How high can Carlton go in '08?

Your jumper is now universally known as losing, how does that make you feel?

Yeh ..... rrrrriiiiiggght. That's why we've just pulled in some massive sponsorships and Chris Judd whilst your queuing up for tickets for the 6:00pm Ferrie to Launceston - how are the Chicken Nuggets on the Spirit of Tasmania. I've heard they are to die for.

Tell that to the thousands who lost their jobs under Kennett.

Is Felicity still Number 1 ticket holder at the Cats ??

And to those 1000's that had employment created under Jeff's Regime? I think we forget the mess that the previous government left this state in. Tough decisions are made everyday in life. Must be hard giving opinions from the cheap seats on a football forum......

Lets stick to footy boys (or girls)

Carlton will kick goals but will concede plenty their defensive pressure is terrible and they drop off the pace in the final quarter due to a lack of match fitness and developed bodies. They will benefit at the stoppages with Judd and Hadley but they still lack a 2nd tier to rotate thru the midfield that will put other teams under pressure. THey are still very uneven i.e. good midfield good forward line terrible defence. Their ruck division is weak and as a result Judd will have to work harder than roving around Cox and Kerr and Voldemorrt.

Carlton will have probably the best, if not second best midfields going around next year. Carrazzo absolutely blitzed it, the year before simpson stepped up to really strut his stuff. Walker has shown what he is capable and next year maybe the first time he is used outside of his usual stopping role on the oppositions best running player. No need to mention the addition of Judd and Hadley as sensational gets, best mid in the country. On top of this we have Nick Stevens, pure class. Then we have the emerging talent in Murphy and Gibbs. Say no more.

The forward line already claims one of the best in the business, and with the addition of three guns firing from the midfield will be hard to stop, in fact most of the time wont be.

Siding up to Fev will be two young guns who have been struggling with injuries and a lack of depth which has meant they have been playing stop gap roles. Next year will be their first chance to show their wares in the roles they were meant to play. Waite is half bees foreskin away from stepping up to being recognised as the champion we know he is. Fisher is pound for pound the best mark in the comp. Easily the best hands in the pack.

We have half a dozen emerging players who look the goods to play in ruck and fill in down back. From Aisake who is already shaping up as being better than his older bro who is already so far ahead of schedule people are rapt, to Hampson with the best leap the league has seen.

NO doubt things have been super tough. And we have really lacked depth as we relied on top ups while we dealt with our indiscretions and re-built. No one could be blamed for thinking we are rabble based on recent performances. But if people really think we are the same team that went into the 2002 season proper then think again. WE have only five players left from that era.

If there is anyone who still considers us to be the same team, that nothing has changed, that we are not re-built from the players to the board, then it is
them that are sorely disillusioned.

No one is saying we are going to have a tilt at the flag, but we are no longer going to be the easy beats. There wouldn't be a coach in teh league who would think so.

We will smash Hawthorn. That much is for sure.

I reckon the highest Carlton could realistically go is 11th. Even a first week finals exit is really unrealistic I believe. Than again, I'm not going to not let Blues fans hope: they haven't had much to hope for in the last few years.

5th - 12th Could be anywhere there.
Have the best group of onballers in the comp, but they are still another year away from fulling maturing. Hampson, Grigg, Gibbs and Murphy will all enjoy having Scotland, Hadley, Stevens and Judd to play with.
I think 9th, but right up the top winning and competeing for flags for quite a while after that.
Have assembled an awesome list!

Haha, talking finals. :D:thumbsu:

Oh my.. how the little blue hearts are going to be shattered. Imagine if Judd struggles, Fev goes off the rails as per-usual, Kruzur rightly in the 2nds... Ackland and Cloke holding the ruck stocks.

What will Carlton fans do?

Who? :confused::confused:

I reckon the highest Carlton could realistically go is 11th. Even a first week finals exit is really unrealistic I believe. Than again, I'm not going to not let Blues fans hope: they haven't had much to hope for in the last few years.

Wow, one flag in in what, 44 years or something pathetic like that, and Geelong supporters think that they are all high and mighty. Pfft!

5th - 12th Could be anywhere there.
Have the best group of onballers in the comp, but they are still another year away from fulling maturing. Hampson, Grigg, Gibbs and Murphy will all enjoy having Scotland, Hadley, Stevens and Judd to play with.
I think 9th, but right up the top winning and competeing for flags for quite a while after that.

a man with good knowledge :thumbsu::)

If all these things happen:

- Judd and Stevens both return to full capacity
- Murphy and Gibbs development is accelerated as much as can be reasonably expected, and become fully-fledged midfield stars
- Fevola is injury (physical and mental) free, and returns to his '06 form
- Fisher plays as well as he did in 07
- Hampson bulks up and becomes a ruck option, Cloke stays in injury-free as a backup and Kreuzer is AFL-ready
- O'Hailpin keeps developing and can hold down a KP defence spot, Jamison bulks up and becomes another KP option
- Walker realises his potential
- Waite finds some consistency
- One or more of Grigg, Hartlett, Anderson, Bower, Bentick, Wiggins takes a big step forward and becomes a decent player
- Ratten proves himself to be a competent coach, and demonstrates that the horrific coaching errors he made late in 2007 (leaving 3rd-gamer Jamison on Matthew Lloyd one-out in the last quarter, playing Saddington on Rocca and not O'Hailpin, failing to rotate the midfield against Port) were in fact deliberate ploys as part of a 'tanking' strategy, and not just evidence he can't coach.

If all that happens, Carlton will be a top 4 team. Likelihood of that occuring? Probably 1 in 1000.

More realistically:
- One of Judd/Stevens misses 8 games or more. The other returns to 75-80% capacity in the short term
- Murphy and Gibbs continue to develop steadily. Murphy rises to 'star' status, Gibbs remains 12 months away
- Fevola has 4 absolutely dominant games, 4 games where he flips out and moons the crowd or abuses the coach, misses 3 games through injury and 2 through suspension, and wins the Coleman medal.
- Fisher drops back to being solid but nothing more
- Hampson is still 2 years away. Cloke plays 5 games, then gets injured because he is undersized. Kreuzer isn't AFL ready. Carlton use a combination of O'Hailpin and Ackland in the ruck again
- O'Hailpin plays in the ruck instead of defence. This leaves Thornton/Jamison outmatched, pinches Waite from attack and the defence again struggles
- Walker confirms the general bigfooty opinion to be correct
- Waite has 3 great games in a row from rounds 6-8, which prompts everyone to announce his 'arrival'. He then goes missing for the next 4 matches, spends 3 weeks in defence, goes missing for another 5 games, then plays a blinder in round 22
- Grigg looks good but does stupid things. The rest get delisted at the end of the year
- Ratten confirms my suspicions and proves that his 0-6 coaching record in 2007 wasn't out of character

If, as I suspect is more likely, the second scenario occurs, Carlton will likely be somewhere between 12th and 16th again.

AH fickle supporters shopuld not be allowed to support

10th-12th is my bet for where Carlton will finish in '08. Maybe as low as 14th, but I don't see them finishing last or second last this time around in '08.

And hell, what if Cousins goes into the draft {there's two, isn't there?} and Carlton snap him up? He could be a hit at Carlton and they may just sneak into the 8. I wouldn't think so, though.

Carlton will have probably the best, if not second best midfields going around next year. Carrazzo absolutely blitzed it, the year before simpson stepped up to really strut his stuff. Walker has shown what he is capable and next year maybe the first time he is used outside of his usual stopping role on the oppositions best running player. No need to mention the addition of Judd and Hadley as sensational gets, best mid in the country. On top of this we have Nick Stevens, pure class. Then we have the emerging talent in Murphy and Gibbs. Say no more.

The forward line already claims one of the best in the business, and with the addition of three guns firing from the midfield will be hard to stop, in fact most of the time wont be.

Siding up to Fev will be two young guns who have been struggling with injuries and a lack of depth which has meant they have been playing stop gap roles. Next year will be their first chance to show their wares in the roles they were meant to play. Waite is half bees foreskin away from stepping up to being recognised as the champion we know he is. Fisher is pound for pound the best mark in the comp. Easily the best hands in the pack.

We have half a dozen emerging players who look the goods to play in ruck and fill in down back. From Aisake who is already shaping up as being better than his older bro who is already so far ahead of schedule people are rapt, to Hampson with the best leap the league has seen.

NO doubt things have been super tough. And we have really lacked depth as we relied on top ups while we dealt with our indiscretions and re-built. No one could be blamed for thinking we are rabble based on recent performances. But if people really think we are the same team that went into the 2002 season proper then think again. WE have only five players left from that era.

If there is anyone who still considers us to be the same team, that nothing has changed, that we are not re-built from the players to the board, then it is
them that are sorely disillusioned.

No one is saying we are going to have a tilt at the flag, but we are no longer going to be the easy beats. There wouldn't be a coach in teh league who would think so.

We will smash Hawthorn. That much is for sure.
Get your hand off it, you're not going to be smashing anything, except maybe losing margin records.

Carlton will have another year at the bottom end, sitting 11th. Every year Carlton supporters expect to make the top 8, its pretty hillarious watching their hopes crumble. :D

Top 4! :cool: (4th..possibly 3rd with a good injury run)

Hey, If Nth were good enough to finish 4th in '07 with their list, then we're certainly good enough to finish top 4 in '08 with ours. :thumbsu:

Bookmark it doubters. You'll see. :rolleyes:

PS
WCE, Sydney & Collingwood will slide in 08 and Nth, Hawks and Port will disapoint and not replicate after efforts of this year, unfortunately.

Every year see's a couple of unexpected teams climb much higher than anyone could realistically expect based on form from the previous season. In '08 Brissie and Carlton will be those 2 teams.

A) KANGAS HAVE TEAM SPIRIT, COOPERATION AND TEAMWORK THAtS WHY THEY CAME 4TH, CARLTON HAVE NONE OF THAT.

B) THEY HAVE A BETTER LIST THAN U WITH OR WITHOUT JUDD

Rnd 2- Geelong defeated Carlton by 78 points
Rnd 3- West coast defeated Carlton by 61 points
Rnd 12- Hawthorn defeated Carlton by 100 points
Rnd 13- Fremantle defeated Carlton by 77 points
Rnd 15- Sydney defeated Carlton by 62 points
Rnd 16- Brisbane defeated Carlton by 117 points
Rnd 18- Kangaroos defeated Carlton by 82 points

Does an awsome list get belted like that when they come a across quality sides?

Being realistic, Carlton has an average list. Carlton has a list of five or six A grade players but then the majority of the side is made up of D to C grade players. With a list like that, Carlton should be able to defeat the lower sides comfortably and have a decent chance of pinching a victory or two from the middle of the road sides. But Carlton are going to be exposed (as what was indicated last year) by the sides that actually have an awsome list.

I know I can't critise because Richmond has a poor list. But I am just bringing a realistic perspective to the table.

Being realistic, Carlton has an average list. Carlton has a list of five or six A grade players but then the majority of the side is made up of D to C grade players. With a list like that, Carlton should be able to defeat the lower sides comfortably and have a decent chance of pinching a victory or two from the middle of the road sides. But Carlton are going to be exposed (as what was indicated last year) by the sides that actually have an awsome list.

I know I can't critise because Richmond has a poor list. But I am just bringing a realistic perspective to the table.

Damn those results really look horrible. I watched the majority of those and turned it off during the 3rd qtr. If we start pulling those results again next year god help us.

Though I dont think we will. Finals is a big ask, not completely out of the question but it would be a pleasant surprise. After reading about some of the senior players comments that have just come out (Campo, Kouta etc) I think we will definately be a competitive unit next year, purely because it sounds like the players just wouldnt play for Pagan or his gameplan. If they play for Ratts at 110% it will make a huge difference along with the acquisition if Judd, Stevens and Cloke (obviously not a superstar but Ackland just cant cut it in the ruck and we need all the help we can get).

We are miles off teams like Geelong, Hawthorn, Port and WCE. They all have class all over the ground. Look at Geelongs midfield: Corey, Ablett jr, Chapman, Enright, Bartel etc, the list goes on, they have around 8 quality players that can rotate through, Carlton whilst now having some good talent there cant boast that rotation. Then throw in Scarlett, Egan, Harley Wojinsci and thats 4 quality players in defence, we have what? Thornton and oHailpin they dont come close.

We will definately improve this year and I think we will have a couple of big wins as well, I think we should be able to pull off 9-10 wins and if absolutely everything goes right push for a finals berth.

We do have a great young list but have had absolutely no experience. Last year the only regular best 22, 24+ players, were Houlihan, Fevola and Scotland and Waite. Stevens was the other one on our list but he only played 3 games.

Even you guys have far more experience than us.

5th place awaits us! :D

Forget the obvious:
  • players playing with passion following the departure of Pagan
  • inspiring new coach (highly respected by the playing group)
  • plethora of new, invigorated support staff
  • stevens back and itching to make up for lost time
  • forward line to fire, with fev, fisher and waite all playing exciting and consistent football
  • hadlee to make his mark and show why he was a premiership player
  • murphy to become a certified gun
  • gibbs to really make an impact
  • kreuzer to show what's in store for 2009 - mark him down as our regular CHF from 2009 onwards
  • setanta to take a big step-up and become a feared opponent
  • all other young players to step-up and emulate some of the feats we seen in 2007 from Collingwood's young players; improvement will really be noticed by opposition players and supporters
  • fairly good draw
  • and, of course, judd...
Here are the X factors:
  • Aisake (O'Hailpin), who would have been our ruckman this year if he hadn't contracted OP, will be a stand-out revelation in the ruck and will be well-supported by Cloke, Hampson and Kreuzer; Acland will move down the pecking order as our young rucks take all before them
  • Ryan Jackson will catch everyone by surprise - will be a gun (he is primed - mark my words)

How high can Carlton go in '08?