How often do you use these Australian words?

1. Where are you from?
2. How often do you use/hear the following words or phrases?

- G'day - I never say it but I sometimes hear it
- Oi - never
- Cobber - never, what does this even mean?
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - replace bloody with ****ing and I use/hear it quite regularly
- Bloke- Occasionally
- Mate - Rarely
- No worries - Often
- Ta - Never, though my dad has said it in the past

1. Where are you from?
Rural QLD

- G'day - Use quite often, but don't hear that much
- Oi - Use & hear very often
- Cobber - Use never, hear very rarely
- Bloody oath - Use very often (usually abbreviated to just 'oath'), hear often
- Bloody hell - Use & hear very often
- Bloke - Use & hear very often
- Mate - Use & hear very often
- No worries - Use & hear very often
- Ta - Not used by me but hear it quite a bit

Since going to university in the city, it's occurred to me how much of the Australian slang that I've grown up with in a rural community isn't used among the masses. Very rarely are you greeted with a 'G'day'. Practically no one seems to try and get my attention with an 'Oi'. Before I attended school in the city, I figured that these words were common everywhere, but it appears not.

I figure BigFooty has a fairly widespread usage across Australia, so I want to know:

1. Where are you from?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

From - Perth

G'day and no worries I will drop a few times daily but mate is a word that comes out without any effort.

Example,
When I get to work, G'day mate...Hows it going ? blah blah yea no worries mate.
Couriers through out the day...same thing.

I dont use at the shops or when I am going out..I try to use proper slang sometimes

11034205_1823431021038127_4738609670575858299_n.png
Was this refreshment run on a "Satdy arvo".

1. Where are you from? Melbin

- G'day, weekly
- Oi, monthly
- Cobber, never
- Bloody oath, rarely
- Bloody hell, rarely
- Bloke, weekly
- Mate, daily
- No worries, daily
- Ta, never

1. Where are you from?

Derry, Northern Ireland

- G'day - All the time
- Oi - Few times a year
- Cobber - Few times a year
- Bloody oath - All the time
- Bloody hell - All the time
- Bloke - All the time
- Mate - All the time
- No worries - All the time
- Ta - Often

1. Where are you from?

- G'day - rarely
- Oi - never
- Cobber - absolutely never
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - rarely
- Bloke - occasionally
- Mate - frequently
- No worries - rarely
- Ta - frequently

North east suburbs of Melbourne.

I use G'day, Oi, Bloody Oath, bloody hell, bloke, mate and no worries all naturally quite regularly.

I may say to mates "how you going cobber" as more of a joke not in natural conversation.

I don't think I ever use Ta.

1. Where are you from?
Pennsylvania, USA

- G'day - Never
- Oi - Fairly often
- Cobber - Never
- Bloody oath - Never
- Bloody hell - A few times a week
- Bloke - Never
- Mate - A few times a month
- No worries - All the time
- Ta - Never

We don't have more than one or two Aussies around where I am, but I think Australian and English slang has really spread over the last two decades.

1. Where are you from? Perth

- G'day - rarely. I use time specific salutations. (good morning/ afternoon/ evening/ night. I do drop the "good" as well. Don't really say good day and you can't say just day.

- Oi - rarely. More often than not say "hey".
- Cobber - never
- Bloody oath - never
- Bloody hell - never
- Bloke - never.
- Mate - daily when thanking someone. "Thanks mate".
- No worries - rarely
- Ta - Daily. Ta, thank you. Ta, thanks mate.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Never heard of this one before?

I'm pretty sure it was a mildly racist or labelling term commonly used back in the day. Think it's actually spelt "sambo". Our parents named our black cat sambow and we eventually changed it to "boa" after the crackdown on political correctness many years ago :(

Since going to university in the city, it's occurred to me how much of the Australian slang that I've grown up with in a rural community isn't used among the masses. Very rarely are you greeted with a 'G'day'. Practically no one seems to try and get my attention with an 'Oi'. Before I attended school in the city, I figured that these words were common everywhere, but it appears not.

I figure BigFooty has a fairly widespread usage across Australia, so I want to know:

1. Where are you from?

- G'day
- Oi
- Cobber
- Bloody oath
- Bloody hell
- Bloke
- Mate
- No worries
- Ta

Born and bred in Melbourne.

I don't say Oi and I don't say cobber. I use G'day very rarely, usually I say 'howareya?' or howzitgarn?'

The others get a pretty fair workout.

How often do you use these Australian words?