Great game. 'Arguably' match of the year so far

I thought the Ponsford was pretty loud actually. We were outnumbered a fair bit but I thought we did okay.

Ironically enough, the most obnoxious person I encountered all day had a Hawthorn jumper on.

Originally posted by Dan25:

Having said that, I think the best team won today. Collingwood played a great first half, but we played a better second half. Essendon really threw themselves at everything in the last quarter, which was necessary to stop the Collingwood surge. I thought we were "reasonably" close to our best today (but not quite), which is a pretty good measure of how well the Pies can play if they are switched on. I thought our Bomber fans lifted late in the 3rd quarter too, which helped to lift the team.

I thought Jason Johnson swung the game in the 3rd quarter, with his bustling midfiled work, and I thought Fletcher was the difference in defence. As for best on ground? I would have picked O'Bree ahead of Tarrant.

I can't agree on Johnson - his disposal is/was atrocious. But true about Fletcher, his last quarter was enormous.

Congrats to both teams. A great match to watch and with that Anzac spirit (maybe feeling is a better word) it made for a great battle.

------------------
Yellow n Black is the colour of the sky and the grass.

Joffa,

To be perfectly honest mate, you were slap bang in the middle of the Collingwood cheer squad. You really have no idea about the crowd support from the rest of the stadium. How the hell would you know being slap bang in the middle of the cheer squad? It was our home game, so most of our fans were in the Southern stand, while the away teams supporters were in the Ponsford.

Alf,

We didn't have 60,000 fans there. There would have been about 5,000 neutral, so if we had 60,000, this means you only had 19,000. You had a hell of a lot more than that. I think it was more like 42,000 for Essendon, 36,000 for the Pies, and about 5,000 neutral.

And I don't know what match you two were at, but in the Southern Stand, the Bomber crowd lifted enourmously during the latter period of the 3rd term and the last quarter. We were far noiser, I reckon. It helped to get us over the line. I was sitting right on the wing in the AFL members on the top deck, with 20,000 Southern stand patrons to my left, and 20,000 to my right. I think I was in just about the perfect position to judge, and I reckon we were louder.

Also Alf, if you didn't think that was a top game, you are a very hard person to please. It was a ripper of a game I reckon. There is nothing wrong with flooding. If we flood your back line, then all this means is that the other half of the ground is open. We exploited this a few times. The area space on the ground is going to be the same at all times. If players are congested in one end, it means that there will be open space everywhere else. It didn't stop the game being a great spectacle. Collingwood kicked over the flood in the 2nd term with most of their 7 goals coming from outside 40 metres.

The game had the "normal" scoreline of 103-95, showing that games of footy will still have the same average score, whether flooding is used or not. Remember Alf, if one team floods, it means the other teams forward line is open, so it all evens out in the end. I thought it was a skillful game, especially in the midfield, where Collingwood were on top. If you didn't think it was a good game, you are too difficult to please.

Dan25 you've outdone even yourself. Totally garbage ridden post dude, not being nasty of course, but amigo you are about as biased and one-eyed as any other single individual human on the face of this glorious planet that I've ever come into contact with.

Stick to gloating and talking about your team, impartiality is not your go. In fact that post looked pretty used-car-salesman'ish and absolutely pathetic.

Incidently thats not a personal slang Dan, but dude stop trying to pass off what your "unbiased" opinion tells you as being fact for everyone to believe without question. You are the most biased one in here, save the impartiality for those that aren't so passionate ok.

Originally posted by CarltonMan:
Dan25 you've outdone even yourself. Totally garbage ridden post dude, not being nasty of course, but amigo you are about as biased and one-eyed as any other single individual human on the face of this glorious planet that I've ever come into contact with.

Stick to gloating and talking about your team, impartiality is not your go. In fact that post looked pretty used-car-salesman'ish and absolutely pathetic.

Incidently thats not a personal slang Dan, but dude stop trying to pass off what your "unbiased" opinion tells you as being fact for everyone to believe without question. You are the most biased one in here, save the impartiality for those that aren't so passionate ok.

I disagree - I think I am more biased than Dan

The crows are the best team in the AFL by far.

2 flags in 10 years is the best % record of any team.

We also have a great finals record - 8 wins out of 11 games

Never lost a prelim final
Never lost a grnad final

All but two of those wins not in Adelaide.

We are magnificient!
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

------------------
"That'll do, THAT will do...Unbelievable Darren"
Bruce... September 1997

Originally posted by Jars458:
I disagree - I think I am more biased than Dan

The crows are the best team in the AFL by far.

2 flags in 10 years is the best % record of any team.

Never lost a grnad final

All but two of those wins not in Adelaide.

We are magnificient!
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

Clown.

It's people like you that made people like me want to leave Adelaide.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
Clown.

It's people like you that made people like me want to leave Adelaide.

Off you go then - don't forget your hadkerchief!!!

Wait a minute you have already left! For shame!!

Your sense of humour is about as good as your lifestyle choices.

don't drive angry!!!
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

------------------
Bruce... September 1997

Hello, 1993 ring bells Jars? 42 points up at half time and choked???

Originally posted by Dave:
Hello, 1993 ring bells Jars? 42 points up at half time and choked???

Got me there Dave

I cried that day!!!

42 free kicks to 16.

we wuz robbed!!
smile.gif

42 free kicks to 16.

we wuz robbed!!
smile.gif

42-16 my arse!! You Choked!!!
smile.gif

I'd be interested to hear your views on how the AFL played it's 104th GF last year if the comp's only been running for 10 years too btw
smile.gif

42-16 my arse!! You Choked!!!
smile.gif

I'd be interested to hear your views on how the AFL played it's 104th GF last year if the comp's only been running for 10 years too btw
smile.gif

My obvious answer to you is that it wasn't the 104th AFL grand final.

"A" stands for Australian

I believe 1990 was the frist year of the AFL.

Still without an SA team it had no credibility as a national comepetition.

1991 onwards therefore

Before that - VFL - a fine comp that was too - but in no way was it "Australian"

"A" stands for Australian

Also stands for "Arse", as in Pigs!!!

Keep trying mate, one day you might convince someone outside of SA, don't hold yer breath
smile.gif

Still without an SA team it had no credibility as a national comepetition.

No team in Tasmania, the 4th strongest AFL state. No team from NT, which has a far richer AR background than NSW/QLD. Guess that means the current comp has no credibility either.
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

The first time I have watched a full essendon game since the GF

I think they are masters at stretching the rules as far as they can

I you launch yourself all over a player taking a mark but then pretend you couldn't quite take a speccy, but then crash on top of you opponent its a free kick - the bombers got away with that on several occasions.

Originally posted by Pessimistic:
The first time I have watched a full essendon game since the GF

I think they are masters at stretching the rules as far as they can

Who? When? Care to name specifics rather than generalisations or are you back to your bomber bashing of last season? And of course, Collingwoods' players (or indeed any other teams) didn't break the rules at any stage did they? Must have been another teams Nathan Buckley I saw holding on whenever the umpire was blindsided.

I you launch yourself all over a player taking a mark but then pretend you couldn't quite take a speccy, but then crash on top of you opponent its a free kick - the bombers got away with that on several occasions.

As long as a player is making a legitimate attempt to mark or spoil this is allowed. You must've been watching a different game to me becuase the only blatant case that I saw was penalised. There was another line ball in the last quarter, but to say Essendon got away with it all day is crap.

Originally posted by CarltonMan:

Which of my posts, is this stupid, ignorant, and clealy taunting post aimed at? What exactly are you being critical of again? Are you being critical of my observation that Essendon had the majority of the crowd support (hardly a faniciful proposition)? Or are you being critical about my observation that this was one of the best games of the year? The idiocy that must go through your head, for you to actually take the time to write a post such as the one you just did amazes even me. You are truly a patheitc creature. What exactly have I said in this particular thread which is so biased? Stop humiliating yourself, and stop posting utter crap which ruins your credibility. Get a registered name too.

No team in Tasmania, the 4th strongest AFL state. No team from NT, which has a far richer AR background than NSW/QLD. Guess that means the current comp has no credibility either.
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif

Clearly the problem with Tasmania and the NT is the lack of enough money and or Crowd support.

Perhaps they could relocate a VFL team ?

Who do you follow Dave, they could go to Launceston?
biggrin.gif
wink.gif

------------------
Bruce... September 1997

Clearly the problem with Tasmania and the NT is the lack of enough money and or Crowd support.

Perhaps they could relocate a VFL team ?

Would you have followed a relocated team?

Who do you follow Dave, they could go to Launceston?
biggrin.gif
wink.gif

LOL! I'll give you a hint, they won that prelim we were talking about earlier
smile.gif

Dan25,

Would this still have been "the best game of the season", if Collingwood had won?

IMO Carlton v Essendon was better.

Michele

NMFC 1869

Great game. 'Arguably' match of the year so far