GWS are going to win the premiership

They are banned by all A League clubs who don't want a bar of them. The AFL is even more pc so no way in hell would they allow them. The RBB has caused headaches and fines for the wanderers, with many members being banned. They want Australian 'soccer' to mirror european, with semi-militant gangs and flares - sport mirroring a war zone, with the accompanying thugish behaviour and inter-club fighting. If they appeal to you then join them - there will never be an AFL alternative.

Yes because we live in a nanny country full of lefty cowards and faux outrage mongerers.

You have more chance of being stabbed by a crack head walking to work every morning than you do being the victim of hooliganism.

If you haven't been to a game in Europe, then you don't get it...won't get it... And will never get it.

The fans are the game. The fan experience at a huge football game shits all over AFL - fighting occurs at the AFL mate, maybe not in the halo club but in the outter, there are fights at most games. They just don't report it.

I've seen two women punching on in the AFL members... I've seen 2 Richmond fans beating the shit out of one another 100+ points up at the 25min mark of the last quarter. There was an Essendon fan who slammed a kid into a hand rail after the 2014 elimination final. Nathan Jones's dad getting bashed on the way home from the G.

Footy is ****ing violent and we love it... The only time the crowd really gets into a fever pitch is during an onfield fight... You know what the fastest growing sport in the world is? You guessed it... MMA.

The AFL is wrong, people have a lust for blood, it's why we all slow down and stare at car accidents as we drive past.

If people want to beat the shit out one another in the name of love for their club, then so be it... I like it.

This sounds silly on the surface but if you have a good look at their list I think the Swans will actually improve next year.
Allir, Mills, Rose, Papley, Hewett, Jones, Heeney, Nankervis and Cunningham are all up and comers.
Doesn't sound that silly, they've blooded a lot of youth and that's part of the reason why they fell to the Giants this year

You really don't get it do you? MELBOURNE IS DIFFERENT TO SYDNEY - particularly when it comes to AFL

Question - how many Penrith Panthers jumpers were there? Five would get you 10 that there'd be more Easts and Souths jumpers in the store. There are sure as s#*t more parramatta crap in Peter Wynn's store than any other team - but being on Church St in Parramatta you'd expect that.

BTW - plenty of Giants gear in his shop - in the heart of Wanderland - in a store owned by an ex-parramatta eel player. But that's WESTERN SYDNEY where you'd expect there to be gear.

FMD - If the best you can do is that a store in Randwick wasn't carrying Giants gear then you must live a sad and lonely little existence.

BTW - what makes you think the gear just hadn't sold out?

Sorry I had no idea Sydney was split in 2. just expected to see the gear in store (you know IN SYDNEY).
Sorry carry on champ.

They are banned by all A League clubs who don't want a bar of them. The AFL is even more pc so no way in hell would they allow them. The RBB has caused headaches and fines for the wanderers, with many members being banned. They want Australian 'soccer' to mirror european, with semi-militant gangs and flares - sport mirroring a war zone, with the accompanying thugish behaviour and inter-club fighting. If they appeal to you then join them - there will never be an AFL alternative.

The afl banned (or approved a ban) of drums at subi because someone complained that they were too intimidating or something. I miss the drums

2016 - Premierships won: 0 so far. Average home attendance: 12,333.

2018 - Premierships won: 1. Average home attendance: 14,000.

2020 - Premierships won: 3. Average home attendance: 16,000

2030 - Premierships won: 4. Years since last premiership: 7. Average home attendance: 8,000.

Yes because we live in a nanny country full of lefty cowards and faux outrage mongerers.

You have more chance of being stabbed by a crack head walking to work every morning than you do being the victim of hooliganism.

If you haven't been to a game in Europe, then you don't get it...won't get it... And will never get it.

The fans are the game. The fan experience at a huge football game shits all over AFL - fighting occurs at the AFL mate, maybe not in the halo club but in the outter, there are fights at most games. They just don't report it.

I've seen two women punching on in the AFL members... I've seen 2 Richmond fans beating the shit out of one another 100+ points up at the 25min mark of the last quarter. There was an Essendon fan who slammed a kid into a hand rail after the 2014 elimination final. Nathan Jones's dad getting bashed on the way home from the G.

Footy is ******* violent and we love it... The only time the crowd really gets into a fever pitch is during an onfield fight... You know what the fastest growing sport in the world is? You guessed it... MMA.

The AFL is wrong, people have a lust for blood, it's why we all slow down and stare at car accidents as we drive past.

If people want to beat the shit out one another in the name of love for their club, then so be it... I like it.
Lived in europe and been to games in europe. i get it, but personally don't 'get it'.
Had police in their hundreds at games in england and holland back in the 80s when violence was at its peak in those countries. it's a minority that want to fight and the rest have to just put up with it?
I don't disagree about sanitising footy - it's missing that extra hardness it once had, but inciting violence in the stands or taking it outside on the streets? no way - footy grounds should be a place to bring the family. Took my boy recently and he spent the game chatting with an opposition supporter. Both happy to enjoy the contest without replicating it amongst themselves. those supporters that want more should play sport themselves to get it out.

I am in Sydney at the moment (been here over a month) and have barely seen anything Giants related. I'm staying in Randwick and walked into the Amart store here. Heaps of Rugby gear as expected and a good range of Swans merch but not one noticeable Giants item.

Also just out and about I have seen people wearing swans merch but still am yet to see anyone with Giants gear on.

You're really in rugby union and swans territory in Randwick.

I've lived on the south-eastern edge of the CBD for about twenty years now (though grew up in the suburbs). Other than on game days, where you see some fans leaving the SCG or SFS for town in their team's colors, I find you see very few people wearing club merchandise as street wear. Occasionally you see rabbitohs, roosters, wallabies or swans merchandise.

Sydney's pretty segmented. There is relatively little rugby league presence in the city, the eastern suburbs or the north shore. Most people I encounter these days, if sport comes up, tend to be interested mostly in union, the swans or both.

I also don't find rugby league to be as strong in Sydney as is commonly perceived. I attended schools in Strathfield (middle-ring western suburbs) and Bellevue Hill (eastern suburbs) and lived in the hills district (part of Parramatta Eels territory, which was my league team) as well as upper and lower north shore. As a young kid, I lived near Newcastle, where rugby league definitely is strong. In the eastern suburbs and north shore I encountered quite a lot of prejudice toward rugby league, usually from rugby union enthusiasts or people who didn't like sport at all. This rubbed me the wrong way and kept me motivated to follow league for longer than I probably would have otherwise. (There was also prejudice in Newcastle against Australian Football, but being only little kids at the time, I put less stock in that.) The hills district seemed pretty open to league, though I still wouldn't have said it was particularly strong in that area.

I'm not questioning league's number 1 status in Sydney. That's undoubted. But it is certainly not akin to the dominance of AFL in Melbourne or Adelaide. Even forgetting about crowds, just compare the free-to-air TV ratings in Mel/Ade for the first week of AFL finals with the week 1 NRL ratings in Sydney. Adelaide has about a quarter of Sydney's population, yet got 56 percent of Sydney's numbers (a total of 652k compared with 1157k over the four games). Sydney's total was only 61 percent of Melbourne's (1892k).

The Swans v Giants free-to-air ratings in Sydney are perhaps indicative of the potential for AFL as well: 157k in the afternoon (graveyard shift TV-ratings wise) compared with 249k and 264k for the NRL night games. A fair chunk of the difference is made up by the 60k crowd.

Footy is ******* violent and we love it... The only time the crowd really gets into a fever pitch is during an onfield fight... You know what the fastest growing sport in the world is? You guessed it... MMA.

You're a seriously disturbed individual. Get help

So where did GWS coaches come from? An Academy? Were they high draft picks?

They coached a team out of the finals, into a prelim the next year. People are forgetting what a good job they have done, and insulting them by saying it's all a creation of the AFL and favourable picks. Give it a rest.

I thought they had no supporters too, so I joined the biggest fb fan group they've got on there... the fans they do have are passionate as hell and for the most part started following AFL with the launch of the Giants, it's actually pretty awesome albeit a little cult-like.

I think the concessions they've had are pretty ridiculous, but hey, they haven't won a flag yet - and in 15 years time we won't see them any differently than the other expansion teams, probably a fair bit more hatred from traditionalists - but hell it's sport and hating a club is a beautiful thing.

There is absolutely zero chance Stevie J gets suspended this finals series. While he has those GWS colours on, he might as well be invisible to the MRP.
Can you just say that a little louder?

Western Sydney is the absolute pits, they barely get 10k to their own Rugby League teams. I can't see them average more than 15k at their stadium, do you really think people in Western Sydney will support the Giants more than Melbournians do the Storm?

that's why the afl and giants have reassessed their approach. AFL is a middle class game in Sydney, and they're going for the same type of supporter for the giants as those that support the swans. they just live in the inner west which olympic straddles with western sydney. areas such as concord, drummoyne, hunters hill and ryde. that's the image of AFL in sydney. building in greater western sydney itself is more of a slow burn.

Giants v Dogs Prelim would be awesome
Yeah
Happy with either. At spotless this year they won the inside game. Our outside defence handled the pressure and turned it over often enough to get us up.It's a tough way to win though. In a final who knows? Ward, Cogs and Hopper would definitely be in the spotlight.

that's why the afl and giants have reassessed their approach. AFL is a middle class game in Sydney, and they're going for the same type of supporter for the giants as those that support the swans. they just live in the inner west which olympic straddles with western sydney. areas such as concord, drummoyne, hunters hill and ryde. that's the image of AFL in sydney. building in greater western sydney itself is more of a slow burn.

Spot on, that's what they HAVE to do. I lived in Sydney for a few years for work, I lived in Rhodes just as the expansion was happening. I worked in Parramatta but it was literally the 20 min drive in and out that would ever take me further than Homebush. Inner West is beautiful, Leichardt/Drummoyne/Concord/Five Dock/Haberfield, all those areas have good wealth. it's just a shame that the the Spotless stadium is on the tip of the shittest area in Australia.

well, the AFL and club has borrowed the same name of the 'shittest area of australia' - Greater Western Sydney. It's a bit of a cop out to call itself a team of Western Sydney, but really be an inner west team when you scratch the surface. but that's what it probably has to do to get a foothold in the metropolitan after 30 years of the Swans cultivating an middle class image. a few years like this one and it can ramp up programs in those areas Andrew D was throwing around when he and the gIants first came up here. Blacktown, Fairfield, Campbelltown, etc - the areas within the region of Greater Western Sydney.

How do the arguements flip if they fail?
Having a talented list doesn't always guarantee success!
Lots of passionate words in this thread.
What happens if they don't win a grand final soon?

How do the arguements flip if they fail?
Having a talented list doesn't always guarantee success!
Lots of passionate words in this thread.
What happens if they don't win a grand final soon?

The AFL will make sure it happens. And to be honest, with the leg ups they've given and continue to receive, it would take incompetence of Cameron Schwab or Richmond proportions to stuff it up.

Not at all. Every player at every club works their arse off. Our players probably do more community work than a lot of others, but that's because they're out the building the brand - but that's not the point I was making.

Of course you would have to know that because I can't believe you'd be that deliberately stupid.

Thread after thread we are told that we don't deserve any success because everything has just been handed to us. It's one of the most rubbishy arguments out there. Our boys work their arses off - just like everyone else. But you and morons like you give absolutely no credit for that.

I was asked if I deserve a premiership - I said that it's got nothing to do with me - but the players work their arses off and deserve whatever success comes their way.

You know what - all of your players at your club work their arses off and deserve whatever success they can get. Every player at every club does.

For you to say that the players at my club don't deserve success for their work is just beyond insulting.

I want you to point to a single thing I said in that post that you disagree with and tell me why. do our players not work hard on and off the track? Are they not approachable? Do they not deserve success? Why not? Why don't the players who work hard deserve respect and success?

Have I ever rubbished the players at you club?

Your administration? maybe - your fans? Sometimes - some of them are total a****holes - but have I EVER had a go at your players?

No ones having a go at your players. You used the argument "they do so much community work and work their arses off" as a reason why they deserve success. The point is every club does that. The reason why success for the Giants (as a club, not for individual players) will be hollow is because the competitive advantages they have received and continue to receive mean they are given a higher probability of success compared to their competitors. That's got nothing to do with attacking the players, its attacking the governance of the AFL and the clubs who allowed the AFL to give them their over the top concessions. Football is a game played between 18 players on the ground. If some clubs are given access to far more better players than every other club and if those clubs continue to have the ability to pick the best players regardless of where they finish on the ladder when every other club has their draft pick tied to their ladder position and also has more money in the cap to spend on those players then, yeah, they are being given a leg up.

It's really interesting listening to tv and radio media today, and their praise for the Giants. Even Sam Mitchell said even when they were getting belted you were impressed with the way they play.

really?

Of course, they have some of the most talented young players in the country. It's more like a rep side than a footy club though.

The AFL will make sure it happens. And to be honest, with the leg ups they've given and continue to receive, it would take incompetence of Cameron Schwab or Richmond proportions to stuff it up.

Ridiculous amount of posts in here predicting the future. It's a game of skill and chance that can go either way any time, friday night is one example in a long history of " the mighty " don't always get up in competative sport.
I'll await the future lotto numbers to appear in this thread with anticipation.