Has Malthouse Been A Failure?

I don't buy into the ageism debate, I'm a Man u fan and well remember the calls for Ferguson's head in the early 0's when things weren't travelling so well. There has been a perception about the Carlton list from outside for a number of years. I'll be as interested as yourself to see if MM can turn it around.

That's a fair call. Really no reason why he can't but interesting that no one seems to end on a great note. That may be of course that the great career coach will never willingly let go and must almost inevitably fail eventually so the age may have nothing much to do with it.

lol we all have short memories in fact selective memory.
i clearly remember mick saying there will be few delistings and trades he wanted to see what the existing group had to offer under him.

id say he now knows what there is to offer and carlton will vigorously participate in f/a trades and the nd.

imo mick has got it right so far.

That's a fair call. Really no reason why he can't but interesting that no one seems to end on a great note. That may be of course that the great career coach will never willingly let go and must almost inevitably fail eventually so the age may have nothing much to do with it.

Of course. He will be judged after his influence on the list. Maybe Buckley will last as long as Mchale. They all need time to answer the question. I don't think the rules manual is reliable personally. Never thought I'd see a Swans flag. Never thought I'd see a Blues spoon. As for the current scandal.. Time will be the judge on the Ratten/Malthouse issue, not BF

Walls is negative but does ask some good questions.

Chief amongst them is the coaching group. Malthouse and Wiley are elderly in coaching terms. Look at all the great modern coaches and you will see they ran out of puff and didn't finish on a successful note. Happens almost without fail. You don't buy Micks previous success by employing him and there is a question as to whether he is past it. At Collingwood he had a progressive group of coaches in waiting pushing the modern limits. Don't see the same types backing him up currently. Interesting to see how it pans out
Whilst being careful not to push them too far :D

lol we all have short memories in fact selective memory.
i clearly remember mick saying there will be few delistings and trades he wanted to see what the existing group had to offer under him.

id say he now knows what there is to offer and carlton will vigorously participate in f/a trades and the nd.

imo mick has got it right so far.
Yep, Mick and Carlton doing brilliantly.

Another decade of mediocrity will make many of us very happy followers of the great game.

Grant Thomas has gone off on one this morning.
Mickey Maltshake is realising he doesn't possess Midas touch. After all I'm sure every coach would deliver premiership if given 30 years!

One thing is certain when Micky starts to wobble players better start preparing cos it won't be his fault. Only success is his fault.

https://twitter.com/Thomo_Grant

Carlton has been a failure, but they were a failure waiting to happen. That list was never going to get them to the top 4. Not in a million years, and certainly not in the next 3.

Of course. He will be judged after his influence on the list. Maybe Buckley will last as long as Mchale. They all need time to answer the question. I don't think the rules manual is reliable personally. Never thought I'd see a Swans flag. Never thought I'd see a Blues spoon. As for the current scandal.. Time will be the judge on the Ratten/Malthouse issue, not BF
Nope, I for one will be judging his time at Carlton solely on the critical reception and sales of Malthouse: A football life since clearly that's the priority.

I've also discovered Michael has his own website where you can book him for public speaking engagements. I've booked him for 5 days of sausage sizzle madness right through this years trade week.

Seems like a back peddle. If it's based on how he deals with the list then why was Ratten sacked and not given another year on his contract?

Grant Thomas has gone off on one this morning.

https://twitter.com/Thomo_Grant

Both statements are bang on the money.

Edit:
Actually, there are probably several coaches that couldn't deliver a premiership if given 30 years, Thomas being one of them, Shaw, Schwab, Judge and Watson being other obvious ones, plus that Melbourne guy that just got sacked, forgotten his name already.

Seems like a back peddle. If it's based on how he deals with the list then why was Ratten sacked and not given another year on his contract?

Well I guess the board felt the time was right. I'm not sure why so many from outside Carlton are now rating the list above where it currently sits. Hawthorn supporters have been talking us down for years, yet you now want to blame Malthouse?

Nope, I for one will be judging his time at Carlton solely on the critical reception and sales of Malthouse: A football life since clearly that's the priority.

I've also discovered Michael has his own website where you can book him for public speaking engagements. I've booked him for 5 days of sausage sizzle madness right through this years trade week.

Unfortunately much of the book is ruined with reference to Collingwood. The sausage sizzle sounds awesome, I'll bring some beers and a ruckman.

Well I guess the board felt the time was right. I'm not sure why so many from outside Carlton are now rating the list above where it currently sits. Hawthorn supporters have been talking us down for years, yet you now want to blame Malthouse?

Unfortunately much of the book is ruined with reference to Collingwood. The sausage sizzle sounds awesome, I'll bring some beers and a ruckman.

Just the beers thanks, we now have a ruckman!:)

:) Yeah he looks good Reg, Carlton Draught or Cold?

I'm a Pieman, give me a bogan VB thanks mate!;)
Shintaro is looking the goods ATM though, finally we may have a bloody ruckmen since Jolls good half a season in 2010 before that Monkey.:eek:

Definitely not a failure. Was always going to take time for them to adapt to a new gameplan and despite the losses they're starting to play really good footy. Love that he's taken Gibbs out of the back pocket and put him in the centre. They'll be in the mix next year in my opinion

Trouble is Mick's in a spot where his new boss' expect him to be a miracle man. But he's not. Ratten 's situation was like Voss' is now. A club jumping the gun, when another season or two from either of those former senior coaches would have proved their worth.

Why is Roos so worshipped, he had the AFL right behind him and a quality recruitment scheme with tons of money for living in Sydney ,, ha ha not..
He's indecisive as to what he wants to do, just dump the idea and give it to someone who really knows what they want.

Actually Voss should have stayed where he was, as usual idiots in Admin think they know the footy side of things better than anyone else, hence hasty stupid decisions.
But everyone is looking for a quick fix.
Any way tough luck, we've got Ratten now !

Watched the game against Richmond today.

Carlton won, but sympathize with Mick on their list. Yarran, a deadset coach-killer.

...with tons of money for living in Sydney...
Come and live in Sydney and see how you go.

Eddie McGuire couldn't get back to Melbourne quick enough.

Come to Sydney and rent a property in Randwick, Coogee or Bondi, and then tell me about the '..tons of money for living in Sydney..'.

come and live in perth and see how you go.most cant get out quick enough.
come to perth and get a property in mosman park or peppermint grove or many of the very expensive suburbs surrounding perth then tell me about the tons of money for living in perth that isnt forth coming.

ya know what i bet we could do this little exercise in most states

so lets see. the average income for a afl player is about what 320k plus. so i buy a house in an expensive suburb, i sure can afford it. but when i go to sell holy cow batman i make a shedload of money because those expensive areas in all states historically grow in value no matter the financial climate.

we all know your swans get a massive unfair advantage . the only ones who deny this are the recipients of such a huge advantage.

Disappointing to see MM using the Essendon peptide saga as a deflection for Carlton's miserable 2013 results. It's just so blatant and people are going to end up thinking less of him for it imo

He makes comments because he gets asked about it, and I suppose they ask him because they know he's not just gonna regurgitate the same old cliches. Hardly using it as a deflection, he's been pretty upfront in all the post-games in saying that we simply weren't hungry/good enough.

If MM was at Collingwood, Pies would be a genuine top 4 threat. Pies list far better. But I expect to see Carlton and Collingwood last no more than 1 week of finals. Pies need MM and Blues need better players.
It's simple.

If MM was at Collingwood, Pies would be a genuine top 4 threat. Pies list far better. But I expect to see Carlton and Collingwood last no more than 1 week of finals. Pies need MM and Blues need better players.
It's simple.

How a midfield of Collingwoods calibre gets beaten by a slow=paced Hawthorn midfield is beyond me.

It's simple.

Since Malthouse has left we have discovered a couple of young ruckmen. Very exciting times

It's simple.
odds are one of us comes up against Essendon first week of finals so totally miffed as to why you'd think we'd go out in week 1

Can I live at your house. You have to buy the beer though.