List Mgmt. Hawthorn 2018 Trade discussion NO OPPOSITION SUPPORTERS Part 3

D.McStay, H.McKay, P.Wright, H.Himmelberg, S.Frost, B.McKay, T.Clurey, D.Howard, C.Moore, J.Carlisle & T.Barass all out of contract next year on the KPP front.

Barass is the one I want, probably unachievable though considering he's from WA. The two from Port showed a lot this year. McStay and Carlisle we've shown interest in before.
Peter Wright might be worth a look, would probably come cheap

So trade week is over for another year. I have given myself a couple of days to cool off and reflect. I love the club and have great gratitude for all the success they have given us over the years.
However, this week I am disappointed.
The joy of landing Scrimshaw and Scully evaporated when I heard how much we gave up for Wingard.
Paying overs is one thing, but being shafted by a two-faced amateur like Cripps is just embarrassing.
We have paid overs in the past, and the club has more hits than misses. However, this time I think it was too much.
We paid Burton, plus a first, plus a second. Both picks in a good draft.
If Burton was traded, I would have expected a first-rounder MINIMUM. Probably first plus a third or an upgrade.
So we basically paid 2 firsts plus a second for Wingard. That is by far the most expensive trade since Chris Judd. We all know how that worked out.
Now we go to the "super" draft with picks 53 and 90. We may say draft picks are overrated, but Hodge, Roughead, Franklin, Lewis, Rioli, Birchall were all early draft picks. We need to use an early pick sometime. This would've been a good time.
I hope I am wrong, but I don't want to become like Geelong, endlessly topping up to stay mediocre.
In Clarko and Wrighty we trust, so hopefully we find another Ben Stratton at pick 53, and / or another Harry Morrison at pick 90, but right now I am finding it difficult to be excited about the draft.
Come on Chad. Prove me wrong. Please.

What might help ease your frustration is think of Scrimshaw as the bloke we took with our pick 15ish. Thats possible a steal based on how highly GW rated him in his draft year. Consider Scully as the bloke we got for 35 and although both pick 35 and Scullys ankle are both speculative, his talent is not. Proven to be one of the best wingers in the game.

As for Burton, I agree that the price we paid for Wingard was very generous. Despite all having high hopes for Burton Wingard blows him out of the water.

So even though we dont come in until 50 odd at the draft, technically we've already nabbed 3 top 5-10 picks. That alone makes this a success and anyone else we get of value at 53, 90 or the RD icing on the cake.

I agree we overpaid for Wingard. But I think Clarkson and the club made the call a couple seasons ago to go the trade and free agent route for proven players and some risky pick ups, rather then hitting the draft. Whilst weve struck gold with some we have failed with others. This draft may be deep with talent but weve also had high draft picks that didnt work out either in the past, everything is a gamble its just a matter of how long do you want to wait to see divedends? Weve just made the move that has more chance to pay off imediatly

Unfortunately the clubs age profile is a worry. We have a lot of older players in our 22 in the twilight of their careers. We have a brownlow medalist in the prime of his career. And we have a few young players who have shown glimpses but barring Sicily none are a certainty to be a star. The clubs cleared cap space for this, but missed on free agents this offseason. If we hit the draft and didnt pick up Wingard who can provide an imediate improvement now, we could see us slide down the ladder. Be exploited as a team thats just holding on, and have no chance to attract a free agent on reasonable money because of the attraction of being competitive for a premiership will be gone. The cap space is then wasted, we rebuild entirely, and we waste Mitchells best years as we spend a long time trying to rebuild.

Me personally if we didnt have Tom Mitchell i would say bottom out hit the draft and start a long rebuild. But right now i feel like the ships taking on water and were doing just enough to keep it afloat. Its a credit to Clarkson and Wright. We have alot of needs on the field and theyre recruiting what we can get. But eventually we need to address the lack of goals and find some solid tall defenders.

Many of us seem to believe we paid overs for Wingard. I don't like to disrespect any Hawthorn player, past or present, so I've gone along with most people's assessment of Burton. It is only overs if Burton is as good as most of you seem to think. I really like the character of the kid and his resolve to overcome a very bad injury to play at the elite level. However, I think he is being overhyped and overrated. Please go back and watch when and where he got his possessions and marked the ball. He has not lived up to the expectations that were placed on him. He is far too slow, does not read the ball as well as you would expect and does not impact the game in any substantial way. He is a decent lock down defender on a very particular type of forward. Someone who is slow and can't jump.

He has not made an impact like a Worble (lol) or Hardwick who have made a bigger contribution in less time than him. If you look at decent players like Stratton, Sicily, Breust, Smith who were not all high picks, they made an impact and showed promise within 12-18 months. Burton was given every opportunity but could not do that. He is not worth a first pick. Do you guys think if were trading Burton for a pick we would have got a first round pick? I certainly don't think so. We paid the equivalent of a first and two seconds and got a third back. So just shy of two firsts. Is Wingard worth that? ABSOLUTELY!!!

Brody Mihocek not signed at Pies, if we offer a longer term contract he could help our key position stocks
This guy would be perfect for us. He's the kind of highly disciplined B grade type that makes a forward line much more effective. He is a real gun. Would replace Whitecross for that dogged adherance to team rules but with goal kicking flair.

Don't know how this could possibly happen - but if it did it would significantly change my view of how we go next season.

Brody Mihocek not signed at Pies, if we offer a longer term contract he could help our key position stocks

Wilted a little on the big stage in the grand final - but wouldn’t be the worst cover.

This guy would be perfect for us. He's the kind of highly disciplined B grade type that makes a forward line much more effective. He is a real gun. Would replace Whitecross for that dogged adherance to team rules but with goal kicking flair.

Don't know how this could possibly happen - but if it did it would significantly change my view of how we go next season.

Think we’d need to hope that the Pies delist him to get him as a DFA.

Pretty sure he's a Rookie & so is likely not getting a contract extension as they're going to upgrade him as a live selection on Draft Night.

*pretty sure, not 100%

From memory you have a fair amount of knowledge on sports injuries, or maybe not?
Anyway have you any opinion on the Scully ankle injury re whats the likely outcome.
Sorry for chiming in , my better half is a sports podiatrist and has had quite a few clients with Scully’s injury.

It’s pretty hit and miss and his sounded on the more serious end of the scale
She has had 8 clients recovering from over the past few years playing high level sport.
4 made pretty much full recoveries but were lengthy stints on the sidelines (6-8 months ) , 2 got back but were restricted and 2 it ended their career.

That’s a very general overview though . Sven may have more knowledge on it .
I have a lot of faith in our club , I think he will be fine but we will be very conservative so may not see him in the first few months of 2018

So trade week is over for another year. I have given myself a couple of days to cool off and reflect. I love the club and have great gratitude for all the success they have given us over the years.
However, this week I am disappointed.
The joy of landing Scrimshaw and Scully evaporated when I heard how much we gave up for Wingard.
Paying overs is one thing, but being shafted by a two-faced amateur like Cripps is just embarrassing.
We have paid overs in the past, and the club has more hits than misses. However, this time I think it was too much.
We paid Burton, plus a first, plus a second. Both picks in a good draft.
If Burton was traded, I would have expected a first-rounder MINIMUM. Probably first plus a third or an upgrade.
So we basically paid 2 firsts plus a second for Wingard. That is by far the most expensive trade since Chris Judd. We all know how that worked out.
Now we go to the "super" draft with picks 53 and 90. We may say draft picks are overrated, but Hodge, Roughead, Franklin, Lewis, Rioli, Birchall were all early draft picks. We need to use an early pick sometime. This would've been a good time.
I hope I am wrong, but I don't want to become like Geelong, endlessly topping up to stay mediocre.
In Clarko and Wrighty we trust, so hopefully we find another Ben Stratton at pick 53, and / or another Harry Morrison at pick 90, but right now I am finding it difficult to be excited about the draft.
Come on Chad. Prove me wrong. Please.

Pretty much sums up my thoughts to the letter, Books.

I want to believe, and I am a little excited at our potential midfield dominance, but the amount we paid for Wingard troubles me.

However, an important matter in GW’s defence is that we made the decision to go the top-up route in 2016 with Jaeger and Mitchell. Having done so, I think we had to go all in with that strategy again this year, rather than accepting a slide down the ladder while Jaeger and Mitchell age past their primes. Being neither here nor there would have been the worst possible outcome.

Once that strategy is accepted as the most sensible approach this year, and we were unable to land a free agent, Wingard cost what he cost.

Hey everyone. On reflection I believe that I have been a bit of a dick on this forum. In particular, my comments about Topiary were out of line and unnecessary.

In future I’ll be limiting my few posts to actual footy observations and not directing them to other members.

Apologies once again to Topiary or anyone else I may have got off side. Go hawks Cheers NG

Takes a big man to do this. Well done.

If Schoenmakers can get his body issues right then I reckon he'll have a huge impact on the team dynamic. We just need to get some big guys up forward who can split the contest. Let the smaller guys finish it off.

Mate you seriously need to get a life, trades either get done of they don’t. I wait for the actual confirmation of who’s going where. People including journos guessing or acting on “ good info” mean jack $hit to me.

If you want to live off every word certain posters say than good luck to you, I haven’t got the time or inclination to do so
You want confirmation of who's going where? Then be patient, and await for the announcement from HFC. Meanwhile delete your BF account: clearly you're not cut out for open forums where people share knowledge and other information, some of which may be speculative or misleading, and some of which is deliberate and some of which is accidental, misinformation. You're coming across as an entitled pompous ****wit, fwiw.

You want confirmation of who's going where? Then be patient, and await for the announcement from HFC. Meanwhile delete your BF account: clearly you're not cut out for open forums where people share knowledge and other information, some of which may be speculative or misleading, and some of which is deliberate and some of which is accidental, misinformation. You're coming across as an entitled pompous *******, fwiw.

Give it a rest
See below

Hey everyone. On reflection I believe that I have been a bit of a dick on this forum. In particular, my comments about Topiary were out of line and unnecessary.

In future I’ll be limiting my few posts to actual footy observations and not directing them to other members.

Apologies once again to Topiary or anyone else I may have got off side. Go hawks Cheers NG