As one poster said, " the most dangerous act this year".
It was very dangerous but I don't think it was at all intentional. You and a few others are suggesting Hannebery lined him up, but I don't think that's the case.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
It was very dangerous but I don't think it was at all intentional. You and a few others are suggesting Hannebery lined him up, but I don't think that's the case.
One player had his head down fumbling attempting to pick the ball up.
The other coming from the other direction ended up making forceful front on contact high in an action that has the highest chance of causing serious neck injuries. Hurley could have ended up a paraplegic from that hit and Hannebury was reckless in his attack on the ball / player.
When I saw it in real time and Hurley reached for his head and neck I thought "oooh sh!t that's how you break your neck"
What I was absolutely stunned by was the doctors letting him get up and walk to the sidelines. I've heard of players fracturing their necks and playing on only to find out days later they were millimetres away from incurring a serious spinal injury.
Hannebury will get weeks simply because that bump is the most dangerous incident of any of the head high hits seen in a very long time. I don't think it was malicious but in that situation you simply cannot turn and make forceful front on contact how he did with a player bent down picking up the ball.
They reached the ball at the same time. There is no second player to the contest.Mate the ball was rolling along the ground and Hurely who is what 194cm was leaning down fumbling try to pick it up. In that position you are at you most vulnerable. You are assuming that in the split seconds involved he should have seen an opponent coming and decide that he should pull out of the contest or spin his body to avoid front on contact? Seriously?
The law protects the player going for the ball, Hurely was trying to pick it up. Onus is on the second player coming in to contest in a safe manner inside the laws of the game.................and not put people in wheel chairs.
Anyway, I reckon Hannebery will probably go, because he's marginally second to that contest. But players need to learn to not run head first at balls like that. Not really something you can address in the rules, just common sense. This "head over the footy and run straight at it" stuff is nonsense.
Retrace my posts, i don't think Hanners is a dirty player, by and large he is a ball player, made a big mistake here though, had other options no matter what Longmire says, and he did not use them, he was aware of the situation.
If a player has his head over the ball, and another player is entering the contest he must take care, the last thing anyone wants is a serious neck injury and what Hanners did filtering down to park football
I'd be interested to hear what you think his other options were?Retrace my posts, i don't think Hanners is a dirty player, by and large he is a ball player, made a big mistake here though, had other options no matter what Longmire says, and he did not use them, he was aware of the situation.
If a player has his head over the ball, and another player is entering the contest he must take care, the last thing anyone wants is a serious neck injury and what Hanners did filtering down to park football
I'd be interested to hear what you think his other options were?
TBH, this is the most dangerous incident I can remember since the Long-Simmons bump in 2000. And my recollection is that there were howls and screams of protest for weeks about what Long did. And yet Long had far less time than Hannebery did last night to assess his options.
I know you're not suggesting he is dirty, but you're suggesting he deliberately hit Hurley, and I don't reckon he did. He saw Hurley approach the contest, then turned to protect himself and attacked the football.
Negligent rather than reckless for mine (whatever the less serious, less intentional grading is).
The filtering down to park football comment is strange. What Hannebery did was approach the ball how everyone is taught to from junior levels.
I think you might need to rewatch that one, because although it has it's similarities, Long's obvious intentions were for the player and not the ball. Also, it's just fun to watch The Ox take on three Bombers and then body slam Hird into the turf. Ha ha, what a legend!
Frankly, it's extremely lucky for both Hurley and Hannebery that nothing more serious happened to Hurley than him being badly stunned. It's only pure chance that he didn't end up paralysed in some form - because that's exactly the kind of contact that leads to it. We are (or at least we were) taught from a young age that you can not bump a player, let alone forcefully, in the head while they are bent down to pick up the ball - and I'm staggered that anyone is pretending otherwise. The head has always been at its most sacrosanct in Aussie Rules in that situation. Hannebery had a clear duty of care in this set of circumstances - and he failed it.
Seriously ? You were taught that. Don't say "we" because I was never taught that. More about picking up the ball and getting your backside into your opponent and absorbing the hit. Heard plenty about tucking in the elbow and bumping a player but not "you can not bump a player"
Retrace my posts, i don't think Hanners is a dirty player, by and large he is a ball player, made a big mistake here though, had other options no matter what Longmire says, and he did not use them, he was aware of the situation.
That's a load of crap.
Other than stop, put his hands in the air an allow Hurley to pick up the ball and not contest it, no, he didn't. Or are you suggesting he should've spun or pirouetted?
Also, can we stop calling it a bump? It wasn't a bump. It was a contest, and a collision. There was no effort there to bump or shepherd, the only effort was to win the ball.
His first action was to initiate contact with Hurley and then win the ball, of course it was a bump.