Gutless Matthews ducks meeting

A little bit of get the **** over it is probably required here Neville, I mean Lethal went on to coach a three peat whilst you've just been dining out on copping one over 30 years ago. Let it go old mate. It's time.
Spoke at functions at the request of Jeff Kennett, spoke to Hawthorn players from that day and remains friends with them.
You can try to paint him as a “sad, pathetic person who never moved on”, that’s cute, but nonsense.
You think he went ringing radio programs and TV networks after the Gaff hit?
No....they rang him and he gave his thoughts, Matthews didn’t answer his phone

Spoke at functions at the request of Jeff Kennett, spoke to Hawthorn players from that day and remains friends with them.
You can try to paint him as a “sad, pathetic person who never moved on”, that’s cute, but nonsense.
Spare me your faux outrage pal.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Too 'fact heavy' a post for some.

Did they ring Hocking?

They were showing scuffles, melees and bumps- not hospitalisations behind the play.
matthews low act, and his gutless avoidance of bruns since, is in another league.

If you want to build a foundation myth out of the act and tie it to clarkson's own coward punch so be it.

kennet has a history of violence too

There’s no mistake how they were promoting the game. Violence. Get off it

“Didn’t follow football in the 80’s”hey?
I guarantee you I attended more football games in the 80’s than you have attended football in your entire life. Love your spin on Bruns “whinging from his hospital bed” too, what an absolute load of crap. And his comment of Matthews being the pits has been explained and found to be a load of crap, you would have heard his explanation about it but you’re choosing to ignore it. And saying it was no different to 300 incidents that happened prior, give me a spell!
I remember the day clearly, and the outrage from past players, commentators etc at the time was huge. This was one of the worst incidents a lot of people had seen, the damage inflicted on Bruns was way worse than 99% of anything that had been captured on camera.
Typical Hawforn flog.....been proven Bruns didn’t sook to the police so now it must have been a conspiracy against them by the government at the time.

Nah, it was brought to the police force’s attention through the cowardly violence of it all, they intervened through sheer public pressure and outrage at the incident.
Nice try though
That’s just it. Channel 7 only started filming all six games in the early-to-mid 80’s. From the late 60’s through to the early 80’s they filmed only 2-3 games per round. Prior to that there was nothing...

(And some idiot at Channel 7 decided to throw away/erase all the old footage they had in storage)

Thousands of games of VFL footy over the previous century (not to mention the thousands of SANFL and WAFL games) with hundreds if not thousands of king hits, squirrel grips, elbows, knees, punches and eye gouges. Hundreds of jaws broken.

The only VFL biffo they ever replay nowadays are the infamous incidents which made the old VHS compilations. e.g “Biffs, Bumps and Brawlers”

Some people who don’t know any better would be excused for thinking Matthews v Bruns was the only king hit. It wasn’t even the worst king hit Lethal ever did. Bruns had it coming to him and he ran into Matthews’s space blindsiding him. You can sort of understand why he might’ve decided to lash out. Matthews smashing Melbourne’s Peter Giles behind play was FAR worse. Far more calculated and nasty.

But these were just 2 of many violent incidents...

Kelvin Moore suffered a ruptured testicle thanks to a low blow from Essendon thug Roger Merrett in 1983. That was the incident which started the Hawthorn v Essendon rivalry. Don Scott wrote an article which drew a lot of heat about the Essendon “hitman” that Kevin Sheedy was using to maim opposition players.

Collingwood back pocket/thug Stan Magro knocked out Geelong forward Terry Bright in the 1981 Qualifying Final when the ball was 100m away at the other end of the MCG. Old school thuggery like you’d see in the suburban league Grand Finals. Just snuck up behind him when he was unsuspecting and decked him.

This shit was commonplace back in the day. If you followed the game closely then you would know this. If you ever read up on any history of the game, then you would know this.

That’s just it. Channel 7 only started filming all six games in the early-to-mid 80’s. From the late 60’s through to the early 80’s they filmed only 2-3 games per round. Prior to that there was nothing...

(And some idiot at Channel 7 decided to throw away/erase all the old footage they had in storage)

Thousands of games of VFL footy over the previous century (not to mention the thousands of SANFL and WAFL games) with hundreds if not thousands of king hits, squirrel grips, elbows, knees, punches and eye gouges. Hundreds of jaws broken.

The only VFL biffo they ever replay nowadays are the infamous incidents which made the old VHS compilations. e.g “Biffs, Bumps and Brawlers”

Some people who don’t know any better would be excused for thinking Matthews v Bruns was the only king hit. It wasn’t even the worst king hit Lethal ever did. Bruns had it coming to him and he ran into Matthews’s space blindsiding him. You can sort of understand why he might’ve decided to lash out. Matthews smashing Melbourne’s Peter Giles behind play was FAR worse. Far more calculated and nasty.

Kelvin Moore suffered a ruptured testicle thanks to a low blow from Essendon thug Roger Merrett in 1983. That was the incident which started the Hawthorn v Essendon rivalry. Don Scott wrote an article which drew a lot of heat about the Essendon “hitman” that Kevin Sheedy was using to maim opposition players.

Collingwood back pocket/thug Stan Magro knocked out Geelong forward Terry Bright in the 1981 Qualifying Final when the ball was 100m away at the other end of the MCG. Old school thuggery like you’d see in the suburban league Grand Finals. Just snuck up behind him when he was unsuspecting and decked him.

This shit was commonplace back in the day. If you followed the game closely then you would know this. If you ever read up on any history of the game, then you would know this.
The last thing I need is a history lesson on 80’s football, I’ve seen it first hand. Was at Windy Hill when Glendenning ironed out Duckworth, Jim Krakouer take on a few of them on the outer wing etc.
I’m telling you now, the Matthews hit on Bruns was HUGE news at the time, because it was right up among the worst, there were no agendas against Matthews or Hawthorn or anything.
To say that any footballer who copped the injuries Bruns had that day “had it coming” is ridiculous

The last thing I need is a history lesson on 80’s football, I’ve seen it first hand. Was at Windy Hill when Glendenning ironed out Duckworth, Jim Krakouer take on a few of them on the outer wing etc.
I’m telling you now, the Matthews hit on Bruns was HUGE news at the time, because it was right up among the worst, there were no agendas against Matthews or Hawthorn or anything.
To say that any footballer who copped the injuries Bruns had that day “had it coming” is ridiculous
Bruns was a two-bit sniper and he deserved to be knocked out for all the sly shit he did over his career.

He smashed Tucky in the face earlier that day, so yes... He had it coming.

I don't even think it was the worst Matthews hit, perhaps it was the most behind the play of all of them.

It may have become bigger news because of the way it was handled, it exposed the inadequacies of the reporting system, the fact that the police got involved, and that the coach was a police officer himself, plus the potential end for the greatest footballer of all time. All of that meant there was a lot of controversy beyond the act itself.

Reality check for those who might think the Bruns incident was something out of the ordinary. The fact they were still romanticising this sort of stuff on Channel 7 in 2001 shows how accepted it was.

Well that’s me done!
Lethality tried to prove a point by showing “Biffs, bumps and brawlers”.

I’m going to go to the main board tomorrow and emphasise every point I make with a link to my Kanga Kings video, or Rampaging Roos.

Well done Lethality, you’ve done it again!!

That Bruns was a niggling sniper?
He did most of his best work well off the ball or in packs and home and away games from the early eighties are not exactly as well filmed as these days.
Im sure that he would never hit a bloke in the head though.
OZUIY6.gif

Well that’s me done!
Lethality tried to prove a point by showing “Biffs, bumps and brawlers”.

I’m going to go to the main board tomorrow and emphasise every point I make with a link to my Kanga Kings video, or Rampaging Roos.

Well done Lethality, you’ve done it again!!

I've never heard of those other videos, as Norf are irrelevant.

That Bruns was a niggling sniper?
He did most of his best work well off the ball or in packs and home and away games from the early eighties are not exactly as well filmed as these days.
Im sure that he would never hit a bloke in the head though.
View attachment 540281
Yeah....you got him!
Throwing one at a bloke who’s got him in a headlock, what a cheap shot.
Totally along the same line as the Matthews snipe

Not a shred of proof Bruns spoke to the cops however there is video proof of Leighfall committing the most cowardly coward punch in Australian history.

And now he’s confirming his cowardice all these years later because he’s too AFRAID to meet Bruns face to face just like he was back then. :$

Maybloom flogs therefore condone the act & blame Geelong to get themselves off the hook.

#hawflogic :drunk::thumbsu:

Anyone defending Bruns is obviously a lifelong snitch who never learnt that Australia was built on the foundation that running to the authorities is an unforgivable sin.
Bruns never snitched tho. Someone’s been telling you lies because they think you’re stupid enough to believe them. :$
“Didn’t follow football in the 80’s”hey?
I guarantee you I attended more football games in the 80’s than you have attended football in your entire life. Love your spin on Bruns “whinging from his hospital bed” too, what an absolute load of crap. And his comment of Matthews being the pits has been explained and found to be a load of crap, you would have heard his explanation about it but you’re choosing to ignore it. And saying it was no different to 300 incidents that happened prior, give me a spell!
I remember the day clearly, and the outrage from past players, commentators etc at the time was huge. This was one of the worst incidents a lot of people had seen, the damage inflicted on Bruns was way worse than 99% of anything that had been captured on camera.
Typical Hawforn flog.....been proven Bruns didn’t sook to the police so now it must have been a conspiracy against them by the government at the time.

Nah, it was brought to the police force’s attention through the cowardly violence of it all, they intervened through sheer public pressure and outrage at the incident.
Nice try though
Chewie getting taken to the cleaners here.

I guess we’ll just have to take your word for it then seeing as no actual footage exists.

But as far as existing video evidence goes Matthews is guilty of the most putrid, cowardly, gutless, undisciplined, despicable gutter dog act in the history of Australian rules football.

What a proud moment for him. Too bad he can’t man up & look Bruns in the eye ever again tho. :$

:rooster::poo:

Gutless Matthews ducks meeting