Hill Bros: Stephen Signed/Bradley wants out

I'm not. It's kind of easy comprehension. Taylor was alluding to something and refusing to outright state what it was. What's the situation? Or is it just a hypothetical she's throwing out there?

You don't believe my Hogan story. No worries. But you'd have to be pretty naive to see the videos and not put credence in some of the stories floating around. This idea that I'm lying is just built from the fact it's a negative story and people think I'm constantly negative. It's just a bit hard to eat because your argument that I'm making it up has as much ground as mine in terms of what we've backed up as evidence... but of course everyone will side you with you, because everyone here hates me, and you know that. You're just going for the weakest target.

You aren’t reading what I’m saying. I didn’t know ‘everyone’ here hates you. I certainly don’t but will call out generalisations etc when I see them. I’m pretty consistent with that I think. The comment I am challenging was you putting a heap of faith in the brad hill rumour (nothing to do with hogan at all) and then you made up a hypothetical about him leaving and said it would reflect poorly on us as obviously we aren’t a good club to be at. Those are massive things to say with no evidence. Similar to those who were saying the clubs culture was ‘bad or rotten’ and I invited them to categorise which areas of the club and departments etc and no one took me up on it. Not because I’m targeting the weak - I let you rant until you challenged another about hypotheticals - and yes others did as well but you were the one to be critical of another about it which as I said was hilariously hypocritical. Does that make sense?

can't help but read into this one a little, would be a phenomenal loss if he were to go especially when he seems so happy here!!
would love to ignore it, but these rumours always come from somewhere and almost always eventuate :/
Surely the manager is putting the rumours out there to coax freo into putting a good offer down for Stephen given the temptation to let him go!
Like a "if you don't resign Stephen then Brad's going because he came here to play with him", because realistically, as heartbreaking as it is, Stephen has most likely played his best footy and it wouldn't be a loss that would damage us heavily due to his lack of output in getting on the field in recent seasons!
Scary to think we could lose B.Hill and Langdon in one year, would seriously revert the hard work that has been done to build this team in the last few seasons

can't help but read into this one a little, would be a phenomenal loss if he were to go especially when he seems so happy here!!
would love to ignore it, but these rumours always come from somewhere and almost always eventuate :/

Except they don't always eventuate precisely to the bit "always come from somewhere".

AFL journalism is rarely investigative journalism, for the most part think "gossip column". They have to continually fill column inches and radio/tv airtime, the public doesn't care how vaccuous it is, they keep listening and reading as it's entertainment.

A trade rumour isn't going to be defamatory and is useful when there is not much to report.

The problem is that it's hard to find any evidence on BF to the contrary.
I was bant for saying Hogan had issues. There are well known videos of him in a Santa outfit around his knees swaying by himself with huge eyes. Probably just a coincidence I guess. Or just drunk...

Really? Only seems like 10 minutes ago that the rumours were that Cerra was going to request a move home after his first year. I think these rumours rarely eventuate.
And fyfe was definitely gone and Neale back to Adelaide.. the media is rubbish sadly. No better than trash gossip magazines anymore.

Really? Only seems like 10 minutes ago that the rumours were that Cerra was going to request a move home after his first year. I think these rumours rarely eventuate.
basically what i meant was that they are almost always legitimate when they've come from nowhere and aren't just a "hes out of contract and isnt playing in the state he was born" type of situation

Yeah - nah. There would be dozens of these stories every year. If you think about the ones we don’t hear about on general news hear (unless you follow avidly). I would guess (only guess) that there would need to be at least twenty more players a year pushing for trades if these stories are ‘almost always legutmate’

Rosich was on 3aw on Sat Morning where he was asked about Brad Hill asking for a trade, and didn't give it any oxygen, in terms of wanting to strongly deny it, but he did say that Neroli Meadows was sitting close to him at some point during the Port Adelaide game last weekend - and she never ran the rumour by him then for him to comment on.

As a journo, if you had the opportunity, you'd check something like that out, even if its just to get on record a strong denial.

Rosich was on 3aw on Sat Morning where he was asked about Brad Hill asking for a trade, and didn't give it any oxygen, in terms of wanting to strongly deny it, but he did say that Neroli Meadows was sitting close to him at some point during the Port Adelaide game last weekend - and she never ran the rumour by him then for him to comment on.

As a journo, if you had the opportunity, you'd check something like that out, even if its just to get on record a strong denial.

Unlikely she would.

Hutchinson and Barrett talk about this sort of stuff on their podcast, it's called flying a kite.

Put something out there that may or may not be true and see if you get any nibbles.

Why would S.Hill leave for the only club with a worse S & C team than us?
Why would Gold Coast want to take that risk?

Makes more sense for him to go to Hawthorn who have a history of turning injured players around.

B.Hill requesting a trade, meh. If it happens and we don't demand a kings ramson I'll get worked up.

Seems like nothing though, he's for 2 more years on his contract. If and it is a big IF the club front loadedhis contract they will be super unhappy to release him.

Neroli Meadows is the worst, calls herself a Freo supporter but literally never has anything positive to say about them.
Sorry have to call you out on this. Very supportive of the team and very vocal about her support.

Flying your colours as a journo is brave as everyone assumes you report with a bias and as a result need to over compensate.

I reckon Rosich leaked the story to Neroli.

Whether it was him or not, it does seem like an odd story for a very publically identifed Freo supporting member of the footy media of the non journalist type to be running with: It does have the air of a planted story about. By whom and to what end though who can say..

Its the same rumour that surfaced last year. Odd maybe, but lacking originality.

Exactly. Neroli is NOT a journalist, she is a presenter/host can’t see her doing player manager’s dirty work leaking stories for “access”, it’s the other way around, players/managers need her for access for media attention for their clients. The only way I would see her leaking a story is if it’s from higher up from a source that would know exactly what’s going on. It’s good to have a CEO of a footy club (especially a club that they support) owing you a favor.

The reason I think it’s Rosich is because he played dumb at the start of the 3AW interview not knowing who had the story and also Neroli deleting pics on her social media attending the Port game, a game that Rosich was sitting near her.

Hill Bros: Stephen Signed/Bradley wants out