Roast Has Opening Round been totally botched?

It annoys me when people say this, especially footy fans that should know better.

It's no different to a marvel stadium sellout only getting 42k, afl clubs have members that buy a seasoned reserved seat for about $700, the majority don't show up to all games. In fact, in my 11 game membership, I only get to about 7 of those games each year.

Just because s**t sports with no members that barely ever get sellouts themselves have every seat full (in their once a year sellout game) doesn't mean afl games do with the reserved seat ticketed members pouring millions into the clubs each year.

Is every seat in the stadium paid for and sold - yes! That's a sellout.

I do agree the AFL need a mandated buy back scheme that actually works though. It's locking people out that would like to go.
It's shocking that so many footy fans don't understand the concept of reserved seat holders not showing up (particularly on a Thursday night) and that affecting the final crowd number. Did the SCG game sell out? Yes. Did all the reserved ticket holders show up? No.

For the record, the Gold Coast v Richmond game IS sold out. We'll see how many reserved ticket holders show up.

Apart from the absolute nonsense that Carlton and Richmond have to be the opening game of Round 1 (that nobody other than Carlton or Richmond supporters seem to think it's important), why can't we have this weekend be a showcase in the northern states AND be a round where everyone is playing?

Like, you could do primetime Thursday, Friday and Saturday night games in NSW / QLD and still have the other spots be filled with the other teams, particularly given its a long weekend in a few states so you could utilise Sunday night and even Monday games.

I think the idea of giving the big focus to the rugby states is cool but I agree as a fan of a team not playing it's a bit of a soft start.

Apart from the absolute nonsense that Carlton and Richmond have to be the opening game of Round 1 (that nobody other than Carlton or Richmond supporters seem to think it's important), why can't we have this weekend be a showcase in the northern states AND be a round where everyone is playing?
Any game being played in any other state other than QLD and NSW is diluting the attention on QLD and NSW.

That's true and a fair enough point. Would it matter to the QLD / NSW based casuals that the AFL is trying to grab the attention of with this though? Maybe, I'm really not sure.

This round has been great. All three games so far have been interesting in their own ways, with plenty to talk about with all three.
I reckon, whether you like the idea of only having a few games or not, that this is the key to a good opening to the season. Other years, we've started the season with Carlton and Richmond, which gets a big crowd and big tv ratings I know, and that's great if you're a supporter of those teams or an AFL / Channel 7 accountant, but for neutral footy fans there's been very few years where the two teams have felt like they'd be an interesting contest. I don't know the stats but I feel like the Friday is typically Collingwood vs some Vic team too, regardless of whether that looks as an interesting match up.

Whereas this year we've got two rematches of absolute ripper prelims with teams that should all contend this season. Chuck in two admittedly quite manufactured "grudge matches" and there's a reason for me, as a neutral, to try and watch them all. I think this has been a big reason why it's been refreshing.

If this round keeps happening and we keep getting Sydney v Melbourne as an opener it's going to get stale quick, but if the AFL selects their openers as high interest games every year it feels like a winner that should be successful.

You would have to have waited another week anyway
Yeah but it just feels a bit disjointed to me. Can't imagine being a fan of one of the teams not playing this week, feel like it would suck. It's also bias but not being able to pack out the G to start off our season just feels shithouse.

Overall just not a fan of it, would much prefer a 2nd Gather Round. Really loved how that was set up in Adelaide last year and would give me a good reason to travel interstate more often.

I feel like this thread did not age well. 4 games and all four were interesting in their own way, all four having plenty to talk about.

Sydney vs Melbourne = Are Sydney the real deal? Is Melbourne in trouble?

Brisbane vs Carlton = Can Carlton be a contender this year?

Gold Coast vs Richmond = Hardwicks win against Richmond, can Gold Coat make the leap to make the 8, what does this loss mean for Richmond?

GWS vs Collingwood = Is there a Collingwood premiership hangover? Can GWS win the flag?

The Gold Coast crowd of 22,086 was their highest ever at home against Richmond.

And interestingly, the Suns had not broken a crowd record against an opponent since 2014 (not counting the 2018 Freo ‘home’ game at Optus). The Hardwick effect helps, but having the clear air and focus as a marquee game has been the main reason for this success.

IMG_8992.jpeg

There are 3-5 opportunities for the Suns to break more crowd records this year using the momentum that Opening Round has given us. It’s been massive.

Roast Has Opening Round been totally botched?