Autopsy Hawthorn pipped at the post by Port Adelaide

Hinckley said he used it (ginni comment) "a fair bit" during the week... they played well above themselves tonight.. ginni should apologise to his teammates
Nah man that's bullshit.

The main motivation for tonight for Port was that they embarassed themselves last week with an 80 point loss. The Ginni comment was a convenient thing to blame but all season Port have backed up their shitty cold performances with very good ones.

Blaming Ginni or that specific tweet is completely missing the point

I Feel we need another midfielder in the Day, Newcombe class also to go with the midfield grant of Worpel and Nash.

Port have Rozee, Butters and HF and the class was to much at times to control.

Chol went missing again in two finals same thing as last week, hopefully we can get a forward in the off season to go with Dear.
We needed a proper key forward to at worst halve contests which Lewis at full strength would have. Dear isn't ready to be that man consistently every week and both Gunners and Chol are more 3rd talls. Chol gave them way too many easy outs with intercept marks but it's not entirely he's fault. He isn't that type of forward and he had to be most of the year with Lewis out. Nights like tonight is where you need your most important players when things aren't going to plan. No Frost no Day and no Lewis. Sicily showed more as a key forward in less than a QTR than the others did all game because he had a presence. That's what was needed.

Penandpaper you gave thumbs down to this post. Explain why you think Chol played well?
Yeah I gave a thumbs down to your post. He really wasn't bad last week, he made a lot of contests and unfortunately dropped a couple marks but he was not bad. That is why I disagreed with your post, want any more explanations buddy?

Oh man I am so proud of the boys- what a season! What a set of amazing performances and results. Has been a brilliant year and everyone should feel proud.

Hinkley embarassing himself tonight - absolute joke of a coach. Pathetic. Contrast to Sam's performance - brilliant. Love the leadership of our club and how much better it is than other clubs that are further ahead of our rebuild.

We never got our game going tonight - their pressure was too high, and they still only got us by 5 points. When a game is that close it's a matter of moments and luck and chances - and so there it is. Didn't fall our way tonight.

Jai Newcombe is elite
Watson is totally elite - focused, and clearly a big game and a big moment player.

There's no way Georgiardes gets 7 shots at goal if we have Frost or battle or barass in the backline. So Im glad the future looks bright.

Horne Francis and Rioli were awesome tonight. Every time they did something brilliant they had a hawk tackling or hanging off them. Sometimes the other guys are just really good.

Sciily did everything to pull the team over the line. The scramble kick and the poster were mere centimetres from him being a hero for us again.

I ****ing love this club and I'm smiling tonight despite the loss
So well said LP.

On SM-S906E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hinkley a flog

There is one thing crystal clear though. Ginnivan will leave football with at least one more flag than the donut :rainbow:

That shit can fly at a small bogan club like Port Power but it sure as shit won’t fly at a professional outfit like the West Coast Eagles…so Kenny has probably lost the one chance he had at another gig once Port Power turfs the donut next week 🍩

Seriously gutted after that. Just didn't cope well enough with the finals heat, but to the boys credit they fought it out and nearly snatched. I think a loss like that will spur the boys/club over the preseason and give them even more hunger.

PS Ken Hinkly is a classless flog!!

Something our boys will take from tonight is the experience of dealing with that much tackling pressure from the opposition.

Not going to get much more pressure applied than that. Had we dealt with it we would have won comfortably instead we went into our shells and couldn’t hit targets.

Next year when we come up against that pressure in finals we will be ready for it.

Bringing in quality players will create competition. Need to strengthen the spine, especially you need to put JS up front just shows we need an established FF.
Ports will get smashed next week as they just played their final.

Good signs for the future.
GO HAWKS!

Hinckley said he used it (ginni comment) "a fair bit" during the week... they played well above themselves tonight.. ginni should apologise to his teammates
If you have to use a flippant inter comment to motivate your team to win a final, it says a lot about your ability to coach. Maybe thats why Port continue to choke.

Penandpaper you gave thumbs down to this post. Explain why you think Chol played well?
Probably because he wasn’t “absolutely rubbish”. Didnt play his best footy but he also set up to crucial goals in the last which almost won us the game.

Fellow Hawkers,

I’ve lurked on this board for over 10 years, never feeling I had anything to offer. The game tonight was disappointing, second to the ball, outnumbered, kicking the ball into oppo players and generally just not coping with finals pressure. This is a game that gives us more than a win. For my first post, please bookmark 27 September 2025, because we will be premiers.

Just to repeat - Hinkley completely embararssed himself tonight. He showed what an emotional child he is. He's coached the team to another prelim, so congrats on that - but my god it would be an absolute joke to have a guy like that as the face of your club.

Pathetic.

People will focus on a tweet from Ginni which was a joke between friends (which prob shoudln't have been made in the public domain because you have to account for people being morons) - but Hinkley was a pathetic child with how he handled a win.

Port fans should be more upset with Hinkley this week, than from the 80 point loss last week

Never heard Sam speak like that publicly. Hinkley is a classless grub
Yep. This has a " We will not lose to these pricks again while I'm coaching" feel too it. And he's absolutely right. You don't mouth off to a player whilst we are chairing off a club legend. Sic should have smacked him in the gob and copped whatever punishment cane his way. Totally unprofessional immature reaction to some harmless comments. They deserve nothing but total irrelevancy as a club thanks to old Kenny.

Oh man I am so proud of the boys- what a season! What a set of amazing performances and results. Has been a brilliant year and everyone should feel proud.

Hinkley embarassing himself tonight - absolute joke of a coach. Pathetic. Contrast to Sam's performance - brilliant. Love the leadership of our club and how much better it is than other clubs that are further ahead of our rebuild.

We never got our game going tonight - their pressure was too high, and they still only got us by 5 points. When a game is that close it's a matter of moments and luck and chances - and so there it is. Didn't fall our way tonight.

Jai Newcombe is elite
Watson is totally elite - focused, and clearly a big game and a big moment player.

There's no way Georgiardes gets 7 shots at goal if we have Frost or battle or barass in the backline. So Im glad the future looks bright.

Horne Francis and Rioli were awesome tonight. Every time they did something brilliant they had a hawk tackling or hanging off them. Sometimes the other guys are just really good.

Sciily did everything to pull the team over the line. The scramble kick and the poster were mere centimetres from him being a hero for us again.

I ****ing love this club and I'm smiling tonight despite the loss
Jhf made tham finish the game 3 goals worse off
Great for us

If you have to use a flippant inter comment to motivate your team to win a final, it says a lot about your ability to coach. Maybe thats why Port continue to choke.
Clearly it was a huge theme of the week.

Some footy players are pretty simple. “This guy thinks he’s better than you” for some players is more effective than it being a cut throat final.

Autopsy Hawthorn pipped at the post by Port Adelaide