Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 13 - Hawks v GWS Sat June 8th 1:45pm AEST (Uni of Tassie)

Who will win and by how much?

• Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 3 6.4%
  • GWS by a goal or less

Votes: 3 6.4%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 24 51.1%
  • GWS by 7 - 20

Votes: 13 27.7%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • GWS by a lot

Votes: 4 8.5%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

ITT: clueless numpties whining over a free kick down-the-field for a late bump - the sort of infringement we've all seen penalised 500 times before and will continue to be penalised over and over and over...

Since when has a player been permitted to bump a guy over after he has pumped the ball inside fifty? :D:drunk::drunk:

"But but but Green bumped Sicily as he kicked it"

No, he didn't. He clearly bumped him after Sicily got boot to ball.
Don't blame the umpire for doing his job. Blame Green for his brain fade.

I suspect you didn't see that earlier incident with Ginnivan and only watched the AFL's "last two minutes" video. If that wasn't the case you'd have seen all the questionable frees earlier in the game that cost us a comfortable 5 goal win.
It's always the way with these match threads from the early arvo games. Many neutrals tune in for the last quarter when they see the Hawks or whoever are making it a close contest. They'll gob off about a few umpiring decisions which go Hawthorn's way late in the game. But they have no fricken idea about some of the bullshit umpiring & lucky breaks which helped the Giants get out to a handy lead at half time. Including a few "12 point plays" which stung...

I though it was a great win by the Hawks and a terrific contest in general. Fiercely contested for the 4 quarters with players from both teams crashing in like it was a final. It's a pity that not many people would've watched the game. It deserved a wider audience.

The Giants were clearly the slicker outfit with their lightning quick counter-attacking raids and gun players on every line. No question they have more individual talent than Hawthorn.

But the Hawks matched them all the way. What the Hawks lack in star quality, they make up for with their commitment, intensity, toughness and overall evenness.

They played better as a team and deserved to win.

Bet your not bitching about umps now

Pipe down with your 17k on a standalone Sat night game

If you looked at any of my posts you would have seen me comment on the quality of umpiring in the Saints - Suns game. Absolute dog shite umpiring in both games, Suns have a right to feel robbed with the last shit call going against them 15m out in front of goal.

Go pipe some Dingley out in your village B I G H A W K 2 3

If you looked at any of my posts you would have seen me comment on the quality of umpiring in the Saints - Suns game. Absolute dog shite umpiring in both games, Suns have a right to feel robbed with the last shit call going against them 15m out in front of goal.

Go pipe some Dingley out in your village B I G H A W K 2 3
Nah I couldn’t care less

That’s why I wouldn’t comment in another game day thread that doesn’t involve my team

But your teams mediocre

So I guess you have to do something

I reckon the downfield free was soft, watching live it looked in the same motion as the kick (hence it went OOBOTF - kick was clearly affected by the bump). Umpiring dept having a mare this year but it's hardly surprising that Kane has signed it off, I doubt she even watches the footy

ITT: clueless numpties whining over a free kick down-the-field for a late bump - the sort of infringement we've all seen penalised 500 times before and will continue to be penalised over and over and over...

Since when has a player been permitted to bump a guy over after he has pumped the ball inside fifty? :D:drunk::drunk:

Yeah, in that situation the defender MUST aim to disrupt the ball, either partial (a finger on the ball) or full smother, or by tackling the player. It was a defending error, low IQ decision making.

Giants for their own benefit will need to focus on fixing judgement errors and how to blunt the oppo game plan, in this case, Hawks had Giants on the back foot for much of the game with their medium sized players both defending and attacking with speed across the ground. Giants could not crack the code.

Spending time on umpiring decisions is a WASTE of time. It is in fact an IQ test for the club, can they learn some better tactics mid season, or not.

AFL concedes umpiring error, ticks off other controversial calls​

The AFL has given its verdict on three controversial umpiring calls on Saturday. The AFL conceded a late free kick against Gold Coast defender Mac Andrew on Saturday night should not have been paid, but the League has ticked off two other controversial calls from the weekend's action.

1. St Kilda v Gold Coast.

Stephen McBurney, the AFL's Head of Officiating, conceded on Sunday that both players were grappling and the correct decision was to call play on.

"The umpire assessed that Andrew put both arms around Max King and paid holding the man. We think looking at the full context and with the benefit of all the angles we had, we think the better call in that situation was no call. We don't think there was enough to constitute holding and we think there was significant contact both ways as they were grappling and running for position. So we think the better call in that situation is no call, don't blow the whistle and let play unfold with a kick from the centre.

2. West Coast v North Melbourne

McBurney ticked off a holding the ball free kick that was awarded against West Coast's Elliot Yeo late in the Eagles' loss to the Kangaroos, which saw North co-captain Jy Simpkin kick a pivotal goal.

Yeo first jarred the ball free with his strong tackle on George Wardlaw but then found himself over the ball and did not knock it free before Simpkin tackled him.

"The rules require that if you dive on the ball or drag it back in that you must knock it clear immediately. He doesn't do that, the tackle is effective so we say holding the ball is the correct outcome."

3. Hawthorn v GWS Giants

McBurney said the free kick against Greater Western Sydney midfielder Tom Green on Hawthorn's James Sicily late in their match in Launceston, which led to the match-winning goal for the Hawks, was also the correct call.

"Green's hit was late and forceful. We've been fairly consistent on that all year".

Sicily's shot on goal went out on the full and the "free after disposal" was paid to Hawthorn in their forward pocket. McBurney conceded there was an argument that Hawks forward Mabior Chol was closer to where the ball went out of play, and therefore should have taken the resultant free kick, but that the umpire had ruled that Luke Breust was the closest Hawthorn player.

AFL concedes umpiring error, ticks off other controversial calls​

The AFL has given its verdict on three controversial umpiring calls on Saturday. The AFL conceded a late free kick against Gold Coast defender Mac Andrew on Saturday night should not have been paid, but the League has ticked off two other controversial calls from the weekend's action.

1. St Kilda v Gold Coast.

Stephen McBurney, the AFL's Head of Officiating, conceded on Sunday that both players were grappling and the correct decision was to call play on.

"The umpire assessed that Andrew put both arms around Max King and paid holding the man. We think looking at the full context and with the benefit of all the angles we had, we think the better call in that situation was no call. We don't think there was enough to constitute holding and we think there was significant contact both ways as they were grappling and running for position. So we think the better call in that situation is no call, don't blow the whistle and let play unfold with a kick from the centre.

2. West Coast v North Melbourne

McBurney ticked off a holding the ball free kick that was awarded against West Coast's Elliot Yeo late in the Eagles' loss to the Kangaroos, which saw North co-captain Jy Simpkin kick a pivotal goal.

Yeo first jarred the ball free with his strong tackle on George Wardlaw but then found himself over the ball and did not knock it free before Simpkin tackled him.

"The rules require that if you dive on the ball or drag it back in that you must knock it clear immediately. He doesn't do that, the tackle is effective so we say holding the ball is the correct outcome."

3. Hawthorn v GWS Giants

McBurney said the free kick against Greater Western Sydney midfielder Tom Green on Hawthorn's James Sicily late in their match in Launceston, which led to the match-winning goal for the Hawks, was also the correct call.

"Green's hit was late and forceful. We've been fairly consistent on that all year".

Sicily's shot on goal went out on the full and the "free after disposal" was paid to Hawthorn in their forward pocket. McBurney conceded there was an argument that Hawks forward Mabior Chol was closer to where the ball went out of play, and therefore should have taken the resultant free kick, but that the umpire had ruled that Luke Breust was the closest Hawthorn player.

I like how the umpires also only commented on the one late free kick in the Hawks game though, as if there was only one controversial free kick...
I love how they haven’t referenced the flop from D.Butler

As if there was only 1 controversial call in that game

It's a free all day.
and it's down field, AFL rule states it's at the point the ball lands or crosses the boundary.

There was one a couple of years ago on the wing, after the siren. Not the closest player took it and was a terrific kick to score, regains the lead.
And the player needent neccesarily be barrelled over. Sometimes it’s a good shove. And if it wasn’t a crucial score, the giant doesn’t do the shoulder charge anyway,

It’s not paid often enough to be honest

About 3:45pm Monday

Autopsy AFL 2024 Round 13 - Hawks v GWS Sat June 8th 1:45pm AEST (Uni of Tassie)