Mod. Notice Have your say

Which best describes the state of the BigFooty Geelong Board?

• The board is working very well

Votes: 42 60.9%
  • The board is okay, but requires some improvement

Votes: 20 29.0%
  • The board is a mess

Votes: 7 10.1%

I passed it,thanks to SJ banning me recently for a joke about a certain Aussie entertainer recently jailed,but sucked up to get back on.
I've been a good boy since my return [everybody stop laughing]

Now this i find amusing!

how about we keep this on topic
you can send him a private love message
I for one did not like CF as a mod
but it is not relevant to this thread
I'm not going to let this go unchallenged. I would like to highlight it as an example of the unfairness and inconsistency of this board. Something that really cheeses me off.

Firstly, there are over 10 off topic posts on the first page. Go and count them. You even posted your initial post there but didn't notice the OT posts... strangely. And nobody else commented on any of the OT stuff there- because the rest of the on-topic posts just flowed around and over them and some of us even had a bit of a chuckle about dazbroncos being a frog, or whatever. That's the beauty of people's individuality- some are funny and witty, some have dry humour, some don't like to join in but skip over the OT posts without complaining- or they have their say here. IF it does get too much, then people do comment on it and everything gets back on track. We shouldn't need to complain to mods about it. For instance- one of the recent preview threads ran about 4 pages worth of music comments, including youtube clips being posted- and nothing was said for the first 3 pages.... and one of the offenders was a serial complainer about off-topic posts! :confused::eek: So, sometimes it's OK- but other times it isn't- to an extent that a couple of us have been warned by a super mod to stop posting off topic stuff? wtf?

Secondly- there has been much fuss made of people - well, a certain poster- posting too many memes and emoticons in a thread. As soon as this person posts one, they are jumped on and told to stop putting them up. However, in the same thread, there might be another dozen memes or emoticon-laden posts that go unremarked. Another example of the inconsistency of some posters- who are doing all the complaining and bullying.

I have put one particular vindictive spiteful poster on ignore- and that lightened the board up immediately for me. I was then not subjected to reading posts that were merely nasty derogatory put downs- such as "your post is shit" or "that's bullshit" or "what a crap post", without any constructive comment following. That is bullying- and is apparently acceptable here.

As Kitty has mentioned, there are posters who always play the man, not the ball. These are the posters who put people off from joining in and posting their opinions - for fear of being belittled or having their post highlighted as an object of ridicule. I have been fortunate in receiving support from so many wonderful posters - if I post something that isn't correct, they point it out without a big fuss or laughing at what I might have said. Several have even sent a PM, rather than make me look silly in a thread, so I can quickly go and fix my mistake. It doesn't hurt to be nice to people- and we all know it takes more muscles to frown, than to smile. And, as winty said on the weekend- if you haven't got anything nice to say, don't say anything at all.

Overall, I reckon the board is in good hands, apart from the points mentioned above. When the bullying goes away, it will be even better.

the great part of the geelong board is that everyone now has a voice, this was not the case prior
there does not appear to be favouritism
ill bite - cant win either way
not here to police others
just thought I could pose a contrary view - no need to sook it off

board is in good shape
Sook?? Don't make Kitty out to be a sook here. She did absolutely nothing wrong.
And there DOES appear to be favouritism- your post was a great example of the flip side.

This isn't something for the mods to fix, probably the admin guys.

When using tapatalk to view bigfooty , ignored members content shows up.

Found this out as I only have 1 geelong member on ignore and yet I still see his comments through tapatalk.

Point being that it's actually impossible to ignore posters if you use tapatalk like I do
OK, so there is a site issue that could be addressed but people displaying a little tolerance and maturity wouldn't hurt either.

Accept that threads will go off-topic. If it is going on for too long or you don't like the direction it is headed then step-up and take responsibility to bring it back on topic. And learn to skim a bit more.

If you are a poster who tends to go off on a tangent (*Puts up his hand*) be a little be more self aware and try and control it. Be aware that there are posters who aren't interested in what you're having for dinner or how those big stone heads were moved around on Easter Island. Learn some restraint.

Us "off-topic" types need to remember the Main Board is a footy board. Always good to keep that in mind when posting.

the great part of the geelong board is that everyone now has a voice, this was not the case prior
there does not appear to be favouritism
ill bite - cant win either way
not here to police others
just thought I could pose a contrary view - no need to sook it off

board is in good shape
+ yet you did! + yet you accuse me of sooking! + yet you then sook "can't win either way" when I offered a different opinion. I simply stated I thought there was a double standard at play, + I prefer people who complain, to at the very least be consistent. Also, I am of the belief that if you dish it out, you have to hack it when it is dished back.
I see the Board differently to you, + to be very clear _Me_ that does not mean that I think I am right + you are wrong. We have different opinions + as I respected your opinion, I deleted my comment + for me that was the end of it. However, you chose to continue it + therefore I responded. + for the record, I'm not hurt or angry, I'm simply stating my opinion. I don't hold grudges + I enjoy your comments on this board. But if I feel put upon I will speak up, then move on :) + I hope we may return to a more friendly exchange in future, now that we have this off our chests :)

To return to the topic

One of the wonderful parts of this Board is that on the whole, people can have different opinions, without getting personal. I've always thought that everyone had a voice on the Geelong board. I enjoy the variety + diversity of our Geelong peeps + on the whole those who post are intelligent, entertaining, passionate, knowledgeable, entertaining, interesting + just a great bunch of people. I also like the way our Mods interact with everyone. I think there is a great camaraderie + we enjoy some terrific discussions + banter.

What I don't like is inconsistency, double standards + now it has been raised the bullying by a few, who victimise those they don't like, but don't complain when others are guilty of the same infractions! Mostly, their complaints are petty + mean-spirited, with their only purpose to attack people they don't like + often they are guilty of doing exactly what they complain about.

+ now _Me_ that you have started me off on what I don't like, which I may not have voiced in more depth -

It is unfair + unacceptable for people to impose their personal will on the Board. More specifically, I refer to those who continually complain if the footy threads are not 100% footy topics only relating to that particular game. There are some in that category who can be intolerable with their arrogance, arguing + belittling other people's posts. So I believe, in addition to the Mods asking us what needs to improve or change, it would be constructive to reflect on what we as contributors can offer to improve + change in our behaviour, which may ease the Mods less favourite roles. For me that is to ask for a little more tolerance, respect + patience towards one another.

What I think, is that everyone has the right to express their opinion + an expectation to be afforded respect. There are times when some people attack others + say "That's just sh!t!" + this again, stems from people's double standards, inconsistencies + bad manners. There is nothing wrong with disagreeing when a reason is offered + an objective, rational + friendly discussion results. I think most of the negative issues result from people playing the man, not the ball. Recognise that if there is something you don't like about someone else, you can be assured there are probably ten people who may not like things about you, but they don't savage you for being you.

We are all different, so let's enjoy the diversity + after all -

We are Geelong!

overall bigfooty seems to have matured which is a good and bad thing
a lot of the humour is gone
the bay is simply bad - where there were good times there
and the number of people cracking a gag at spelling and grammar is ridiculous

however I think our board is better than 90% of them
Essendon is a prime example of brainwashing
I totally agree with you there _Me_

There seems to be a predominance of those imposing their will that footy threads have to be totally serious. It becomes a total snooze if it is. I do enjoy the fun + we have have some absolute masters of the very witty one liners. + I do agree that off topic shouldn't go for pages, but wish those who complain about it, often go off topic too! lol

OK, so there is a site issue that could be addressed but people displaying a little tolerance and maturity wouldn't hurt either.

Accept that threads will go off-topic. If it is going on for too long or you don't like the direction it is headed then step-up and take responsibility to bring it back on topic. And learn to skim a bit more.

If you are a poster who tends to go off on a tangent (*Puts up his hand*) be a little be more self aware and try and control it. Be aware that there are posters who aren't interested in what you're having for dinner or how those big stone heads were moved around on Easter Island. Learn some restraint.
I'm not complaining.

I only have the one poster on ignore as he continued to play the man in the SJ tribunal thread (even though my opinion was shared by many others).

There's only one thread I go off topic generally, the general afl discussion thread. Like Sunday 4am had a fleeting discussion with manboob about epl (don't like the soccer board personally) but at 4am who else is going to be reading?.

It's not just off topic discussion that can be hard to read imo, circling on topic arguments are just as tiresome. Like the Varcoe debate and subsequent meltdown.

I have noticed some go off topic (raises hand) to try and bring a bit of lighthearted humour. Everyone could use a bit of lightening up imo... In the words of Heath Ledger (R.I.P) as the joker.... why so serious?

quoted
for the continuous off topic posts - derailing of this thread

Mods
this strengthens my case
that threads should be removed of bullying and derailing, try to keep posters on topic and this results
keep on topic
or continue with your daily irrelevant posts elsewhere
We have been nothing but polite. I suggest you stop bullying us- in fact you were the one who started the bullying about 'off topic' posts.

I'm not complaining.
I don't use the ignore function, noone on here annoys me enough to use it (plus I think people are entitled voice their opinion no matter how much I might disagree with it).

But it seems there are some who want/need to use it. If it doesn't do as advertised then it needs to be addressed as it would sort out a few problems I think.

I didn't mean to imply you were complaining (if that's how it came across).

However, as someone who doesn't have much trouble skipping over trolling opposition supporters, glittering unicorns or circular arguments I'm surprised others struggle with it.

But everyone is different.

If the IGNORE function helps make this board more enjoyable for everyone then let's try and get it doing what it (I assume) is supposed to.

keep on topic
or continue with your daily irrelevant posts elsewhere
In the OP from SJ:

"Anything is fair game"

That says to me this thread is open to discussing anything ergo there can be no off topic posts in this thread as anything goes.

off topic
this rant is tantamount to bullying
off topic personal continues
so you claim one thing and bhave in another manner
your posts and bullying is exactly the issue with the geelong board
people need to stay on topic
this rant is a great example of bullying
Now I can't tell if you are serious or taking the p!ss.

Hunni, you started this + you continue it! I stick by my previous comment that if you dish it out you have to be able to hack it when it is dished back!

Seriously though, let's look at this factually:
- You attacked me for going off topic, but made no complaint about others who went off topic.
- I deleted the post, out of respect for your opinion, which I may not have agreed with. I then offered a reasonable + rational response + you accused me of sooking, then you sook!
- You say I am being personal? What exactly have your comments been throughout this? I'm simply responding, it is you who is derailing the thread by continuing this exchange, when I made it quite evident it was time to move on.
- Now you accuse me of bullying when you dished it out in the first place! Am I not allowed to respond to you calling me out? Am I expected to just suck it up because you don't like something I did, but it's OK that others went off topic?
- I offered a conciliatory post, but you choose to continue on the attack.

Seems pretty clear who the bully is here + it's not me.

I tried to have a frank + honest exchange. I'm done. I'm out! I'm moving on + I really don't care what you think now :)

Cheers + best wishes to you _Me_ :)

I'm not complaining.

I only have the one poster on ignore as he continued to play the man in the SJ tribunal thread (even though my opinion was shared by many others).

There's only one thread I go off topic generally, the general afl discussion thread. Like Sunday 4am had a fleeting discussion with manboob about epl (don't like the soccer board personally) but at 4am who else is going to be reading?.

It's not just off topic discussion that can be hard to read imo, circling on topic arguments are just as tiresome. Like the Varcoe debate and subsequent meltdown.

I have noticed some go off topic (raises hand) to try and bring a bit of lighthearted humour. Everyone could use a bit of lightening up imo... In the words of Heath Ledger (R.I.P) as the joker.... why so serious?
I thought that like the Opposition thread, a bit of 'general' discussion was acceptable, no ???

I agree that some light-heartedness is a welcome relief at times.

My comments were removed by someone?....2 posts, and the old control freak JubJub and associates were involved, ...it's all so biased and bigoted no flammin' doubts!

The board at present sucks!

I thought that like the Opposition thread, a bit of 'general' discussion was acceptable, no ???

I agree that some light-heartedness is a welcome relief at times.
Thread title is: 2014 non geelong AFL match and general discussion.

Personally I'd take that to mean discussing all things afl related that doesn't include geelong

lol
"hunni" not sure that language is appropriate
the bullying is clear and evident
all I did was merely make a comment and then 2 chicks came out of the blue - all wonder women like
your posts are full of vitriol and are off topic
shame you feel like you a minority group

anyway you must have washing to do - so be a good lass
That last bit is quite sexist, and frankly is ****ing unacceptable.