Gutless Matthews ducks meeting

Broke the player’s code?
When the Victoria police decided to charge Matthews of their own accord, Bruns argued that it should have been dealt with by the VFL and not the magistrates court.
Stop talking shit.
Matthews was a great player, but he is also responsible for the biggest dog’s act in the history of the game.
Hawforn fans are easily the most deluded, too many people say it for it to be a coincidence
You don’t know what you’re talking about, **** Head

Like every other flog on these boards who didn’t follow the game in the 80’s, you’re applying the sanitised standards of modern day AFL football to a brutal era of VFL footy where king hits, punches and elbows were commonplace.

The incident wasn’t really anything out of the ordinary for those times. What made it blow up was the controversial aftermath.

This was before ‘Trial By Video’ when a player could only be reported by the umpire (and what the umpires didn’t see, players got away with)

Labelling Matthews v Burns as the “biggest dog’s act in the history of the game” just proves your ignorance. Sure, it ranked among the low points, but it wasn’t much different to 300 other similar king hits dealt over the preceding 50 years.

The main reason it became such a prominent story was because it involved the game’s greatest player and it was caught on video, but missed by the umpires. The VFL was seen to be doing nothing about it and Geelong-supporting flog and state government minister Neil Tresize decided to get the police involved.

FWIW, Geelong started all the fights that day. They were going nowhere that season. The Hawks were contending for the premiership. Hawthorn led all day by 4-5 goals and Geelong players were sniping throughout the game.

Neville Bruns was one of the Cats who was reported. Mark Jackson basically stopped playing footy in the last quarter and threw haymakers at any Hawk defender who went near him.

Bruns decided to run right past Matthews with the ball 30-40 metres away. Literally brush past him. Who knows why? Matthews probably thought Bruns was going was going to hit him, so he got in first and decked him. Or maybe it was simply a square up for Bruns hitting Tuck earlier in the game. Who knows?

Matthews king hit Bruns and broke his jaw. Steve Hocking king hit Matthews seconds later and broke his nose.

Bruns sooked to the media about Matthews from his hospital bed. He said he was the “pits”. Matthews meanwhile honoured the players code and helped Hocking escape suspension at the tribunal.

Bruns was booed loudly by Hawthorn fans for the remainder of his career. Literally every time he touched the ball. And none of the commentators ever said anything about that because they all understood: Bruns was a flog.

The moral of the story is that Geelong are a bunch of hypocritical sooks. Always have been. That’s their club culture.

Bruns asked for 12 months for Gaff on the radio this morning, like the attention whoring drama queen he is.
All of your violence against women and in general and pokies posts can now be ignored!
Sad!!

Like every other flog on these boards who didn’t follow the game in the 80’s, you’re applying the sanitised standards of modern day AFL football to a brutal era of VFL footy where king hits, punches and elbows were commonplace.

The incident wasn’t really anything out of the ordinary for those times. What made it blow up was the controversial aftermath.

This was before ‘Trial By Video’ when a player could only be reported by the umpire (and what the umpires didn’t see, players got away with)

Labelling Matthews v Burns as the “biggest dog’s act in the history of the game” just proves your ignorance. Sure, it ranked among the low points, but it wasn’t much different to 300 other similar king hits dealt over the preceding 50 years.

The main reason it became such a prominent story was because it involved the game’s greatest player and it was caught on video, but missed by the umpires. The VFL was seen to be doing nothing about it and Geelong-supporting flog and state government minister Neil Tresize decided to get the police involved.

FWIW, Geelong started all the fights that day. They were going nowhere that season. The Hawks were contending for the premiership. Hawthorn led all day by 4-5 goals and Geelong players were sniping throughout the game.

Neville Bruns was one of the Cats who was reported. Mark Jackson basically stopped playing footy in the last quarter and threw haymakers at any Hawk defender who went near him.

Bruns decided to run right past Matthews with the ball 30-40 metres away. Literally brush past him. Who knows why? Matthews probably thought Bruns was going was going to hit him, so he got in first and decked him. Or maybe it was simply a square up for Bruns hitting Tuck earlier in the game. Who knows?

Matthews king hit Bruns and broke his jaw. Steve Hocking king hit Matthews seconds later and broke his nose.

Bruns sooked to the media about Matthews from his hospital bed. He said he was the “pits”. Matthews meanwhile honoured the players code and helped Hocking escape suspension at the tribunal.

Bruns was booed loudly by Hawthorn fans for the remainder of his career. Literally every time he touched the ball. And none of the commentators ever said anything about that because they all understood: Bruns was a flog.

The moral of the story is that Geelong are a bunch of hypocritical sooks. Always have been. That’s their club culture.
“Didn’t follow football in the 80’s”hey?
I guarantee you I attended more football games in the 80’s than you have attended football in your entire life. Love your spin on Bruns “whinging from his hospital bed” too, what an absolute load of crap. And his comment of Matthews being the pits has been explained and found to be a load of crap, you would have heard his explanation about it but you’re choosing to ignore it. And saying it was no different to 300 incidents that happened prior, give me a spell!
I remember the day clearly, and the outrage from past players, commentators etc at the time was huge. This was one of the worst incidents a lot of people had seen, the damage inflicted on Bruns was way worse than 99% of anything that had been captured on camera.
Typical Hawforn flog.....been proven Bruns didn’t sook to the police so now it must have been a conspiracy against them by the government at the time.

Nah, it was brought to the police force’s attention through the cowardly violence of it all, they intervened through sheer public pressure and outrage at the incident.
Nice try though

H
Even I can't work it out :drunk:[/QUOTE
Even I can't work it out :drunk:
Well North and Hawthorn had a great rivalry when Matthews was at the peak of his powers, and as such probably have a greater interest in the goings on. Played against a much better version of Matthews in grand finals than the cooked campaigner her was in 1985

Leigh Matthews coward punch from behind. Says it all about Matthews.

“Didn’t follow football in the 80’s”hey?
I guarantee you I attended more football games in the 80’s than you have attended football in your entire life. Love your spin on Bruns “whinging from his hospital bed” too, what an absolute load of crap. And his comment of Matthews being the pits has been explained and found to be a load of crap, you would have heard his explanation about it but you’re choosing to ignore it. And saying it was no different to 300 incidents that happened prior, give me a spell!
I remember the day clearly, and the outrage from past players, commentators etc at the time was huge. This was one of the worst incidents a lot of people had seen, the damage inflicted on Bruns was way worse than 99% of anything that had been captured on camera.
Typical Hawforn flog.....been proven Bruns didn’t sook to the police so now it must have been a conspiracy against them by the government at the time.

Nah, it was brought to the police force’s attention through the cowardly violence of it all, they intervened through sheer public pressure and outrage at the incident.
Nice try though
Big Mick from Arden Street?

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Gutless sniper Neville Bruns should organise a meeting with all the players he hit during his otherwise forgettable footy career.
e.g. Michael Tuck in the first half of the 1985 game vs Hawthorn that Matthews later "got even" with him
e.g. Robert DiPierdomenico in 1989 Grand Final when 2 of his teammates held Dipper down while Bruns laid into him
Many many more...

Lethal wanted nothing to do with him because Bruns was a hypocritical flog who sooked it up and broke the players code. Bruns was happy to belt opponents when they weren't looking, but he cried like a little bitch when he was on the receiving end.

It was 33 years ago. Ancient history. Matthews has moved on. Burns hasn't.
The incident defines his life. He is the answer to a trivia question. LOL.

Pwnd.

And yet somehow you're even more obsessed with this ancient history.

Look at you, reeling off this list of petty slights at the drop of a hat. I can just see you, adding another newspaper clipping to your Bruns scrapbook as you apply lipstick.

Hilarious. Self-pwnd.

As well it should, I was outraged after seeing the footage. However street violence isn't comparable to on-field violence especially that which occurred back in the 70s & 80s when standards & expectations were different.

Bruns crossed a line by snitching to the police, I can't think of another player in VFL/AFL history who's done that. Maybe he was within his rights but that doesn't mean Lethal has to forgive him, or he has to forgive Lethal for throwing the punch in the first place. There's probably a lot more to the story that isn't public knowledge. Maybe Lethal just prefers to put the past behind him, who knows.
Labelling Neville a 'snitch' might make you feel better about the character of your childhood hero- you seem to have a prison yard ethics system. Time to take the posters off the wall.

Media have gone all SJW too,,after heavily promoting hawthorn v Essendon with disgraceful violence from the past just last week
They were showing scuffles, melees and bumps- not hospitalisations behind the play.
matthews low act, and his gutless avoidance of bruns since, is in another league.

If you want to build a foundation myth out of the act and tie it to clarkson's own coward punch so be it.

kennet has a history of violence too

Gutless Matthews ducks meeting