Autopsy Hawks vs Freo - wring out your thoughts here

Exactly.

Everyone is a product of their past, and his past is ORDINARY CULTURE, and it shone through tonight.

What a game! Red hot, so many selfless and team oriented acts....

Man, that Puopolo is a ripper....
the poppy did play a ripper tonight will be a longtime servant to the hawks outfit dont woory about that
i may be a bit biased here as he is close friend of mine but as a 11 gamer
for the hawks dosent look like he is going to give his spot away to easy
that i can tell you

the poppy did play a ripper tonight will be a longtime servant to the hawks outfit dont woory about that
i may be a bit biased here as he is close friend of mine but as a 11 gamer
for the hawks dosent look like he is going to give his spot away to easy
that i can tell you

spot on. up until the last couple of weeks he has looked gritty and tenacious. now he's gone even further and added some polish. absolutely LOVE his effort. and that tackle on ballantyne was pretty decent too!

Great game tonight by the hawks outplayed us on all levels.

Quick question, what's the deal with Buddy he really didn't look right tonight, gave off a lot of handballs, didn't seem to kick anymore than 20m and played very close to goal?

Great game tonight by the hawks outplayed us on all levels.

Quick question, what's the deal with Buddy he really didn't look right tonight, gave off a lot of handballs, didn't seem to kick anymore than 20m and played very close to goal?

:confused: Played his decoy role to perfection.

Great win.

Both sides knew the rain was on its way and both would have known a strong start would be invaluable. I reckon Harvey was just very frustrated with the smashing they got in the first quarter when he made those dumb comments.

Was the umpiring really that bad compared to what we usually see? I don't like seeing soft frees and there were a few of those. I also agree we weren't paid a few that were probably there. And a couple of HTBs that would have been there last year. But I thought the Mitchell deliberate free was there. Knew it before the whistle went. Lewis holding Pav's arm. There. Ladson holding the ball in, Murphy chopping arms, Hale blocking, all there. We give away a few free kicks guys.

Again, great win.

4 points and no injuries. Yippee.

Btw Shiels had 14 possessions and 7 clearances. When he plays inside he gets good first hands on the ball.

Rioli is amazing. Apparently a quiet night yet he still ends up with the most goals contributed on the ground. 2 goals and 2 goal assists.

^ .... with you all the way 'Hodgepodge'. :)

Buddy did cop a corkie in the opening couple of minutes so perhaps it was too sore to kick long on his peg? Not bothered with his 0 goals, he still racked up possessions and did some good things in the middle and up forward for us

It's a bit hard for Buddy with 3 players surrounding him, add to that Silvagni brutally hanging off him at all time whilst going unpunished.

If that was Cloke, he'd have got 8+ frees and kicked a few more than that also.

Despite being an ordinary night for Budwah, he did have 19 touches, 10 contested.

Some players just have a higher bar to jump over.

Great win, dominated and never looked in doubt, CH 10 was painful to listen too, no credit for our boys, wanted to talk about Fyfe all night, didnt mention who was subbed off for Laddo, LLoyd's disdain for us glaring, went to great lengths to pick holes in us (short backs, vunreable against North next week etc..) Quaters over compinsating , very poor coverage. Bring on the Roos

great win by the boys , very trying conditions , love beating freo on any day but over their and damaging their finals hopes was even better . i thought everyone did a good job last night , they had to and they did .
how much did that weather suit out tough nuts in poppy , goo , mitch , sewell and lewy.
thought hale did a good job and hope he is fired to play north next week .
well done boys , to come away with a win was great but to have a 9 goal percentage booster in those conditions was fantastic !
agree with above post , cant bloody stand walls , quaters and lloyd. rather listen to macavaney and thats saying something .

Would I sit in the rain and watch that performance again, damn right I would! Was stoked to see the Hawks in person for the first time this year and boy was it worth the wait!

On fire in the first quarter which set the game up, from there it was always going to end up with a Hawthorn victory and although it got a bit scrappy due to the conditions, at least the beer was tasting good! :)

Everyone contributed in their own way tonight which was great to see however I thought Sewell and Mitchell were fantastic and Gibbo and Rolls had fantastic games down back!

Was a must win game for top 3 and we certainly delivered so well done boys! :thumbsu:

Now there's a true Hawk:thumbsu:

I was very pleased with Hale (3 goals in conditions difficult for big men), Puopolo and Ellis who all contributed solidly. Mitchell, Sewell and Lewis were outstanding in conditions to which they are well suited.
A win interstate against a top 8 team is always a good effort.

Great win.

Both sides knew the rain was on its way and both would have known a strong start would be invaluable. I reckon Harvey was just very frustrated with the smashing they got in the first quarter when he made those dumb comments.

Was the umpiring really that bad compared to what we usually see? I don't like seeing soft frees and there were a few of those. I also agree we weren't paid a few that were probably there. And a couple of HTBs that would have been there last year. But I thought the Mitchell deliberate free was there. Knew it before the whistle went. Lewis holding Pav's arm. There. Ladson holding the ball in, Murphy chopping arms, Hale blocking, all there. We give away a few free kicks guys.

Again, great win.

Whirling,

There is no disputing those. What people are complaining about is the stuff that doesnt go both ways. Bud was held as many time as you would like to count, no frees. Yet the moment he grapples with Main in a contest, he is pinged.
Freo get that stupid deliberate decission but there were many very similar incidents with the wet slipper ball all night.
There were several frees against us for "long" tackles after the Free player had dropped/disposed of the ball, I saw about three where the Hawks boys were slung after disposal, no free, not to mention several very hot HTB. It goes on and on and on, we were rogered by the umpires last night.

Nine, nine free kicks, it was a biased and disgraceful performance and I hope they get taken to account for it.

Harvey's whinge has been commented upon. His big success for the night was Silvagni keeping Buddy quite, Harvey's problem stems from the fact that we have 21 other blokes he did nothing about Bwahhhaa!

Another great team effort for a fantastic result.

Regardless of the players missing for Fremantle, we still had a job to do. And it was done superbly.

Special mention to Hale, Pups and Smith. Great work. Keep it up.

I still Believe. Go Hawks.

Team seems to have gone to a new level since the break. Very methodical and precise. The structures to keep the ball in our half of the ground and pressure from the players has been second to none. AC seemed to have the glow of a new father during the interview after the game.

Have also noticed that Buddy is looking to hand the ball off much more in his past couple of games. Having said that Silvagni played in front and played well in the conditions. Having said that Buddy didn't exactly go missing as has already been noted.

Great win, would have jumped at a 9 goal win in those conditions before the bounce. Another solid 22 man team effort just like the week before, good signs for our footy club.

Would like to mention Grant Birchall, who I thought played another fantastic game to go with his stellar season. Massive part of our resurgence, loving the Birch who has shut a few people up this season.

Sewell - gun.

What a disgraceful umpiring from those idiots on the ground. The worst umpiring I can remember, the freo could do anything, push in the back, chop the arms,jump on the backs, in fact I, the umpire, will allow the freo players to do anything they want!!!
Shocking, shocking, shocking...it was a shocker the umpires... One wonders what the umpires receive for turning up, NOT umpiring fairly, in fact they can't umpire..

that play early-ish in the game, scrappy ball on their hff, x slides in on the knees and spits out a wicked 20m jet hb, which gets worked down the wing (great draw and hands from cyril) then thr goal from oz?

in the wet, slippery ball.............love it

Autopsy Hawks vs Freo - wring out your thoughts here