Greatest Dynasty of the 21st century - Lions vs Cats vs Hawks vs Tigers

Which dynasty is the greatest?

It's a question of which of the 4 had the greatest dynasty; not which of the 4 plays the MCG the best...

If greatest means best if they all played a game against each other it would be this for each ground:

KP: Geelong

Gabba: Lions

MCG: Richmond (MCG win streak record)

In terms of having a finals series and GF it would be played at the MCG which we play the best so it makes us the greatest unless you define greatness another way.

If greatest means best if they all played a game against each other it would be this for each ground:

In terms of having a finals series and GF it would be played at the MCG which we play the best so it makes us the greatest unless you define greatness another way.
Richmond's amazing record at the MCG didn't help them in the 2018 Preliminary Final...

giphy.gif

One aspect of greatness I define as by being able to overcome and conquer. Winning games at your own ground is great, I'm not saying it isn't. But Winning grand finals at your oppositions home ground three times consecutively is impressive to me

Mate if Mike Tyson beats a bloke who doesn’t train boxing noone cares.

Degree of difficulty is a huge factor in determining a goat. Playing on your home ground is a lot easier than flying to beat someone on their home ground.

Brisbanes degree of difficulty was off the chart - they even had to fly and play “home” finals in melbourne.

Mate if Mike Tyson beats a bloke who doesn’t train boxing noone cares.

Degree of difficulty is a huge factor in determining a goat. Playing on your home ground is a lot easier than flying to beat someone on their home ground.

Brisbanes degree of difficulty was off the chart - they even had to fly and play “home” finals in melbourne.

Then it’s impossible for a MCG tenant to be the goat then. GF’s and the majority of finals are at the MCG with the exception of 2020 (which we won btw) and 2021.

Cause we had gastro and Dusty was injured. You know this
Feeble excuses. If Dusty put his hand up to play then no excuse for average performance.

At least 6 of the Cats' team had gastro in the lead up to the 2021 PF which the Demons won in a canter. Jezza Cameron lost something like 4-5kgs in the days before the game. The AFL was even forewarned in case wholesale changes had to be made. But Chris Scott declared afterwards that was no excuse. Demons would have won anyway

Feeble excuses. If Dusty put his hand up to play then no excuse for average performance.

At least 6 of the Cats' team had gastro in the lead up to the 2021 PF which the Demons won in a canter. Jezza Cameron lost something like 4-5kgs in the days before the game. The AFL was even forewarned in case wholesale changes had to be made. But Chris Scott declared afterwards that was no excuse. Demons would have won anyway

It’s factually what happened though, apparently some defenders went to hospital a day or a few days before the game and missed training. Dusty was the wrong decision but if we didn’t play him and we lost they’d say we should’ve played him. He’s irreplaceable and our best player so we rolled the dice. Happens all the time. You guys even kept GAJ on the field in the 2020 GF with a busted shoulder because well “he’s Gary”.

Tough luck for us, but you can’t say we play the MCG crap like Fadge because we didn’t win when we weren’t fully fit. I’d say this about any team.

A lot of coaches say what Scott said so the don’t look like they are sooking in the media. It’s common sense that when you are injured you don’t play the best. Why are you debating this point? I’m sure you’d agree.

It’s factually what happened though, apparently some defenders went to hospital a day or a few days before the game and missed training. Dusty was the wrong decision but if we didn’t play him and we lost they’d say we should’ve played him. He’s irreplaceable and our best player so we rolled the dice. Happens all the time. You guys even kept GAJ on the field in the 2020 GF with a busted shoulder because well “he’s Gary”.

Tough luck for us, but you can’t say we play the MCG crap like Fadge because we didn’t win when we weren’t fully fit. I’d say this about any team.

A lot of coaches say what Scott said so the don’t look like they are sooking in the media. It’s common sense that when you are injured you don’t play the best. Why are you debating this point? I’m sure you’d agree.
I agree, but sadly what people remember is Richmond getting soundly beaten, or Geelong getting trounced and history does not record it any other way

Maybe but I think injuries are remembered pretty well when it’s about a big player in finals, but anyway I’m not sure how this disputes the fact we play the MCG the best when he have the record win streak there.

I’m assuming in these hypothetical matchups everybody is fully fit and we were undefeated when fully fit. 2020 QF we didn’t have lynch and obviously was at the Gabba.

Lions 2001 - 16 straight wins. I forgot they were down at half time in the QF to Port. 32 point win in the end with a big 2nd half after an inaccurate first half. Smash Richmond and beat The Dons comfortably after being down 15 or so at half time. A brilliant side. A close, hard fought win against us in 2002 and belted us in 2003.

The Hawks

2012 - narrow loss
2013 - 15 point win. Always seemed in control though despite Freo missing some chances. Would you agree? Freo never looked likely imo.
2014 - Demolition job against a great outfit who topped the table.
2015 - Strong character and resolve. Killed em.

Who wins? In a one off game factoring all of the above. Who wins in a one off Grand Final?

Look at that midfield majesticness. Hodge, Mitchell, Lewis up against Voss, and **** all those other guns. Black, McRae, Aka, and more.

I still have to go Brisbane. I reckon out of all the teams the Cats and Lions played and the Tige's for that matter that the Lions on their day and with the seasons they had, they get it done.

But by God that Hawks team of 2008 with that spirit, fire and tenacity would go might close. It could go either way.

Maybe but I think injuries are remembered pretty well when it’s about a big player in finals, but anyway I’m not sure how this disputes the fact we play the MCG the best when he have the record win streak there.

I’m assuming in these hypothetical matchups everybody is fully fit and we were undefeated when fully fit. 2020 QF we didn’t have lynch and obviously was at the Gabba.

Team holds winning streak record at their own home ground.

Colour me purple!

You have the logic of a 12yo.

Tigers line up (at the G) against any one of those Brisbane, Hawks or Geelong sides they get smacked.

You have the logic of a 12yo.

Tigers line up (at the G) against any one of those Brisbane, Hawks or Geelong sides they get smacked.

Because? Right now I see it being played out like the 2008 GF.

I think you just don’t like the fact we statistically play the MCG the best. Never mind the fact that we have the best finals player and system that counters all the rest.

But thanks for proving my point about SuperCoach logic, you’ve ignored every other factor including the ground in which the matches are played, weather conditions, coaching and gamestyle. You’re the one that sounds 12 to me.

Which means you are doing it easier against interstate / non tenant sides.

In finals yes, in H&A no.

But that’s the game we’ve got. So I’m afraid it’s just tough luck. In a GF we would win because it’s at the MCG.

It’s not like lions were world beaters in H&A either. They are the only dynasty team to not win a minor premiership.

They don’t have the best list either (which is Geelong’s title) so apart from being impressed by the difficulty of their dynasty I can’t see a reasonable argument to have them the best.

In fact there is a good argument they are the worst for the following reasons:

They would get out coached by Hawks and Tigers and lose to talent by Geelong

They play the worst at the MCG

Have the equal worst line ups if you look at the def/mid/fwd line matchups. Midfield is 2nd to Geelong but the rest are bottom 2.

There gamestyle is the worst and suffers the most when it’s wet and natural pressure in finals.

By far the slowest team of the 4 which doesn’t hold up. We all know by now chaos footy is the best way to win.

So yeah that’s my opinion anyway.

Tigers are the best

Hawks 2nd, only reason is because there was an element of luck due to great timing of the expansion clubs coming into the AFL. Still a great effort though and only just marginally behind the tiggers

Geelong next

Lions last, completely manufactured by the AFL. Various concessions, had to kill off another club to give them success, especially if you look at how many of their players were obtained by either directly or indirectly from the death of Fitzroy

Greatest Dynasty of the 21st century - Lions vs Cats vs Hawks vs Tigers