Hawthorn renamed - The Tassie Hawks

speedy said:
4 home games in another state. No matter what slant you put on it, you cannot be happy if you are a hawks supporter.
Most Hawk fans who can think clearly are happy with the situation. We'll play on average 14 games in Victoria, no different than what he have done for the past few seasons and only a couple less than all of the other Melbourne based sides. 14 games vs 16 games. A very small sacrifice to make that is far outweighed by the benefits and may give us a realistic chance of competing with the financial juggernauts from WA and SA.

Keep dreaming, you Dee fans. It's been over 40 years. I reckon you'll extend that premiership drought to 100 years if George W keeps his finger off the button. Keep selling those raffle tix! :thumbsu:
North play 3 games interstate to survive. Why are the Hawks doing it?
Why do you think? Money, of course. Without cashola, you're stuffed. You're going nowhere. The Dees have not won a flag for 40 years because YOU HAVE NO MONEY. All your rich supporters (apart from Joe) are too mean to chip in.
The tassie hawks tag is gonna stick. Hehe, you poor barstards.
Bring it on!

It'll make a nice change from the usual shit'n'piss, Dawks, Whorethorn, pretty boyz, tanking-for-picks flog.

Tas said:
Kangaroos was just a name used to make it easier to generate support for the club interstate. This was done when Miller was running the show, our current president wants to revert the name back to the original name and when feasible, end the interstate home games.

And when might this be?

There has never been as much money in the game as right now.

Costs are only going to increase.

Chewy said:
Most Hawk fans who can think clearly are happy with the situation. We'll play on average 14 games in Victoria, no different than what he have done for the past few seasons and only a couple less than all of the other Melbourne based sides. 14 games vs 16 games. A very small sacrifice to make that is far outweighed by the benefits and may give us a realistic chance of competing with the financial juggernauts from WA and SA.

Keep dreaming, you Dee fans. It's been over 40 years. I reckon you'll extend that premiership drought to 100 years if George W keeps his finger off the button. Keep selling those raffle tix! :thumbsu:
Why do you think? Money, of course. Without cashola, you're stuffed. You're going nowhere. The Dees have not won a flag for 40 years because YOU HAVE NO MONEY. All your rich supporters (apart from Joe) are too mean to chip in.

Bring it on!

It'll make a nice change from the usual shit'n'piss, Dawks, Whorethorn, pretty boyz, tanking-for-picks flog.

Go Tassie. :p

hawkaz1 said:
We are and always will be the hawthorn hawks, we will never move to tasmaina. Can we find something better to talk about.

You underestimate Kennett. Like many other politicians, judges, and people in positions of high authority, Kennett is a good-mannered psychopath. If there were no checks and balances while he was Premier, he would probably have wanted to terminate all handicapped people on the basis that they weren't turning a profit for Victoria.

The Old Dark Navy's said:
Well done to the Hawks. ...The only issue I have is whether their membership packages present value for money with only 7 home games in Victoria?

Underpinning the whole venture is the practise of selling 4 designated away games as defacto "home" games to the Victorian members. Hopefully these will be locked into the MCG.

11 "home" games at the G.
4 "home" games in Tassie.
7 away games elsewhere.

Welcome to footy in the new millenium... where all grounds are neutral.

Ron The Bear said:
Alan "The Crook" Bond had a brief stint as Richmond President and wanted to move us to Queensland. He was gone not long after that announcement - rise up Hawk fans!

Once again money comes first, the public (i.e Hawthorn supporters, and supporters of other Victorian clubs playing in Tassie) come last. But don't expect anything different from Kennett.

If you're happy to sell your ******** then be prepared to have a sore arse.

OMG Stop being sooks.....you fail to realise you guys are still teh Hawthorn Hawks.. This tasmanian deal is a sponsorship and is exactley the same as HSBC. Wats the diff between having Tasmania written on the guernsey and being called the "Tassie Hawks" to having HSBC on the guernsey and being called the HSBC Hawks?

dmc333 said:
Tourists don't visit hospitals.
Health system won't improve, unless there is a new Jim Bacon wing that needs to be built somewhere.

Left wing whingers board.

You're on Big Footy clown. Tell someone who cares! :thumbsu:

mightymagpie1999 said:
OMG Stop being sooks.....you fail to realise you guys are still teh Hawthorn Hawks.. This tasmanian deal is a sponsorship and is exactley the same as HSBC. Wats the diff between having Tasmania written on the guernsey and being called the "Tassie Hawks" to having HSBC on the guernsey and being called the HSBC Hawks?

HSBC Hawks is clearly a sponsor's name, Tassie Hawks sounds like a footy club. How'd you like to be called the Dubai Magpies?

Tannin said:
This has to be good news for Hawthorn supporters, and good news for at least the stronger of the remaining Victorian clubs...they can't all survive. Much better to relocate.

We haven't relocated, you dolt. And financially, we are one of the strongest clubs in Victoria. We're in far better shape than Richmond, Carlton and Geelong. This is a progressive move we've made. It hasn't been done out of desperation. Power to Hawthorn!

Chewy said:
We haven't relocated, you dolt. And financially, we are one of the strongest clubs in Victoria. We're in far better shape than Richmond, Carlton and Geelong. This is a progressive move we've made. It hasn't been done out of desperation. Power to Hawthorn!

Tassie

Chewy said:
This news is the best thing to happen to Big Footy since Chris Tarrant.

Jokes and hysteria aside, reading this thread has highlighted Jeff Kennett's arrogance and thick-headedness. Did they not see any possible backlash to this news? Surely they could've handled this situation better than springing it on the Hawk faithful with little or no forewarning. The cloak and dagger approach has only served to add fuel to the alarmists' fire.

Misinformation and confusion reigns.... Jeffed again! :thumbsu:

How on earth are Footscray - sorry, the Western Dogs going to win a premiership when they can only afford to pay their players 90% of their salary cap? And that's with an AFL handout.

I'd rather sell my wife for $15 million than my mother for 2 cents.

I'd rather sell Jeffs wife

The tassie hawks name is designed to entice people such as myself who live in tasmania but support another team to contribute more financially to the state government and hawthorn football club.

Tassie cannot sustain a club on a permanent basis, Melbourne will remain hawthorn's home for the long term.

Hawks supporters should be proud of the club atm.

Chewy said:
And financially, we are one of the strongest clubs in Victoria.

Well that makes everything OK then, don't worry about the supporters in the heartland who have been going every week for decades.

Chewy said:
It hasn't been done out of desperation.

Why do it at all then? Surprised to see a good poster toeing the political line.

Chewy said:
Underpinning the whole venture is the practise of selling 4 designated away games as defacto "home" games to the Victorian members. Hopefully these will be locked into the MCG.

11 "home" games at the G.
4 "home" games in Tassie.
7 away games elsewhere.

Welcome to footy in the new millenium... where all grounds are neutral.
Okay, so who gets the revenue for these 15 'home' games?

Old Dark Navy's said:
Okay, so who gets the revenue for these 15 'home' games?

As you well know, we get the gate for our 11 home games, and the Hawthorn Football Club is paying the home team for our members entry into 4 away games. Call that half the membership fee.

And then the Tassie government kicks in, what was it? $15 million?

<fingers crossed please just be 5 years>

Sharkey said:
Some of you guys are deadset thick.

It is a sponsorship deal - that is all.

We are still Hawthorn, still based in Melbourne.

We were the HSBC Hawks, much like the Lexus Magpies or the Camry Adelaide Crows. In that sense we are now the Tassie Hawks.

That's all..move on ladies.

I am baffled to see how many people can't interpret the article.

"Our new naming rights sponsor is Tasmania as HSBC has been our sponsor up until the end of this year - I don't think there's any difficulty in that at all"

For all people that don't understand heaps of clubs have this arrangment.
In the newspaper, on the ladder our name will still be Hawthorn, it won't actually change to "Tasmania Hawks". Likewise for scoreboards! :thumbsu:

hutstar said:
I think this is a huge win for the Hawks. They get to buid a brand in another state withourt actually relocating!
Sure, a bit of identity crisis might happen early, but in the long run the Hawks will still be Hawthorn, with a bit of market diversification. Good play.

that is sound reasoning, i just hope the brand doesnt stick too hard

HSCB v Tassie Hawks are 2 different things.

One is a place name - people identify with place more than corporate. Swans are Sydney Swans - no one calls em the QBE Swans. Looks like Tassie Hawks as a name and identifier will stick though.

More Tassie members - less Vic members. HSCB finishes deal - Guns takes ova. Seems a possible senario to me.

Will kids in Vic take up and support the Tassie Hawks?

Chewy said:
Underpinning the whole venture is the practise of selling 4 designated away games as defacto "home" games to the Victorian members. Hopefully these will be locked into the MCG..
Keep hoping - won't happen.

You don't draw well enough at the G to warrant it.

Why would victorian members give up their membership just because our sponsor is tasmanian. I don't care its a sponsor, that means more money for the club. I can't really see any major downside to it.

Ron The Bear said:
You underestimate Kennett. Like many other politicians, judges, and people in positions of high authority, Kennett is a good-mannered psychopath. If there were no checks and balances while he was Premier, he would probably have wanted to terminate all handicapped people on the basis that they weren't turning a profit for Victoria.

What a joke !!

Kennett was the best thing that ever happened to victoria for a start!

And secondly tassie cannot support an afl side not now and not ever! therefore the hawks are tapping into a new market that no one else can now touch and have all but guaranteed there long term future as an indepentant victorian side

its funny how most hawk fans have no problem with this but other fans from vic seem to (pies and dons no so much)......................Jealousy from the fellow strugglers ?

Geelong have as many fans in melb as they do in geelong but no one complains they love there teams and thats all that counts

It's pretty easily solved.

'Tassie' is the marketing catch cry for Tasmania, the 'Tassie Hawks' hold our naming rights NOT Tasmania

Both Mr Kennett and Tasmanian Premier Paul Lennon were at pains to point out that the naming rights deal is in no way a precursor to a permanent move south. In fact Mr Lennon said the club's ongoing strong presence in Victoria was the cornerstone of Tasmania's ongoing marketing efforts in the state.

It's all to do with tourism, I wouldn't be suprised if Hawthorn and Tasmania offered members discounts on air fares...

We are an emerging brand in 2 markets, in theory it's one of the best decisions ever made in Australian sport, whether or not it works in practise is another thing altogether