scott boys 10 years ago when they ruled the turf but it is not todays footy. There is no doubt it stirs emotions, incites fans and to be honest was riveting viewing but the AFL has become so clinical, so pristine, so controlled that it has no place in the game.

Article Continues here

I agree with a lot of what he says, but geez Thommo needs somebodt to proof read his articles.

"It may have been "deja vu" for the Scott boys 10 years ago"

"I have no idea where he would be without the game but I have an idea."

If Hall gets off with this excuse , reinstate Danial Jackson as that was caused by Campbell getting in his face. I know that aren't exactly the same but if this plays out that the media gets Hall off, then they should also campaign to get Jackson off as well

Khan

Uh... leaving the fact I am a North support to the side...

this is rediculous. He is clearly a thug and needs to be stamped out. He was not kneed before he snapped, he did not have three blokes coming ar him until he had Thompson in a head lock and would not let go.

He was provoked by as much as any forward would be. How he chose to respond was his own doing. He is responsible for his actions.

Players should not have to put up with this behavior. If he cannot control himself then he is a serious danger to all who come up against him.

Its pathetic reading all this apologetic crap. This sort of stand should be universal regardless of who you support.

Thomas still hurting from when St Nick was roughed up all those years ago?

Certainly he has had indiscretions but they are remote compared to the alternative option.

It's all ok that Hall ended one players career and put three titanium plates in his skull for life, and king hit another player, breaking his jaw. These indiscretions are remote and inconsequential, because if he wasn't playing footy, he probably would have killed someone by now. What a feelgood story.

Saturdays event were neither here nor there, and neither player should receive any form of reprimand, or we may as well start playing chess.

But FFS, let's not try and rewrite history and make a saint out of Hall.

Has the football world gone completely mad?? Thompson niggled Hall, gave him a bump while doing up his show, tried to upset him - Hall didn't want to put up with it anymore and told him about it. Barry's a big boy, he can look after himself, just ask Sam McFarlane or Staker.

The media love to jump all over this stuff and the football public get sucked into it.

If a kid was kneeling down doing up his shoelace and his mate came over and gave him a nudge, would the offending kid even by spoken to? But if I had a kid that had broken several opposing player jaws in his career, then I reckon I'd get my kid playing a different sport.

this is rediculous. He is clearly a thug and needs to be stamped out. He was not kneed before he snapped, he did not have three blokes coming ar him until he had Thompson in a head lock and would not let go.

He was provoked by as much as any forward would be. How he chose to respond was his own doing. He is responsible for his actions.

Players should not have to put up with this behavior. If he cannot control himself then he is a serious danger to all who come up against him.

Its pathetic reading all this apologetic crap. This sort of stand should be universal regardless of who you support.

Geez, the five NM supporters disagree with the article, well **** me, what a surprise.

Thompson wanted Hall to crack.

By knocking him over while Hall was tying his shoes is pathetic.

In grassroots, you are told NOT to do that because its a cheap shot. It's like in wrestling when you get hit with a low blow, its a cheap shot, plain and simple.

The fact it was done by a player on a losing team *big time losing*, shows that he was not doing it to change the result of the match. He was doing it to provoke Hall and get him to crack.

So he can end his career and **** up the mans life.

Thompson can go **** himself, he is a little weasel and shows no integrity.

Hopefully Hall is cleared. :thumbsu:

If Hall gets off with this excuse , reinstate Danial Jackson as that was caused by Campbell getting in his face. I know that aren't exactly the same but if this plays out that the media gets Hall off, then they should also campaign to get Jackson off as well

Khan

Difference would be precedence. In the past headlocks have gotten fines where as head butts (as soft as the Jackson one was) have been given weeks.

He was down on one knee doing up his boot laces and Thompson knocked him over, it was nothing but a cheap and cowardly act by Thompson.

Why should a defender be protected from contact yet a forward can't do a thing because he risks giving away a free?

Also why is this a reportable offence? From what I've seen in recent times is that a headlock has been designated a wrestling offence which only results in fines, has this been changed because Barry Hall is the offending party?

The North players trying to rough him up as he was leaving the ground was pathetic, why focus on attacking a bloke running off the ground instead of trying to win a game of football?

Anyone who thinks this incident if that is what you call it should even make the papers never lone an actual report should be following Chess or Netball.

An absolute nothing incident incited by the media for the do gooders of the world who unfortunately have all started to follow AFL in the last 10 years.

Has the world gone completely mad?

If Barry Hall is suspended for that then it is really time now to change the game to touch football and remove all physical play from the game.

It is mind boggling that anyone that is a true Aussie rules follower could think that Barry Hall has any case at all to answer.

Funny how (almost) everybody agrees with Thomas, save for the Kangaroo fans. Strange. Hall should get off, and it will be a joke if he is suspended. Even if his team is playing Essendon this week. :)

the thing that pisses me off is people are saying, because there were 3 kangas around hall what else was he to do but put scott thompson in a head lock. One issue i have with this... HE did it BEFORE the other 2 came over, the other 2 were trying to simply get the headlock away from my point of view.

Look all fairness pushing someone down when trying to do their shoe laces is year 3 level and hall needs to be protected in some ways. But this is a simple case of over defence. Hall should in fact get in trouble for this, it was an overreaction to something 8-9 year olds brush off.

The man needs to grow up, thompson has been doing it all year, it is not like this is something new. Hall hasn't changed he just has been protected more... any thoughts?

Khan

Daniel Jackson doesn't make as good a story as Hall. This serriously is becoming a fairytale of epic proportions. He was kneed and mugged by 3 guys, comon Rocket surely you don't even believe the dribble you have been sooking about for the last few days?

Facts.....

Barry Hall was bumped while doing up his shoelace. After receiving the bump he proceeded to put Scott Thompson in a headlock , at which time two other North players stepped in to try and get Hall off Thompson. No kneeing, no mugging, but the facts don't support the fairytale.

Anyway the real reason Barry Hall lost his shit, was because as per his past, when he can't get a kick he reverts to becoming a thug. The niggling was just an excuse for him to go troppo. If he had kicked 5 goals and was playing well all he would have done was get up and remonstrate with Thompson, but because he was getting pantsed he decided to do what he knows best and that is resort to violence.

But in AFL fairyland we all think that a small bump is worse than putting a guy in a sleeper hold:rolleyes:

FFS people Hall is a ticking time bomb with a past of extreme violence, not some poor innocent victim.

If Hall gets away scott free, I hope the next player to get niggled decks a bloke and takes the tribunal to task. Because letting a player get away with going troppo because he was niggled is setting a dangerous precedent.

Lucky there is no vision of these players attacking Barry. Poor bloke. He must have been terrified.

If Hall gets away scott free, I hope the next player to get niggled decks a bloke and takes the tribunal to task. Because letting a player get away with going troppo because he was niggled is setting a dangerous precedent.

Headlocks until now have only got fines. Getting weeks for a head lock would be setting a precedent.

Lucky there is no vision of these players attacking Barry. Poor bloke. He must have been terrified.

Yep the two minute mark of this vision never happened. Number 30 is Pratt correct?

[YOUTUBE]NoPjYNDbX4Y[/YOUTUBE]

Headlocks until now have only got fines. Getting weeks for a head lock would be setting a precedent.

I have no problem with that Ant. My opinion was more based on the people claming he should have no case to answer and was justified in his actions.

If a fine is the set down punishment, then that is appropriate. I guess it's up to the MRP to define what is wresting and what is rough conduct?

But to let a guy get away with losing his shit, because he can't get a kick or is being niggled is setting a very dangerous precedent.

I have no problem with that Ant. My opinion was more based on the people claming he should have no case to answer and was justified in his actions.

If a fine is the set down punishment, then that is appropriate. I guess it's up to the MRP to define what is wresting and what is rough conduct?

Agree with that.

This whole thing is blown out of proportion really when you take a backwards step. Not much in any of the incidents, I think Mick Martyn was spot on when he said umps need to control the game better.

Grant Thomas - Hall has no Case to Answer for.