Player Watch Harry DeMattia

Yep.

I can only see a problem with people making an issue out of it. Some people just want to invent problems

People confuse dedication/determination/confidence with arrogance. As they are mostly threatened by a young fella with those attributes, easiest option is chop them down. Classic Aussie mentality

Alternatively, a distrust of self promotion can be borne from personal experience as well as Australian social norms. Those norms are probably out-dated though as society is beginning to embrace a more American attitude towards talking yourself up. Personally, I'd feel more positive about a kid talking up how much he is going to learn rather than talking up how well he's going to teach those around him.

He was referring to his time at his previous club...not at Collingwood.

Ultimately it was a fluff piece It's a bit like pineapple on pizza, some like that flavour of fluff - I'm not a big fan of it. I want different toppings in my fluff pieces.

Personally, I'd feel more positive about a kid talking up how much he is going to learn rather than talking up how well he's going to teach those around him.
SR, I didn’t interpret his comments that way. Rather, I thought he was describing/explaining how he’d gone about his footy up until now, and how he operates. He was talking up his achievements - not suggesting he would be teaching the Pies players anything. That would be ludicrous and an absolute red flag.

The kid is confident and enthusiastic, and long may he stay that way. We certainly don’t need any more Kellys - the opposite in temperament.

SR, I didn’t interpret his comments that way. Rather, I thought he was describing/explaining how he’d gone about his footy up until now, and how he operates. He was talking up his achievements - not suggesting he would be teaching the Pies players anything. That would be ludicrous and an absolute red flag.

The kid is confident and enthusiastic, and long may he stay that way. We certainly don’t need any more Kellys - the opposite in temperament.
I might have jumped the shark with that comment. I'm just being an old fuddy duddy about the new age of self promoting whipper snappers.

Fly heavily promotes and wants all the players to be themselves, yet we are criticising a player for being himself.

Surely we wouldn't want Stephen May being himself if he was a Pie? Everyone be yourself, except for you Stephen - could you try being someone else.

I'm kinda with the fuddy duddies.

Some of what he says about himself gives me the ick.

Don't tell us, show us.

I wish him every possible success, but I get better vibes coming off TJ than Harry so far.

Get a haircut and have a shave, and then prove me wrong mate

I’m a teller, not a shower.

Interesting, never occurred to me.

giphy.gif

I see the off season boredom has kicked in already for some.:p

He might not go on and win the rising star award like a Stephenson but I'm confident he wont devolve into a cashed up bogan with questionable ticker either with the attitude he's already displaying.

Hine has likened this attitude to one of our greatest ever when he first arrived at the club and yet people still want to find fault.

At the end of the day he's just a kid of 18, someone who has excelled in two sports, has a natural confidence and desire to lead and I'm certain the leaders of our club will guide him in the right direction should some words of wisdom ever be required.

If he proves to have enough talent to be AFL relevant then his professional attitude will only aid his ability to reach a standing above that talent grade IMO.

Fingers crossed we got ourselves one of the steals of the draft.

I see the off season boredom has kicked in already for some.:p

He might not go on and win the rising star award like a Stephenson but I'm confident he wont devolve into a cashed up bogan with questionable ticker either with the attitude he's already displaying.

Hine has likened this attitude to one of our greatest ever when he first arrived at the club and yet people still want to find fault.

At the end of the day he's just a kid of 18, someone who has excelled in two sports, has a natural confidence and desire to lead and I'm certain the leaders of our club will guide him in the right direction should some words of wisdom ever be required.

If he proves to have enough talent to be AFL relevant then his professional attitude will only aid his ability to reach a standing above that talent grade IMO.

Fingers crossed we got ourselves one of the steals of the draft.
Looks a good one mate 👍

Player Watch Harry DeMattia