Autopsy Hawks vs Port featuring the Great Escape

Congratulations guys, it's 1am and I'm still gutted with what could have been, hoping we can bounce back bigger and better and hoping you guys go on and beat those COLA pricks

Thanks legend!! We as supporters of the Hawks, as a collective HATE the COLA $wans.. It'd be a day of ages if we can get past the cheats.

We are in the grand final. After everything that has been thrown at us this year that is a remarkable effort. Just need to beat those spoon fed COLA pricks for the most famous of premierships.

It is footballs ultimate first world problem to complain about these pesky close prelim finals!

We started poorly and finished worse but in between we played terrific footy and really had the game almost won with 10 minutes left. Just needed one more goal. But prelim finals are dangerous. We knew what awaited the winner and didn't want to spend all the tickets and Port knew they were probably gone and took every risk and played some extraordinary late footy. We didn't run out off legs, we just didn't finish them off when we should have and started to look to next week too early.

Lucky not to blow it but our midfield through the middle of the game was excellent.

Clarko got the lineup wrong playing Spangher and Lewis being subbed off hurt. Hinkley made a brilliant tactical move after that subbing Trengrove off and backing their run and that Spangher and Ceglar would not hurt them. He was right. Spang should not have played last night but he should play against Sydney.

Ceglar and Hale failed to take contested marks all night. Mcevoy in the frame if he plays well today. Rioli plays if he gets through it, Suckling goes out for mine. Obviously hope like crazy that Lewis is ok but Sewell the obvious replacement if not.

Only other change would be if they decide to play rioli as sub then maybe Sewell comes in for Simpkin also. Who knows? It is a credit to our depth. Tough week at selection table. Will be some very good unlucky players.

What did everyone think of the Langford/Boak match up

Break even. And that's all we can ask for. Tbh I don't see Langford as a tagger, every time he plays it's like he's getting closer to JK.

I think long term he will be the anchor for our midfield, he won't be tagging.

What did everyone think of the Langford/Boak match up
Boak is an out and out star. Langers went head to head with him in the second half and broke even. This is after keeping our midfield in the game in the first half.

People keep telling me Shiels played a good game. I must have been too focused on Langers because I barely noticed Shiels.

Who played on Mitchell? I thought he was well beaten too.

Morning after and my overwhelming feeling is one of pride in our great club. We stood up in a classic encounter against a truly worthy opponent and prevailed.
I'm looking forward to next week with great expectation hoping beyond all hope that we write another glorious chapter in our history, whilst doing every true footy fan a favour by showing that money doesn't buy you respect and hopefully it doesn't buy you premierships.
It can buy you a forward line and a marketing company to come up with blood$ culture

The atmosphere after the game during the long walk back to Flinders street was subdued, to say the least! That was one of the hardest wins I've watched. F*ck Clarko, saying all our prelims are decided by a few points! Couldn't he give us a break just once?

My first thoughts were that we have no chance next Saturday, but that's hopefully just the downer you get when you come off an adrenalin high. The one thing that drives me is the thought of denying Buddy & the CoLA billionaires another tainted premiership. The stakes are high. I hope Clarko and the boys have something up their collective sleeve.

Boak is an out and out star. Langers went head to head with him in the second half and broke even. This is after keeping our midfield in the game in the first half.

People keep telling me Shiels played a good game. I must have been too focused on Langers because I barely noticed Shiels.

Harsh on Mitchell mate. 28 disposals (with quite a number of clearances) and 8 tackles. Got caught once holding the ball when he should've kicked it long but other than that he showed his usual composure under pressure. I'd be happy with that again next week.

Hard to tell on tv but I think Shiels was playing a run with role. Other than Gray (and Boak in the first half), none of the other Port mids really got off the chain and Shiels was always at the bottom of the pack doing the tough stuff.

Morning after and my overwhelming feeling is one of pride in our great club. We stood up in a classic encounter against a truly worthy opponent and prevailed.
I'm looking forward to next week with great expectation hoping beyond all hope that we write another glorious chapter in our history, whilst doing every true footy fan a favour by showing that money doesn't buy you respect and hopefully it doesn't buy you premierships.
It's the AFL's own sponsered team. Its going to be tough. But we have overcome so much this year, let's have a crack at it! We had very little chance in 2008 either ;-)

Hard to tell on tv but I think Shiels was playing a run with role. Other than Gray (and Boak in the first half), none of the other Port mids really got off the chain and Shiels was always at the bottom of the pack doing the tough stuff.
Did he get a broken nose or just a blood nose?

Boak was good for us, he got spanked by Crowley last week in Perth, but you guys got a real find in that Langford kid. I don't think he'll be doing tagging duties for too much longer if he keeps playing like that.
It was one of those 'attacking' tags. Boak was awesome but I think Langford led the match for clearances.

Boak was good for us, he got spanked by Crowley last week in Perth, but you guys got a real find in that Langford kid. I don't think he'll be doing tagging duties for too much longer if he keeps playing like that.

Langford wasn't tagging Boak last night. They were going head to head. Both were extremely important to the way their respective sides played. For mine, Boak had the better of the contest as Langford's skills isn't at Boak's level (it would be amazing if it were, as Langford trails Boak's experience by about 100 games).

It was an amazing show of faith from both coaches that they didn't blink and shift their run-with player (Shiels for Hawthorn, who was minding Hartlett, and Cornes for Port) to Langford or Boak, respectively.

Shiels was running with Hartlett.

We were rotten and Port were very brave.

We will beat Sydney if we get back to somewhere near our best but what we delivered yesterday will not be anywhere near good enough.

Hawthorn's best is unbeatable, despite what the sooking Port fans and COLA flogs will tell you.

That first quarter was dead set abominable and we should have been five goals down at quarter time. Credit should go to Port obviously as they killed us at the coal face over an over. I don't know what the contested possession numbers were during that stanza but I wouldn't be surprised if they had doubled us.

And the end was a disgrace. Nothing short. Panic everywhere.

Autopsy Hawks vs Port featuring the Great Escape