How many of you flogs have kids?

Do you have children?

• Yes, I do. I gave up sleep unwillingly and my life is torture since

Votes: 19 33.9%
  • No, I don't. And why would I? I am the epitome of evolution, children should immaculately appear...

Votes: 37 66.1%

Completely agree with this.

It's why those stories of 60+ year old woman having IVF babies always make me cringe. There's a decent chance they'll be dead before their child is 15.

What about those old fart men in their 80's who marry young girls, the kids probably won't even be old enough to go school, before the old bastard dies.

Yes, just as bad, if not worse.

It's not a phenomenon restricted to either gender.

25, wouldn't consider having children until 32-33. My dad had me when he was 30 and it was a pretty good age gap. I reckon I'll be fitter than him (he can put away a few beers when so inclined) so I'll be able to have kids later in life and still keep up.

My girlfriend wants to start having kids at about 28. Uh... no.

25, wouldn't consider having children until 32-33. My dad had me when he was 30 and it was a pretty good age gap. I reckon I'll be fitter than him (he can put away a few beers when so inclined) so I'll be able to have kids later in life and still keep up.

Earlier you have them, earlier they leave home and give you peace and quiet, anything to get away from the noise and the nagging... Of a family of love. Happy family!

It pretty much comes down to a question of whether you want to 'live' now, or later in life, doesn't it?

Um isnt the average age of kids leaving home getting higher and higher? :p

Also if they are greek add 10 years (or even more) to that average!!!!!!!

I myself, left home at 26- perhaps you could call it 25, since I had been OS for a year- and wish I did it alot sooner, maybe around 21.

I'm comfortable with the fact I won't have kids. It's a trade off, I don't have to behave like an adult, because I don't have kids, but I miss out the immense satisfaction that people get from raising a family. I also fit the role of eccentric uncle rather well.

You're not the uncle that goes to family get togethers, gets drunk, throws the nieces or nephews in the air and drops them or swings them around and lose your grip on them? :p

There was an ad about it a few years back.

Why is it selfish to not to want to have kids? I dont think I do (for a number of reasons), but I have devoted like 10 years to educating children, so does that make me selfish? Or perhaps less?

Just shits me this selfish tag.

Good-bye Mr. Chips.

The bloke's generally loaded in those instances so they're well catered for after the old goats fall off the perch.

Serious question... "yes, have kids"...

Please, GD posters... I'd like to get a feel, so to speak.

Pedo-Bear-loli-army-29583191-176-287.jpg

You're not the uncle that goes to family get togethers, gets drunk, throws the nieces or nephews in the air and drops them or swings them around and lose your grip on them? :p

There was an ad about it a few years back.
Nah, I'm a cracking uncle. Mr Gough and I took three under tens to the Turner exhibition not long ago, all have been to a day's play at a Test on my watch as well. That's the good thing about being an uncle, you get to do all the fun stuff and rarely the serious stuff.
Do tend to get drunk at family dos, but I'd be no orphan there.

Nah, I'm a cracking uncle. Mr Gough and I took three under tens to the Turner exhibition not long ago, all have been to a day's play at a Test on my watch as well. That's the good thing about being an uncle, you get to do all the fun stuff and rarely the serious stuff.

You took them to the Turner exhibition....... let me guess: their favourite part was the canteen.

lol, like my brother, all care and no responsibilty.

Because the mother will still be around. They are idiots, F-me I want to enjoy retirement, not have kids at that age!, but the kids will still have a parent. Unless those 60+ IVF mums have 20 or 30 year old partners it's a totally different situation.

There's the two trade off's involved in picking when to have kids IMO, the first is the live a life one. You want to have had some time for yourself before you have kids. So unless you're a teenage mother to be looking to live off welfare for life that pushes them out to at least 25. So you've had time to study, get a job, travel a bit, go out without arranging babysitters etc.

Then there's the financial versus relate to / play with your kids trade off. The older you are (generally) the better you'll be set up financially, have the house, a career started, the means to provide more than the bare minimum of a smoked filled rental property for them to come into. Versus the older you are the bigger the generation gap and the more likely to be the parent sitting watching their kids at the park instead of running around with them.

With these two trade offs, IMO the best age to have them is 30 - 35 (as a bloke). You (hopefully) have some assets, a house (most likely paying off) and a decent job. You're still young enough that you'll be able to kick the footy or just around with them without risking a heart attack. And you'll inevitably go 'I don't fully understand today's kids', but you will enough to at least wing it to a degree, not be such an age gap you just go 'WTF?' and have no clue how to relate or what is cool for them.

Is your GF younger than you? The trade off ages above really only apply to the bloke. If you're 30 - 35 when shes 28, that's not a bad time to have them. How old are you now? And do you exercise at all? Once you reach around 25 the days of staying in shape for little effort disappear and you need to start watching what you eat/drink and do some exercise kick in or you'll start the road to the middle age spread that covers (!) a majority of blokes 30+ in Australia these days.

Yep, 2 girls.

Had "the cut" a few years ago, so I'm done.

Often think about if we'd had a boy. But my little 5 year old daughter loves her sport, so might be OK.

If you don't want kids, you're not selfish. They aren't for everyone. I for example, don't like any other kids apart from my own.

There's the two trade off's involved in picking when to have kids IMO, the first is the live a life one. You want to have had some time for yourself before you have kids. So unless you're a teenage mother to be looking to live off welfare for life that pushes them out to at least 25. So you've had time to study, get a job, travel a bit, go out without arranging babysitters etc.

Then there's the financial versus relate to / play with your kids trade off. The older you are (generally) the better you'll be set up financially, have the house, a career started, the means to provide more than the bare minimum of a smoked filled rental property for them to come into. Versus the older you are the bigger the generation gap and the more likely to be the parent sitting watching their kids at the park instead of running around with them.

With these two trade offs, IMO the best age to have them is 30 - 35 (as a bloke). You (hopefully) have some assets, a house (most likely paying off) and a decent job. You're still young enough that you'll be able to kick the footy or just around with them without risking a heart attack. And you'll inevitably go 'I don't fully understand today's kids', but you will enough to at least wing it to a degree, not be such an age gap you just go 'WTF?' and have no clue how to relate or what is cool for them.

Is your GF younger than you? The trade off ages above really only apply to the bloke. If you're 30 - 35 when shes 28, that's not a bad time to have them. How old are you now? And do you exercise at all? Once you reach around 25 the days of staying in shape for little effort disappear and you need to start watching what you eat/drink and do some exercise kick in or you'll start the road to the middle age spread that covers (!) a majority of blokes 30+ in Australia these days.
Good post man, and, as much as my opinion counts on this sort of shit, that seems to be the trick with having kids, don't do it young deliberately. Kids before 30 or at least very late 20's seems like an insane concept to me, for anyone.

Part of me does wonder whether a big family is the key to happiness in your old age. I can't imagine the last 20 odd years for a childless person are the most edifying, as you watch all your social circle gradually put six feet under.

How many of you flogs have kids?