Grant Thomas no longer saints coach

Laurie Bingham said:
Butterss once said Thomas was the best "man-manager" he had ever met in any walk of life. Considering Butterss made an absolute fortune in the business world, that was one big statement. Not any more !

Doesn't pay to manage instead of coach, obviously.

Joffaboy said:
Sounds like good pro-active stuff by the Saints.

Ah no. Proactive would've been doing it at the end of last season.

The Fireman said:
hahaha grat comment from a bitter Lemming who follows a financially bereft cheating rabble of a club who is most likely going to pick up another spoon next year. You are an absolute joke Slurpy:D

LOL Fireman.
I don't agree with all your comments but us Carlton fans have no right to bag the handling of any other club's affairs after the Denis Pagan disaster this week. I do feel bad for GT as an bloke, but kudos to the Saints admin for having the courage of their convictions. I mean this will dispel the myth that Thomas would have the job for life whilst Rod B was president.
As far as Presidents go, right now Buttress has far more credibility then bloody Graham Smorgon.
BTW how would u feel if Bomber Sheldon returned as coach ? He's a top bloke Kenny.

The Dice Man said:
Funny you mention that as I just got off the blower to my Melbourne connection and he says that's a distinct possability.

Would solve Carlton's problem and probably see St.Kilda take a cup next year.
So the saints could demand this:
We take Pagan off your hands on the proviso we swap 1st rnd picks;) :D

I remember a reporter asking GT on sunday what he was gonna do now that the saints are out and his reaction?

"Go home and have about 40 pots".

Seriously, this is not the sort of stuff you wanna hear from a coach who's team has just been eliminated from the finals and who's list is so loaded with talent. Even though he was "probably" joking, I reckon the stkilda admin wouldnt have seen the funny side.

Is this definite? If so it’s huge. I am very surprised. I don’t particularly think he is the man to take them forward but he did make some positive changes at the club. You would think they would have an alternative lined up. There would be no shortage of interested candidates. I really though all the coaches like GT and MM would be retained as the safe option. Credit to the Saints for showing the balls. No matter what you think of GT a change is a real risk. Interesting times ahead.

Any chance RB can poach MM?
The Fireman said:
Certainly makes the ones who said he was Buttres mate and would never lose the job look like Dlks
Didn’t they have a big falling out 2 years back or thereabouts?
MadDawg said:
does this pave the for the return of Spida
Bloody good question.

MarkT said:
Would anyone want him to head up the footy department? He’d have a bit to offer I reckon.
I agree. Never rated him as a coach but as a football manager he has all the skills. Could he be trusted though?

Pagan to St.Kilda
Cresswell to Carlton :thumbsu:

celtic_pride said:
LOL Fireman.
I don't agree with all your comments but us Carlton fans have no right to bag the handling of any other club's affairs after the Denis Pagan disaster this week. I do feel bad for GT as an bloke, but kudos to the Saints admin for having the courage of their convictions. I mean this will dispel the myth that Thomas would have the job for life whilst Rod B was president.
As far as Presidents go, right now Buttress has far more credibility then bloody Graham Smorgon.
BTW how would u feel if Bomber Sheldon returned as coach ? He's a top bloke Kenny.
mate I need some time to take all this in. I suppose we have to look at everyone who is putting a hand up and I'm sure there would be many that would like a crack at our list. I didn't mind Bomba when he was coaching us.

itsintheblood said:
I remember a reporter asking GT on sunday what he was gonna do now that the saints are out and his reaction?

"Go home and have about 40 pots".

Seriously, this is not the sort of stuff you wanna hear from a coach who's team has just been eliminated from the finals and who's list is so loaded with talent. Even though he was "probably" joking, I reckon the stkilda admin wouldnt have seen the funny side.

Is their list "so loaded with talent" just have a look at it player by player and who will still be there next year, they will lose a lot of experience and they have a lot of injury prone players.

Hayes out for probably half a season, Goose out for perhaps all the season, Harvey may or may not and has Hammy problems, Fraser what will he do, Ball bad case of OP can he play every game?

Then you have Hamill will he play and if so how effective, Hudgton getting on, Milne brain dead, Clarkes both seem to be forever injured, Kosi may be a star but will we ever know, the list goes on.

Grant Thomas no longer saints coach