Autopsy Hawthorn pipped at the post by Port Adelaide

Never got the game on our terms yet only just lost .
Fought to the end. Probably a little stiff with a few things .
Will be better for it.

What a great season , 0-5 to then turn it around dream of finals and actually make it . Then we roll one if the inform sides.
Can't wait for next season

Not sure what Hinkley said but looked an absolutely w@nker there.

Thanks for a genuinely great season, so lucky to support this club

Hope Sam goes to town on that game. It was the least Hawthorn game we’ve played for so long, and he needs to understand why.

But fantastic season. To be disappointed in losing now shows how far we’ve come. Let’s skip forward a few months and start the next seseason

Count out round 1 to 5 as we were clearly in preseason mode still. Every loss since then we have gone large parts of it just hoofing the ball long. We do not have the forwards to create a contest when that happens, and it is usually marked by the oppo, or they have time to position themselves and get it back easily.

Even tonight, we spent close to 60 minutes just getting the ball and bombing it.

We need our midfielders to contest - the first half the pressure was almost non-existent
We need our peripheral players running and creating space. It just didn't happen enough in our losses throughout the year.

Tonight we absolutely had nothing on our terms, and a couple of times I expected us to bend over (1st quarter, last quarter), but even with nothing going right, we got bloody close. That's a great sign.
A couple of moments when we were struggling we learn from (kicking into players no even looking at it for starters), and suddenly that last quarter surge from the power sees scores even, rather than them being 3 goals up and us playing catch up.

We desperately need someone else as captain, as Sicily just does not have the right style of leadership for a young team.

There is no way you will ever see a Hawthorn leader, either coach or player, behave like that after a win to an opposition in a game like that. Zero chance. Watch Hodge's 2012 losing grand final speech, one of the classiest you will ever see. That is the Hawthorn culture. Port are a bunch of petulant ferals, and if that was their grand final, and they are happy with merely making a preliminary for beating a side that wasn't even supposed to make it and have their best years in front of them, then by all means enjoy your peak moment. We are Hawthorn, and we are in it for premierships. Who the **** are Port?

What a flog bogan Hinkley is.

Ungracious in defeat.

Can you imagine mouthing off to opposition players after the game.
Not shocked. Always found port/hinkley a weird lot. They always carry on with this it’s us against them mentality, but the them in their case is actually themselves. Plus I’ll never forgive Hinkley for knocking Tony hall out with a raised elbow in 1991. 😂

Arggggg it burns coz I wanted to win so friggen much but at the same time I'm beyond proud of our guys.

Sam has often said he wants us to put ourselves in a position to win and we did that even when most of the game wasn't played on our terms. We missed it by that much.

We weren't meant to be here especially after how the season started but we got here and we deserved to be here.

It will burn our guys knowing thet got that close and will hopefully put a fire inside them for next year.

So disappointed but so proud.

I love this team.

As a fan that's a terrible result after the year we've had but more gutted for the boys and the coaching team today. They can hold their head high and take a well deserved break to come back stronger and better for today's experience. Another way to look at it is that I am extremely grateful for the " HoK Ride" we had from 0-5 down until that poster from Sicily.

Go Hawks!

I Feel we need another midfielder in the Day, Newcombe class also to go with the midfield grant of Worpel and Nash.

Port have Rozee, Butters and HF and the class was to much at times to control.

Chol went missing again in two finals same thing as last week, hopefully we can get a forward in the off season to go with Dear.

Had a great ride with our Hawks in 24.. didn't play our best tonight.. and "if" that goal by Port with 1 second to go at half time and 2 posters in last qtr, it could have been a different story... still 2025 looks like fun. Can't wait..

People were looking past port because it's a hell of a lot better than crying about losing before it's even happened.
Yeah nah. Showing respect to an opponent and acknowledging it’s going to be a tough game is not crying about losing. Port has a gun midfield and playing on home soil.

This Hawthorn team is also not quite the finished product which this game showed. Syd, Geelong still a level above the other teams for mine.

Incredible season, so much to be proud of. Let the pathetic loser behaviour of Hinlley stick in our guts.

I know which team is building towards a premiership and it isn't the one coached by Uncle Fester.

Sent from my SM-F741B using Tapatalk

A 60 year old man mouthing off to a 21 year old on a football field just has an off feel about it. Mark this in the calendar, no more losses to these flogs. We lost the game ourselves and feel that we let a great opportunity slip to keep going. Port aren't much chop, we were however, terrible. Hopefully McKenzie, Ward and Day come along next year and become bona fide A graders as we do need it going frwd. Feels like a abrupt end to more things to come this season. Oh well, well done boys, great effort.

Autopsy Hawthorn pipped at the post by Port Adelaide