Competitions Hawthorn 2011 Membership Slogan Competition

Re: Create Hawthorn's 2011 Slogan - Win a copy of Crawford's book. **WINNING ENTRANT USED BY THE CLU

No, the mods will compile a shortlist, which we'll run by the club, then you guys vote.

Re: Design a Hawthorn Slogan for 2011 - Win a copy of Crawford's book

An ad scrolling through kitted up players in the foreground with a highlight of their play in the background, and they each say to the camera "Don't (something)" until the "Do." punchline at the end.

eg, you could have Jordan Lewis in the foreground saying "Don't Flinch" as his clash with Harbrow plays in the background, Rioli saying "Don't blink" as he steps through 3 opposition players in the bg, Franklin saying "Don't doubt" as he charges down the wing and slots it from the boundary, etc. Then "DO! HAWKS 2011" at the end, followed by the membership number/link.

I am teh winz?

This has got my vote.

Re: Create Hawthorn's 2011 Slogan - Win a copy of Crawford's book. **WINNING ENTRANT USED BY THE CLU

projectx1.jpg

:spade:

An ad scrolling through kitted up players in the foreground with a highlight of their play in the background, and they each say to the camera "Don't (something)" until the "Do." punchline at the end.

eg, you could have Jordan Lewis in the foreground saying "Don't Flinch" as his clash with Harbrow plays in the background, Rioli saying "Don't blink" as he steps through 3 opposition players in the bg, Franklin saying "Don't doubt" as he charges down the wing and slots it from the boundary, etc. Then "DO! HAWKS 2011" at the end, followed by the membership number/link.

I am teh winz?

This has got my vote.

Got my vote too! Honoustly, that gave me chills just reading it! Great idea.

Slight adjustment, after Lewis and Rioli, I'd make the second last player be Buddy, who says 'Don't think' as the clip of him against the Dons slotting that ripper goal is shown. Then maybe Hodge pops up on screen and says "Just DO!" at the same time as John Kennedy's clip of him saying "Just Do something" pops up, and a clip of Hodge doing one of his god-like things he does is shown. Or vice-versa with Hodge/Buddy.

Thoughts?

I am teh winz?

Yep gets my vote :thumbsu:

Well, we've got some time to go until we select the shortlist, so hold them thoughts or come up with a bunch of your own. Enter as many times as you like.

4 parts to this ad.

PART 1:

In any particular order: head shot of each play reciting their line. After each line is recited, short clip of each associated highlight.

1. Lewis - "Don't flinch"
a) Harbrow bump

2. Franklin - "Don't doubt"
b) 2010 GOTY

3. Rioli - "Don't blink"
c) 2009 GOTY

4. Mitch - "Don't surrender"
d) Running down Shane Tuck

5. Hodge - "Don't _____"
e) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yb5Z-Qtm9lM

PART 2:

Have those 5 players lined up next to eachother, arms folded, with Hodge in the middle --> e.g. Lewis, Mitchell, Hodge, Franklin, Rioli

...and have them say all together "Don't think".

PART 3:

Have a 5-10 second clip of a few highlights building up in tempo, after last highlight create a bang type of effect.

PART 4:

Transition back to the 5 players above. All of them finish off by saying all together "Just do!" or "Do!".

*** End ad with text, including membership PH: and website.

4 parts to this ad.

PART 1:

In any particular order: head shot of each play reciting their line. After each line is recited, short clip of each associated highlight.

a) Harbrow bump

b) 2010 GOTY

3. Rioli - "Don't blink"
c) 2009 GOTY

5. Hodge - "Don't _____"

I would swap mitch to no.2 and buddy to no.4. Also with cyrils highlight i would like to see the attemted tackle by cross on cyril when he absolutly crunches him or one of his many chase downs. maybe him tackling ablett.

Lastly hodge should say at the end "just do"

the bloke who came up with this idea has won the competition by a country mile imo. would need something special to beat that

What about using one of our team rules like:

Go When it's your turn.

or

Never Give Up.

Or even

History Is Now

Got my vote too! Honoustly, that gave me chills just reading it! Great idea.

Slight adjustment, after Lewis and Rioli, I'd make the second last player be Buddy, who says 'Don't think' as the clip of him against the Dons slotting that ripper goal is shown. Then maybe Hodge pops up on screen and says "Just DO!" at the same time as John Kennedy's clip of him saying "Just Do something" pops up, and a clip of Hodge doing one of his god-like things he does is shown. Or vice-versa with Hodge/Buddy.

Thoughts?

That's good, I reckon it should definitely have Kennedy senior involved. I think the "Do!" should be the recording him saying it the first time, he owns that word now.
I was think for the do punchline we could have a slomo image of the 2008 cup presentation celebrations, cutting to the current Hawks in together looking decidedly hungry.

4 parts to this ad.

PART 1:

a) Harbrow bump

b) 2010 GOTY

3. Rioli - "Don't blink"
c) 2009 GOTY

5. Hodge - "Don't _____"

I think Hodge needs to say, "Don't Hesitate". Excellent work on the Mitchell one. :thumbsu:

PART 2:

Have those 5 players lined up next to eachother, arms folded, with Hodge in the middle --> e.g. Lewis, Mitchell, Hodge, Franklin, Rioli

...and have them say all together "Don't think".

PART 3:

Have a 5-10 second clip of a few highlights building up in tempo, after last highlight create a bang type of effect.

PART 4:

Transition back to the 5 players above. All of them finish off by saying all together "Just do!" or "Do!".

I like the rhythm of that, but I'd rather see for step 2 all the players on our list being strobed through really quickly as a lead up to step 3, and then a sudden long shot of the team standing together for the "DO!" bit, then straight to the membership info.

This one seems pretty good if I say so myself, but I reckon there's still time to top it.

Borrowed from 300, but I love this line and think it is super relevant

"Give them nothing. But take from them, everything"

That's good, I reckon it should definitely have Kennedy senior involved. I think the "Do!" should be the recording him saying it the first time, he owns that word now.
I was think for the do punchline we could have a slomo image of the 2008 cup presentation celebrations, cutting to the current Hawks in together looking decidedly hungry.

I think Hodge needs to say, "Don't Hesitate". Excellent work on the Mitchell one. :thumbsu:

I like the rhythm of that, but I'd rather see for step 2 all the players on our list being strobed through really quickly as a lead up to step 3, and then a sudden long shot of the team standing together for the "DO!" bit, then straight to the membership info.

Got my vote!
:thumbsu:

Today, Tomorrow, FOREVER !!!

Go Hawks !!

I really like the "Don't Think, Just DO!" idea, and I know it's a pretty famous quote in the context of hawks footy history...

but I just worry that if someone high profile (specifically players) at the club does something stupid that is caught onto by the media (brawling, drugs, drink driving, etc) or even just makes an arse of themselves (tool of the week style) that this campaign line would pretty much be perfect for any Bay 13 troll.

That being said, it is a really good campaign idea and I wouldn't not use it just because of it's potential to be hijacked by trolls. If it helps us get to 60,000 members then who gives a toss? lol :p

2011 - The year to fear the Hawk!

C'mon people, while Mess has put a quality entry in, there's plenty of time and opportunity to get your idea up. Keep at it.

Yeah, c'arn guys. Acquiescing at the first opportunity just reeks of laziness. How would you feel if the Hawks carried on like that next year? Let's have some more entries, thread's got too much potential to peter out just yet.

What, me? Nah, I'm tapped now...:p

Yeah, c'arn guys. Acquiescing at the first opportunity just reeks of laziness. How would you feel if the Hawks carried on like that next year? Let's have some more entries, thread's got too much potential to peter out just yet.

What, me? Nah, I'm tapped now...:p

That's it. First ideas are just that: first ideas.

My advice: don't try to make ads. Just try to communicate like you were posting or writing an email.

That's it. First ideas are just that: first ideas.

My advice: don't try to make ads. Just try to communicate like you were posting or writing an email.

True. Idea's gotten a bit labour intensive for the brief, hey? :eek:

Competitions Hawthorn 2011 Membership Slogan Competition