Greene's One Week - Mabo, the Vibe, Justice

A bit like the police when releasing footage to the media of a crime scene, you do realise the AFL has other footage available that we don't know about?

Like they did last week?

So no eye gouging or eye clawing?

Don’t answer that I just saw the footage again.........no chance they can prove unreasonable contact unless Neale throws him under the bus.

I think they can, he reached under/around a team mate to do it. No way can it be argued it was in the course of the tackle or Neale’s actions drew the contact. Greene should be gone for it as there was absolutely no justification for the act - why touch anyone’s face in a deliberate manner? Stupid and ill-disciplined, more so in light of last week.

Yeah,
Toby Greene is a fantastic player. I'd like him at Collingwood, but without the dirty acts.
However he happens to be someone with an extra y chromosome who can't help but hurt another player and will do so in the most dirty way possible.

Usually we are getting unjust karma, injuries, trial by media, players unfairly rubbed out. This time we are kissed on the dick. And Greene is rightfully rubbed out for eye gauging, that's right, eye gauging and it's the second week straight he's done it.
It's pretty indefensible really.

I agree with what you say here. He has had around 17trips to the MRO. Not a good stat. The AFL should never have got involved last week and suggest a fine. He was the difference in that game last night. He doesn't play and lions win. But on the same token its prob good heeded play and gets rubbed out next week. Cogs is back next week for GWS

Footage conclusive last week. Greene should have copped a week and not have played against Brisbane. Then he went and made an absolute mockery of the AFL and did it again aye identical.
I think they can, he reached under/around a team mate to do it. No way can it be argued it was in the course of the tackle or Neale’s actions drew the contact. Greene should be gone for it as there was absolutely no justification for the act - why touch anyone’s face in a deliberate manner? Stupid and ill-disciplined, more so in light of last week.

You guys have more faith in the AFL than I do.

Footage conclusive last week. Greene should have copped a week and not have played against Brisbane. Then he went and made an absolute mockery of the AFL and did it again aye identical.
That is the crux of the matter. I reckon he will get the week. Right now the AFL has regained a little credibility. Another fine and the focus will return to be all about their poor judgement.

Maybe the solution is right under his nose?

Do a drug test on him - maybe he’ll face hello to the testers.

In the wild early days of UFC, the rules were simple: no eye gouging, no fish hooking, and no groin strikes.

You can't have players placing pressure around the eyes of others.

It is a contemptible and cowardly act if done deliberately. If inadvertent, and repeated, it is reckless. Especially if the victim is pinned.

Either way, Greene seems very lucky with a week suspension.

Wonder if anyone from the Giants has told him he is destroying his reputation as a person. That this will likely impact him after footy.

Or if the club quietly revels in the on-field benefit they get from seeming tough?
Fish hooking??
I’ll bite.

Playing on the edge of what is acceptable does have consequences....
And FFS don't start the "being soft" discussion. Bumps,spoils, tackles and what not are all part of the game.
Clawing in peoples faces, repeatedly, has nothing to do with the game. Period.
If a below the knee rule comes in after a serious leg injury, a pre emptive no clawing ban to protect eye-sight is just as if not more justifiable.

Absolutely. He reached for the face and Neale was on the ground clutching at his eye afterwards.
It was more like a quick slap to the face or poke to the eye than a gouge that I could see. Reached across, did it then quickly scarpered off like the little sniping prick he is. Whatever he did it obviously hurt from Neales reaction.

Fish hooking??
I’ll bite.

Fish-hooking is when you put your fingers inside someone's mouth, in front of their teeth, and rip at their face. Unbelievably destructive.

Banned in UFC for obvious reasons.

Like eye gouging, eye pressing, raking the face around the eyes etc etc can potentially maim a person.

I love footy and people competing hard but these behaviours transcend sport. These are assault.

The bloke is a borderline type that needs counseling. Simple as that.

These 1 week suspensions are a real f joke as far as I'm concerned. How do you put a money value on a dirty deliberate act? 3 weeks into the 2020 season is a decent punishment.

Any damage to the eyes can effect your livelihood in so many ways. Absolute no go zone on a football field.. if it's an accident.. can't help that.. but if it's a deliberate act and there's a risk the bloke on the end of it may be in danger.. mate.. come down on em like a tone of bricks.

This shit is worse than that chicken grip vlakia that Judd did.

Greene's One Week - Mabo, the Vibe, Justice