How long can we stick with the worst defender in the league?

Hopefully Murphy develops a sense of compassion and offers to leave the club effective tomorrow morning

How about you do the same you nuff nuff?

FFS, we get your view on Tom Murphy. Why don't you let it go for a while?

Hawthorn can do without "supporters" like you.

if he is gone it would be worse !!!!!!!!
saying we [ the TEAM ] need improvement i don't have a problem with yes you have a right to an opinion but bagging is not an opinion it is bagging and to me that is as bad as bullying whuich i have copped at school and copped on these boards whether here or HHQ or Mighty i have copped it and i despise bullies ! and i hate people bagging players now if you said he needs to practice his marking or his kicking i think that would be called constructive critisim and i think that would be fine sort of ! but what some are saying i think is bad !

Reading your rant I can see this criticism is more about you than TM. I think you should refrain from reading these posts if it hurts you so personally.

ah i was comparing dear not about me at all it is about bagging players simple as that and i say it is as bad as bullying but that is my opinion !
i don't agree with bagging players and never will , i am sure the ones who did not play well know how bad they played and have heard it from the coach !

it is team work that wins games and loses games not just 1 player !

Hey all!
Unfortunately today was a day we would all much rather forget. It was a very poor performance from the boys, & quite reflective of the inconsistent football we have played thus far this season.
I thought we showed great determination last week to overcome one of our bogeye sides (Sydney), & was hoping we may have turned the corner. But then we backed up last weeks great win, with todays poor showing.
All in all, todays loss was a result of a very poor team effort. TEAM being the operative word!
Tom Murphy made some costly errors, but he was not alone. As supporters, the best thing we can do is back our team & ALL its players.

murphy has been on the 3rd/4th heaps now i have no idea what you are trying to defend splodge. He is being exposed when the teams down good players try hard and step up his useless.

Hey all!
Unfortunately today was a day we would all much rather forget. It was a very poor performance from the boys, & quite reflective of the inconsistent football we have played thus far this season.
I thought we showed great determination last week to overcome one of our bogeye sides (Sydney), & was hoping we may have turned the corner. But then we backed up last weeks great win, with todays poor showing.
All in all, todays loss was a result of a very poor team effort. TEAM being the operative word!
Tom Murphy made some costly errors, but he was not alone. As supporters, the best thing we can do is back our team & ALL its players.

well said i think as i have said before that they were buggered from last week got to remember we have a lot of young ones who have not played many AFL not Vfl games so their match fitness may not quite be up there i may be 1 of many reasons not the sole reason that we lost and no it was not 1 player that casued the loss either it was a number of them .

they all had a bad day as did all of us ! i will still support my TEAM 100% i will NEVER JUMP OFF THE HAWK EXPRESS !

You guys really dont know what the hell you are watching. Yes Murphy made errors, no doubt about it, but geez for the amount of inside 50's Brisbane had with their final score in the total scheme of things the defence did pretty well and did well to hold their own.
Where we died and were disastrous today was the midfield. McGlynn 5 posessions wtf, Bateman where the hell was he? Sammy tried with no effectiveness and Lewis goes in tough but is undisciplined. Tuck can get the ball but time and time again just bombs it forward without even aiming for a target. Sewell can hold his head high, he did well considering how bad we were. Our ruckman couldnt win a tap for the life of them and they wernt even going up against 1st rate ruckman. Cant say too much about Buddy and Roughead as the delivery is atrocious.

You guys really dont know what the hell you are watching. Yes Murphy made errors, no doubt about it, but geez for the amount of inside 50's Brisbane had with their final score in the total scheme of things the defence did pretty well and did well to hold their own.
Where we died and were disastrous today was the midfield. McGlynn 5 posessions wtf, Bateman where the hell was he? Sammy tried with no effectiveness and Lewis goes in tough but is undisciplined. Tuck can get the ball but time and time again just bombs it forward without even aiming for a target. Sewell can hold his head high, he did well considering how bad we were. Our ruckman couldnt win a tap for the life of them and they wernt even going up against 1st rate ruckman. Cant say too much about Buddy and Roughead as the delivery is atrocious.
Thank you JiMaRas, but unfortunately common sense and accuracy are looked down on at the moment.

Have to politely disagree 82. Kennedy is not quick enough. He may well evolve his game to be a good midfielder (eg. Jobe Watson), and I hope he does, but the last thing we need after what we saw on the weekend is another slow midfielder.

Kennedy can hit the target. Tuck has proven he cannot. Must return to BH and give Josh a go.

at the moment the bandwagoners have murph in their sights and can not see the bigger picture of that game sadly !!!!!!!!!!!

The thread title says it all.

Unfortunately the time has come from this member/supporter/man who lives and breaths Hawthorn, to acknowledge that Tom Murphy as much as we "have" to love him, he is TO THIS POINT of his career simply not up to the required standard of an AFL footballer.

Gone are the excuses that he is outsized or any other feeble justification.

This week, as he has so often, played against 4th and 5th option forwards and was again comfortably beaten as well as making the usual amount of skill errors and the usual weak efforts chasing like a headless chook and contesting like a ballet dancer. Having said that he was not alone on Sunday, BUT I've found myself aware of the same problems in most games Murph has played this season.

For me, I'd blood a Jordan Lisle or such if you are going to play young blokes who you know are going to have limited affect on a match for some time (Schoey, Shiels etc) rather than a bloke who has been in the system for several years, makes minimal difference to our side and even last season after several years doing nothing finally proved his absolute best so far couldn't get him in our best 22.

I hope I'm proven wrong, I truly do and I'll happily eat humble pie. But I reckon I've played and watched enough high grade footy in my years to be able to make this call.:(

1. On this board members must be allowed the right to their opinion, positive or negative. It is these differences in opinions that make boards like this interesting. Far more so than a circle jerk anyway.

2. HOWEVER. Negative posts regarding individuals should probably be expressed with a degree of tact. Whether you believe a player is up to the standard or not, they are a Hawthorn player and deserve our support.

3. I do not know if Murphy, Dowler* or Tuck will "make it". I hope they do. But at this point in time (and for a variety of reasons) I cringe whenever they go near the ball. Perhaps this means that they need more work / time. Perhaps it means they are not good enough.

4. Despite my personal observations on the above named players, I would never question their desire, intent or heart. I really do feel that this is something that our board members can not and should not comment on. It is a physical impossibility for us on the outside to know what a player is feeling/thinking.

* Must admit, he goes in hard and I really like that. I just hope everytime he gets it that someone is running past for the handball.

1. On this board members must be allowed the right to their opinion, positive or negative. It is these differences in opinions that make boards like this interesting. Far more so than a circle jerk anyway.

2. HOWEVER. Negative posts regarding individuals should probably be expressed with a degree of tact. Whether you believe a player is up to the standard or not, they are a Hawthorn player and deserve our support.

3. I do not know if Murphy, Dowler* or Tuck will "make it". I hope they do. But at this point in time (and for a variety of reasons) I cringe whenever they go near the ball. Perhaps this means that they need more work / time. Perhaps it means they are not good enough.

4. Despite my personal observations on the above named players, I would never question their desire, intent or heart. I really do feel that this is something that our board members can not and should not comment on. It is a physical impossibility for us on the outside to know what a player is feeling/thinking.

* Must admit, he goes in hard and I really like that. I just hope everytime he gets it that someone is running past for the handball.

nicely said ! :thumbsu:

Who would people prefer at this stage as our sixth defender, if one of Murphy, Schoey or Dowler was given the opportunity?

I know Dowler and Scoey are a little taller, but think they would all be given the role on the weaker medium sized forward.

For mine it's:

1. Schoey
2. Dowler
3. Murphy

What do others think?

Who would people prefer at this stage as our sixth defender, if one of Murphy, Schoey or Dowler was given the opportunity?

I know Dowler and Scoey are a little taller, but think they would all be given the role on the weaker medium sized forward.

For mine it's:

1. Schoey
2. Dowler
3. Murphy

What do others think?
1.Dowler
2.Schoey
3.Lisle