Great blokes from your footy club....

pazza said:
Some guys love to have a chat..some are just too busy to do it.

Some would say I'm personally biased in this, but Mark Bolton is a great example of a bloke who is just genuinely approachable to anybody. One of the few guys to regularly support his team-mates at VFL level as well, which is good to see (some players don't do that).

Brainy bugger too (qualified forensic chemist).

Back in '03 he was my favorite player for a bit and at training once he was signing autographs and I said to him "Bolts, your my favorite player!" and he coldly replied with "That's what they all say, suck up".

But I second what Daytripper said about Lucas, one of the nicest blokes ever. Earlier this year when me and some mates were having a kick of the footy up at Windy Hill, he came out to practise on his goal kicking, and we had some shots with him, before he eventually sat down to talk to us in the RS Reynolds stand. He also torped my Burley about 85 metres as well.

Rama is also a top bloke. Back in '03 when he had the cancer scare, He was sitting in the stands with an essendon official and he spoke to me and some mates for a good 30 minutes. Absolute legend.

MarkT said:
I'm sick a bloody tired of top blokes at my club. I want some mongrels around the place - on and off the ground.

You have plenty.

Commonly known as the Clokes I believe. I don't know much, but I know they are A grade tools. The lot of 'em. Mongrels? Yes, they are that too. Maybe you could support two of the three during their stellar, 15 year Williamstown careers?

For Fremantle you cant go past Jeff Farmer. He always comes across as a genuinely nice bloke to the fans and is always the last one back into the club rooms after the players have finished signing autographs, chatting and taking photos with fans after training.

Des Headland, Troy Cook, Luke McPharlin and Justin Longmuir also come across as great people too.

NorthBhoy I wish we did have plenty. I don;t much care whther they are tools or not. Care whether they can play or not. Cameron has some of that unmentionable word in him and that is partly why I keep saying he has to be part of the 18, let alone the 22. The way Travis runs blokes down and dumps them makes me smile more than the way he gets the pill at the moment. Jason is a different kettle of fish though and yes he will have a stellar Williamstown career. Unless a club in need of defenders takes him on. One that might have a coach who has seen his best maybe. Careful NorthBhoy because someone has to replace Archer pretty soon.....

docker_azza said:
For Fremantle you cant go past Jeff Farmer. He always comes across as a genuinely nice bloke to the fans and is always the last one back into the club rooms after the players have finished signing autographs, chatting and taking photos with fans after training.

Des Headland, Troy Cook, Luke McPharlin and Justin Longmuir also come across as great people too.

Too bad his public and private sides are diametrically opposed! ;)

MarkT said:
NorthBhoy I wish we did have plenty. I don;t much care whther they are tools or not. Care whether they can play or not. Cameron has some of that unmentionable word in him and that is partly why I keep saying he has to be part of the 18, let alone the 22. The way Travis runs blokes down and dumps them makes me smile more than the way he gets the pill at the moment. Jason is a different kettle of fish though and yes he will have a stellar Williamstown career. Unless a club in need of defenders takes him on. One that might have a coach who has seen his best maybe. Careful NorthBhoy because someone has to replace Archer pretty soon.....

Take that back!! Bastard. I seem to remember a thread last year where you and I were discussing the merits of comparing Jason to a 22 year old Glen Archer. Let's not go there again. I have too much respect for you.......

Travis hates blokes. You can see it. He is an arrogance 'work in progress' type, who you can just tell is waiting to establish himself as a genuine top liner before he blasts every bloke in the comp. Always hits late, which is a sign of an ****************.

Cameron annoys most because he does the above while not being very good. He also has, well they all have, heads you just want to punch very hard. Cam needs to find a position and quickly. IMO, his only hope is to improve enough to be Richards back up. Your best 22 could not possibly fit him forward. His brother might just be the death of him as a senior footballer.

Sticking to my Maxwell call from last year. Will be a very, very good footballer. Like him alot.

Heart said:

Yeah ill always remember the way Glenn Archer handled himself on The Footy Show that night with Wayne Carey and the young chap with Cerebal Palsy. Absolute legend of a man with more courage, dignity and honour in his little toe than most blokes have in their heart.

I'm gonna throw Marty Mattner's name into the ring... Don't know him personally but he comes from a small country town not far from me... Seems like a decent bloke, always putting in to help his "grass roots" footy club, He is actually a sponsor for them and on the weekend off for the split round this weekend he was back there watching them, running water for the little tackers and taking a genuine interest in the local footy and where he comes from... Typical quiet, country bloke from all accounts ! Hats off to him for not forgetting where he comes from :)

Also, Nathan Brown from the dees from all accounts is a top bloke as well...

Saints,

Milne and Baker are the comedians. They even started a business where you can hire them for $500 an hour and they'll turn up to any function you got on.

Hamill is the other. Every single report i have ever read from other players from differant sides to everyone at the saints just completely respect the man. I think he'd be a great bloke and it'd be an honour to meet him one day and say thanks for the memories.

Oh and of course Robert Harvey just about has the respect of every single person who follows AFL. Seems like a real nice bloke.

Aaron Hamill is a really great guy. Quiet, and well-spoken, and at the same time extremely friendly. The first and only time I met him, he gave me a hug. Smells good too. :D

Chasing the Dream said:
I credit much of the turn around from "Bad News Bears" to a credible team in 1996 to Andrew Bews. Absolute champion of a bloke.

No longer up here, but he certainly bought a football culture to the club that had never been seen before, as well as anyone who remembers his last game in 1998 will agree that he had more passion for football than nearly anyone going around.

That brings back memories of Geelong when me and a mate went down to Geelong when we were teenagers in the 90s. John Barnes and Billy Brownless rocked up at a stop light in their convertable. They both looked and sounded drunk :) but they were like, gday fellas, how you're both going.. etc

Both seem very cool :)

Bellablaise said:
Aaron Hamill is a really great guy. Quiet, and well-spoken, and at the same time extremely friendly. The first and only time I met him, he gave me a hug. Smells good too. :D

You got no chance, he has got the American actress girlfriend or something ;)

_Ron_ said:
Saints,

Milne and Baker are the comedians. They even started a business where you can hire them for $500 an hour and they'll turn up to any function you got on.

Hamill is the other. Every single report i have ever read from other players from differant sides to everyone at the saints just completely respect the man. I think he'd be a great bloke and it'd be an honour to meet him one day and say thanks for the memories.

Gee, they're such top blokes they'll let you hire them for $500 an hour. That's really good of them. Having seen the depth of Milne's and Montagna's comic genius in their two man show titled "You say no and I say yes", I think that $500 is a bit on the steep side.

On the other hand

I have met Hamill at a corporate function and I would agree with you entirely. He's a very courteous and humble man and nothing was too much trouble for him. I find this is the way with most footballers, as they come from a club environment, rather than the more selfish individual sports. f you get ahead of yourself, there's nothing like a footy team to pull you back down to earth with a thud. Wayne Carey would be the best example of misunderstood that I could think of. Top bloke, enjoys a chat and very funny, completely the opposite of his on field persona.

afc9798 said:
Gee, they're such top blokes they'll let you hire them for $500 an hour. That's really good of them. Having seen the depth of Milne's and Montagna's comic genius in their two man show titled "You say no and I say yes", I think that $500 is a bit on the steep side.

On the other hand

I have met Hamill at a corporate function and I would agree with you entirely. He's a very courteous and humble man and nothing was too much trouble for him. I find this is the way with most footballers, as they come from a club environment, rather than the more selfish individual sports. f you get ahead of yourself, there's nothing like a footy team to pull you back down to earth with a thud. Wayne Carey would be the best example of misunderstood that I could think of. Top bloke, enjoys a chat and very funny, completely the opposite of his on field persona.

lol at the you're first paragraph. I dunno what happened, do you? All i know is they are funny guys and well liked.

Re Carey,

I heard RUMOURS hes stuck up etc off field and thinks hes he is to good for everyone. I didn't believe it and i'm glad you cleared that up.

Great blokes from your footy club....