Autopsy Hawks vs The Pusscats

Apparently some Hawthorn players had a bit of banter revolving around Mitch Clark's mental illness, bloody poor form if true.

Torn about this. Get that it's a sensitive issue and certainly can have serous ramifications, but then again if he's on the field your fair game.

Be interesting if it's about the mental illness or shafting Melbourne. Former probably off limits, latter not so much

Apparently some Hawthorn players had a bit of banter revolving around Mitch Clark's mental illness, bloody poor form if true.
I don't have too much of an issue with it. Yes, he had depression, but when he put his hand up to return to football and leave Melbourne, then he has to expect that not everyone is going to be supportive.

He's obviously in an ok place now, and for all we know the comments could've been anything from "gee that scoreboard is looking a little depressing, Mitch" while kicking for goal, to "go easy on the goals boys, we don't want to make Mitch go to his sad place".

In the scheme of things, it's nothing worse than what he's going to hear over the boundary line.

Torn about this. Get that it's a sensitive issue and certainly can have serous ramifications, but then again if he's on the field your fair game.

Be interesting if it's about the mental illness or shafting Melbourne. Former probably off limits, latter not so much
And Frawley was in there too, having a say.

Mental health is out of bounds IMO but in saying that he deserves a whack based on his decision not to return to the club that supported his decision to walk away from the game by terminating his contract only to return 12 months later at another club.

I don't have too much of an issue with it. Yes, he had depression, but when he put his hand up to return to football and leave Melbourne, then he has to expect that not everyone is going to be supportive.

He's obviously in an ok place now, and for all we know the comments could've been anything from "gee that scoreboard is looking a little depressing, Mitch" while kicking for goal, to "go easy on the goals boys, we don't want to make Mitch go to his sad place".

In the scheme of things, it's nothing worse than what he's going to hear over the boundary line.
Still doesn't make it right, does it? I'd be disappointed if a Hawk's supporter was making fun of this but couldn't believe a player would be dumb enough to make a comment.

Depression is a terrible thing. I for one wouldn't like it used as a sledge.

What was the total winning margin during the Kennett Curse streak and have we now made up for that? Any of you stats junkies care to answer please?

In home and away matches alone, the last behind we kicked on monday put us ahead.

84 points total margin in favour of Geelong, and 85 points in favour of the hawks (in only two matches)
Finals has us ahead by 8 points. Totasl winning margin forthe cats 31 points and total for the hawks 39.

Giving us an overall 9 point advantage since the Kennet curse began. (this does not include the 2008 GF)

Over the entire history we are still beehind though 13906 against 14555.

We should kick out 2000th goal against geelong the next time we play (we need 13)

Still doesn't make it right, does it? I'd be disappointed if a Hawk's supporter was making fun of this but couldn't believe a player would be dumb enough to make a comment.
I don't really see an issue with it when he's fit and well enough to land at the Cats. I'm sure that wasn't lost on Frawley or the other Dees.

Having depression has nothing to do with wanting to leave melbourne FC. He had depression sold his soul to join melbourne then worked out it wouldn't help to have lots of moolah so he sold his soul a 2nd time. James may have just indicated to him that depression is like a big hole and now he plays for it.

I'm not in agreeance with The Mitch Clarke sledge. Say he had cancer and came back from it would it be acceptable for players to have a dig at him for having cancer? Would it have been acceptable for players to make fun of and call Jason McCartney names after being burnt in the Bali bombings? Or how about hanging it on Port players for their team mate John McCArthy dying on an end of season trip? Or ribbing Melbourne players about Jim Stynes or Troy Broadbridge? Would be ok in society to make fun of some-one mentally handicapped? I think not.

It has been established now that footballers are suppose to be role models. Hence the stance on drugs and illicit drugs especially. They should be smart enough to know that there is a line and I for one am very disappointed that a player or players at Hawthorn have lowered themselves to this low form of unsportmans like behaviour.

I hope Clarko finds the culprit(s) and makes them do some community service work with some mentally ill people to highlight the real issues people face.

1 in 6 people on earth will experience some form of depression during their life-time. That's a billion people world wide. Not so amusing and subject to ridicule now is it?

I would also hope that we would win with a little more grace.

The thing is he used his "depression" as an excuse to get out of Melbourne and go to a more competitive team...that is what I'm sure Frawley was making issue of.

Know Mitch personally do you?

Know his state of mind when he left Melbourne?

You have a clear and concise understanding of the doctors and medications he is still on?

You understand mental illness and all it's nuances?

I doubt Frawley did either. And why should he care that much he left Melbourne to go to a better club as well. Pot kettle black anyone?

Anyone notice the crowd sound volume was increased at defining moments of the TV coverage? I thought it was an improvement on the old way of just focusing on commentators. Hope they keep it up as it gave a bit more atmosphere to the coverage.

I think people are missing the point here....Which is: The motivation & reason for Joel Selwood bringing it up in the first place....The whinging & whining over at the Puddy Twats has now become a procession since we've well & truly put them back into their boxes.

There is also an element of tit-for-tat here, in the fact that we 'Outed' Motlop, so now, sore loser Joel is 'Outing' our boys!

The precious young Joel was last heard on the phone to his mum saying: "Those big bad mean Hawks beat up on us mummy, & I didn't like it"...."They bullied us around & said mean things n stuff mummy".

Piss-Poor form from a piss-poor loser....Biggest ****en sook in the AFL barr none this kid....Great player, but psychologically, not a Captain's arse-hole!

I think people are missing the point here....Which is: The motivation & reason for Joel Selwood bringing it up in the first place....The whinging & whining over at the Puddy Twats has now become a procession since we've well & truly put them back into their boxes.

There is also an element of tit-for-tat here, in the fact that we 'Outed' Motlop, so now, sore loser Joel is 'Outing' our boys!

The precious young Joel was last heard on the phone to his mum saying: "Those big bad mean Hawks beat up on us mummy, & I didn't like it"...."They bullied us around & said mean things n stuff mummy".

Piss-Poor form from a piss-poor loser....Biggest ****en sook in the AFL barr none this kid....Great player, but psychologically, not a Captain's arse-hole!
I was thinking this actually. I didn't watch the footy show (because it's a pile of crap). How did it come up?

Not meaning to sound alarmist here but would it be fair game to raise a life threatening illness in sledging - "hey - do you have a malignant growth on your hands?" - after dropping a mark etc.

Autopsy Hawks vs The Pusscats