Autopsy Hawks vs The Pusscats

i for one loved the brutality the boys showed on the weekend uncompromising and hard at it , i really don't think the sledging would have been as bad as what it's been made out to be , if he can step onto the footy field i think he can handle a bit of talk from the other team, i think it would be harder for him to actually get onto the field and play good footy then hearing a few words, if it was really bad i dare say there would have been a pretty big scuffle and a lot of geelong players would get involved the fact that selwood only heard about it after the game tells me it was only minor

now lets continue the sledging onto essendon i don't think the boys will run out of material for this game

He entered the field of play. If he'd entered it with a broken rib players would have been jabbing his ribs with thumbs a la hodge vs st kilda 2008.

Players exploit opposition weaknesses. If he wasn't ready to take it he wouldn't have crossed the boundary line. Nathan Thompson copped a fair bit over his depression on field no one thought any thing of it, it's only now that people are starting to treat people with utter disdain and think "they have depression I have to defend them" like they are incapable of defending themselves. Patronising much?

No one gets better by having the world maintain their status quo.

He entered the field of play. If he'd entered it with a broken rib players would have been jabbing his ribs with thumbs a la hodge vs st kilda 2008.

Players exploit opposition weaknesses. If he wasn't ready to take it he wouldn't have crossed the boundary line. Nathan Thompson copped a fair bit over his depression on field no one thought any thing of it, it's only now that people are starting to treat people with utter disdain and think "they have depression I have to defend them" like they are incapable of defending themselves. Patronising much?

No one gets better by having the world maintain their status quo.
Broken ribs is a little different. Depression is a killer and has had a stigma attached to it for a while. The stigma part is the real killer. People who have it are ashamed and don't seek help etcetera. I don't think its a good look (if it happened - I don't think it did).

I'm not saying it did either, nor do I think it's the stigma that's the real killer, it's people creeping around on eggshells afraid of bringing it up and treating depressed people like they're somehow incapable of normal thought that is the problem. I've lived with it in my family for 25 years, and NOTHING is worse than having a bunch of knights in shining armour defending someone as though they are broken.

He took the field, he is capable of defending himself. Best thing that could have happened to him. I'd almost reckon he's weell enough to play footy now because someone at some point, pointed out to him that he was depressed instead of cushioning him in cotton wool because they suspected it.

Depression doesn't kill because of a few taunts, it kills because no one mentions it and they introspectively internalise every negative thought they have.

I'm not saying it did either, nor do I think it's the stigma that's the real killer, it's people creeping around on eggshells afraid of bringing it up and treating depressed people like they're somehow incapable of normal thought that is the problem. I've lived with it in my family for 25 years, and NOTHING is worse than having a bunch of knights in shining armour defending someone as though they are broken.

He took the field, he is capable of defending himself. Best thing that could have happened to him. I'd almost reckon he's weell enough to play footy now because someone at some point, pointed out to him that he was depressed instead of cushioning him in cotton wool because they suspected it.

Depression doesn't kill because of a few taunts, it kills because no one mentions it and they introspectively internalise every negative thought they have.
Definitely not saying he will go and top himself after a few taunts - more that's it's not a good look. Would get done for workplace bullying in a flash if it was a workplace. I know footys a tough and harsh place - just think we can leave out stuff about people's illnesses - doesn't sit right with me. Again - I don't think it happened

Steve Motlop won't be playing this week! Apparently he was a naught boy, for some off field issue. Mmm, I wonder what that issue was? :rolleyes:

"Hope this is the wake up call he needs. But worrying we seem to have off field issues cropping up with our young guys. Bundy, Hartman, now Mots."

Interesting comments on the rats forum. Looks like some want him gone,gone,goneo_O
The story goes Motlop will not get out of bed to turn the lights on as Porkins is scared of the dark and the club are concerned he will hurt his back again getting in and out of bed to turn the lights on!

Definitely not saying he will go and top himself after a few taunts - more that's it's not a good look. Would get done for workplace bullying in a flash if it was a workplace. I know footys a tough and harsh place - just think we can leave out stuff about people's illnesses - doesn't sit right with me. Again - I don't think it happened
Agreed it's not a good look. But again, going to spoil a mark from behind and the fist "accidentally" meets the ear on the way through is workplace bullying as well.

Just saying "poor guy, look at what those players apparently did, that's terrible" is the real "not a good look" scenario.

Agreed it's not a good look. But again, going to spoil a mark from behind and the fist "accidentally" meets the ear on the way through is workplace bullying as well.

Just saying "poor guy, look at what those players apparently did, that's terrible" is the real "not a good look" scenario.
Yeah - it's not a normal workplace - definitely! But my point is about boundaries I spose. Gibbo said as much himself in that article - that is - it isn't kosher re illnesses

I think you're right regarding Mitch himself, but the problem is the message this sends to those people who don't currently feel able to face up to this sort of pressure. They're the ones who won't say anything and therefore won't get help.

I'd be more worried about those within the Hawthorn playing ranks who are or will suffer from depression now or in the future.

If they heard this themselves, they've probably just ruled out the football club (a massive part of their life) as a supportive environment, when it should be the most supportive.

It would be naive in the extreme to think that Mitch Clark is the only AFL player with a mental illness. A decent study would probably show a handful at each club on average.

As soon as you enter the field of play, anything about you is fair game. That doesn't include family.
Utterly disagree. Sex, religion, culture and mental illness/family situations all shouldn't be on field.

Play the ball, not the man. If you are going to play the man, leave all of the above out of it. I mean, its not as if Hawthorn players didn't have much ammunition considering how we played on Monday.....

Utterly disagree. Sex, religion, culture and mental illness/family situations all shouldn't be on field.

Play the ball, not the man. If you are going to play the man, leave all of the above out of it. I mean, its not as if Hawthorn players didn't have much ammunition considering how we played on Monday.....
You've obviously never played sport at a top level. You have a lot to learn!

I'd be more worried about those within the Hawthorn playing ranks who are or will suffer from depression now or in the future.

If they heard this themselves, they've probably just ruled out the football club (a massive part of their life) as a supportive environment, when it should be the most supportive.

It would be naive in the extreme to think that Mitch Clark is the only AFL player with a mental illness. A decent study would probably show a handful at each club on average.

Stretching it a bit there - a couple of uneducated players does not indicate a "culture" and the uneducated would be at every club.

According to some posters it has already been reported on SEN that the club will be issuing a statement and if it turns out to be true then it's disappointing and further education will be required. No doubt JK will also express his disapproval.

You've obviously never played sport at a top level. You have a lot to learn!
The old ''I am obviously better than you" resonse over an internet forum. Ha.

Get a grip. Race, sex, mental illness all out of bounds. If you think otherwise, it is much more of a poor reflection on you than me mate.

You'll note I haven't defended any actions of players directed at Clark due to his depression but do we really know what was said and by whom? It's all a bit vague and let's not start saying things like the club doesn't support this as an issue in our community - because our club has been terrific on this issue

I'm not in agreeance with The Mitch Clarke sledge. Say he had cancer and came back from it would it be acceptable for players to have a dig at him for having cancer? Would it have been acceptable for players to make fun of and call Jason McCartney names after being burnt in the Bali bombings? Or how about hanging it on Port players for their team mate John McCArthy dying on an end of season trip? Or ribbing Melbourne players about Jim Stynes or Troy Broadbridge? Would be ok in society to make fun of some-one mentally handicapped? I think not.

It has been established now that footballers are suppose to be role models. Hence the stance on drugs and illicit drugs especially. They should be smart enough to know that there is a line and I for one am very disappointed that a player or players at Hawthorn have lowered themselves to this low form of unsportmans like behaviour.

I hope Clarko finds the culprit(s) and makes them do some community service work with some mentally ill people to highlight the real issues people face.

1 in 6 people on earth will experience some form of depression during their life-time. That's a billion people world wide. Not so amusing and subject to ridicule now is it?

I would also hope that we would win with a little more grace.
If James Frawley has had a go it is quite different to a hawthorn player taking a cheap shot, which it possibly is. I say possibly as there may be some context or not the details are vague and anything coming from Selwood is not worth a pinch.
If the comments came from Frawley, he has a lot of inside knowledge about the man and his character and most likely the consensus at the club of why he left and how relevant his depression was.
I am sure I know as much as you do which is nothing and agree it is not where players should be going in terms of sledging. If it was really untoward then a formal complaint should be made but at this stage the only thing that has been said is that mitch mentioned something about a sledge post match.

Mitch has made very public his battle with depression and good on him and if a player said to him 'the scoreboard looks a bit sad for you guys' or made a more direct hurtful reference it is two different things and I would think any reference would be in the context of some back and forward banter not a deliberate tactic. The player may not have even meant it exactly as it came out or even regretted it immediately. There were some punches thrown in the match was that the result or the cause of the comment?
I am guessing Mitch has thrown some stones and then cried foul because his glass house was damaged.
The physical cheap shot of Johnson on Mitchell is as expected as low level banter with Mitch that has been so high profile. It is like most jokes they can go to far and we do not know the detail and a high horse is not always the best place to see from.

The old ''I am obviously better than you" resonse over an internet forum. Ha.

Get a grip. Race, sex, mental illness all out of bounds. If you think otherwise, it is much more of a poor reflection on you than me mate.
I am not convinced it really happened for a start - wheres the proof and what was actually said, but if you think your own team doesn't sledge in the areas you mention as being out of bounds you are totally deluded.

Autopsy Hawks vs The Pusscats