I am going to pose a question about Gibbs and I expect serious responses

No Laidler.

When we had Laidler, and every other defender on our list, out on the park Gibbs was still left to rot at HBF.

It's ****ing useless and a waste of his obvious talents. His best football was played at HFF running through the midfield.

He needs to be given a role, not to run around like a headless chook at half-back where the majority of our opponents now realise they can easily boot it over his head. It's been happening for a month now. They get a quick break from the stoppage and the ball flies over Gibbs head. What's the point of having him at half-back if the ball never reaches him FFS.

He's having **** all effect on games due to his own laconic attitude and shit positioning.

When we had Laidler, and every other defender on our list, out on the park Gibbs was still left to rot at HBF.

It's ****ing useless and a waste of his obvious talents. His best football was played at HFF running through the midfield.

He needs to be given a role, not to run around like a headless chook at half-back where the majority of our opponents now realise they can easily boot it over his head. It's been happening for a month now. They get a quick break from the stoppage and the ball flies over Gibbs head. What's the point of having him at half-back if the ball never reaches him FFS.

He's having **** all effect on games due to his own laconic attitude and shit positioning.

Be careful the General will call you a troll.

I'd say he will play on the ball whilst murph is out! let's call it a challenge from coach to player! get in and under and the position is yours.

Gibbs doesn't want to go home.

Calm down.

He's mates with Jacobs.

Hopefully he wants to go to gws while he's still got some value. AFL compo 2 first rounders, use them in this year's draft to get a couple of midfielders that aren't scared of their shadows and we'll be back on track :thumbsu:

No Laidler.

What a bs excuse, when we had Laidler he was still being played down back. Ratts' isn't using him properly that's one thing, the other is his hopeless attitude and lack of intent and I think that's rubbed off onto some of the other players in our team and its spreading throughout the playing group, even Kruze was dishing out half arsed efforts yesterday which is something I thought I would never see.

I want him to cut his f****** hair and harden the f*** up! Run harder! But this is also Ratts using him poorly. I'm starting to get worried about our coach again and am thinking that maybe we do have the talent and it just isn't being used to its best... but i spose that's for a different thread...

I'd say he will play on the ball whilst murph is out! let's call it a challenge from coach to player! get in and under and the position is yours.

He doesn't even need to get 'in and under'; ie be at the bottom of a pack. Carrots doesn't get in and under, he just reads the ball so well off the tap, gets and gives quickly and accurately.

Gibbs is more than capable of doing this too.

As an aside, Dangerfield pestered Craig for years about being given an extended run in the midfield which fell on deaf ears, until Sanderson rocked up.

Ratten is fast making the same mistake with Gibbs.

Ive always thought Ratten was destroying Gibbs

Hes stuck in a defensive mindset now and focuses to much on body contact and player awareness rather than getting the ball and moving it forward. Its a result of constantly being forced to play a defensive shutdown role for so long, its inbred in him now

I'd honestly love to see him get thrown into the centre square at every bounce and play forward the rest. Reteach him to hunt the ball.

This really makes me laugh. Back before ratten it was pagan had destroyed russel and this person and now its ratten has destroyed gibbs. Now I am no fan of ratten but cmon. Anyhow ratten is the coach yous all wanted and don't lie and pretend you didn't because I remember when pagan got sacked and yous were all behind ratten despite his zero afl experience and his 0 and 7 win loss record after he took over from pagan. So if not ratten exactly who do you people want as coach?

He doesn't even need to get 'in and under'; ie be at the bottom of a pack. Carrots doesn't get in and under, he just reads the ball so well off the tap, gets and gives quickly and accurately.

Gibbs is more than capable of doing this too.

As an aside, Dangerfield pestered Craig for years about being given an extended run in the midfield which fell on deaf ears, until Sanderson rocked up.

Ratten is fast making the same mistake with Gibbs.

The difference is that Dangerfield is hard at the ball and can win contested ball. Gibbs can't.

Agree Dangerfield is more Selwood than Gibbs is but it was more my view that Gibbs is not being played where he is best suited rather than comparing like midfielder for like mid.

Gibbs is quite capable of getting the ball in close and doing something useful with it but he keeps his feet and you'll rarely see him eating dirt with bodies on top of him.

There are alot more players in the league who don't throw themselves head first into evey contest than there are players who do.

With Murph out I hope Gibbs gets an extended stint in the middle and we'll all know, once and for all whether he's capable there or not.

Hopefully he wants to go to gws while he's still got some value. AFL compo 2 first rounders, use them in this year's draft to get a couple of midfielders that aren't scared of their shadows and we'll be back on track :thumbsu:
Thanks Thinks_Alot...

You probably tell your kids or family to piss off if they're going through a bad stretch.

Clubs don't work like this.

Was Gibbs scared of his shadow and contact in our wins?

Footy supporters are goldfish like Judd stated.
What a bs excuse, when we had Laidler he was still being played down back. Ratts' isn't using him properly that's one thing, the other is his hopeless attitude and lack of intent and I think that's rubbed off onto some of the other players in our team and its spreading throughout the playing group, even Kruze was dishing out half arsed efforts yesterday which is something I thought I would never see.
Not BS. Without Jamison at 100%, Laidler there and Duigan or Russell (2010 form) leading down back, the side lacks a general to set them up and rebound.

The whole side has been half arsed.

Love that Murphy, Simpsons and Garlett just sail clear because Gibbs and Kreuzer were number one picks.

Armfield is the biggest liability in our side.

And I get accused of having favourites. Better than being someone who just goes with the flow and wants to sack our good players because they're angry about losing. Pathetic.

Gibs is a symptom - not a cause.

Our list is fragile - witness all the VFL players out injured with knees/shoulders - huge pressure on the side. No development continuity or plan - the whole notion based on "we have a window of opportunity to win a flag now" what a load of third rate thinking crock - and this from the senior elements of the Club.

Real Clubs plan for a continuous success based on a list of constantly improving players - pressuring for selection week in week ouit. Carlton has NO pressure coming from VFL zip nada none. Premierships come from being up there in top$ year in year out - which means being able to play and win against most opponents all the time.

Carlton arent a top 4 team never where and with curent list never will be.

Gibbs? Played his best football in forward half manning up against Goodes and Goddard types ie going head to head against oppositions playmakers.

Defence? Jamison isnt a general type - well find someone who IS. Supporters have been saying we are short 1-2 big bodies in back for years.

Up forward - what srtucure? Waite is out more than he is in. Walker gets thrown around as a utility player - becausd ehe can do teh job up front. Betts and Gartlett are kicked to in 2 on 1 s all the time and Hampson/Kreuz think taking a contested mark is an option - not an imperative - a total JOKE.

Midfileld best in competition? Maybe in touch footie.

Reality is dawning on teh Club - we have been found out in terms of lack of capability and depth. Top 8 will eb a great result- and fingers crossed we can win the first final if we get there. SO what? nothing has changed.

Love that Murphy, Simpsons and Garlett just sail clear because Gibbs and Kreuzer were number one picks.

Yep, Murphy gets to sail clear because unlike the other two, he wasn't a nu - oh wait. :confused:

You're picking scapegoats out of your arse. Murphy and Simpson sail clear because they were the best two performed players in the side over the first 6 rounds. 1 and 2 in the Carlton Board POTY after 6 rounds, 1 and 3 for Carlton on ep's top 50.

Thanks Thinks_Alot...

You probably tell your kids or family to piss off if they're going through a bad stretch.

Clubs don't work like this.

Was Gibbs scared of his shadow and contact in our wins?

Footy supporters are goldfish like Judd stated.

Not BS. Without Jamison at 100%, Laidler there and Duigan or Russell (2010 form) leading down back, the side lacks a general to set them up and rebound.

The whole side has been half arsed.

Armfield is the biggest liability in our side.

And I get accused of having favourites. Better than being someone who just goes with the flow and wants to sack our good players because they're angry about losing. Pathetic.

Sheez TG, now I have to find out who it was that called you a hypocrite and apologize to them for them being right :eek:

Defence? Jamison isnt a general type - well find someone who IS. Supporters have been saying we are short 1-2 big bodies in back for years.
Jamison is every bit a general in defence. Taking a while to regain form after being injured all season but he's a gun.

Jamo, Henderson and Laidler is a very solid defensive trio.

Jamison is every bit a general in defence. Taking a while to regain form after being injured all season but he's a gun.

Jamo, Henderson and Laidler is a very solid defensive trio.

Jamo isnt playing badly - but he isnt a good general back there either - a good general wouldnt allow our defence to be constantly sucked in too far down the ground openning us up for counter attack over the top- every week. A good general would insist that our defenders man up and make sure our match ups were right.

Jamo/Henderson/Laidler/Duigan are a good combination - get them to train Watson up. Make Watson their responsibility. STOP moving jamison/henderson around to forward 50 - it makes organising a defence and team work back there a total joke.

Reality?

Laidler out inj; Duigan playing <100% fit; Bower is a loose canon turnover merchant. Russell is playing crap Tuohey is developing into same back there - and YarrAn hasnt laid a tackle in defence on anyone - ever.

Tuohey should be playing midfield or HF - NOT defence.

Perfect opportunity to put gibbs in the midfield with murphy out for at least 8 weeks. Do it ratten!!!

Please if I hear 1 more person say put Gibbs in the midfield.

He is a backman, lets leave him there & find some other midfielders who can do what is required.

The previous poster suggested Tuohy, I'd rather try that than Gibbs.

the coach said gibbs was ready to explode so nows the time to put him in the engine room and see what hes made off.if they decide to leave him behind the ball then theyre both frauds.nows the time to stand up and be counted ,with a genuine superstar on the sidelines theres no better time.

I think Ratten knows he's too soft to put in the middle. He'll allow the opposition midfielders to be first at the ball so he can get a cheap tackle in only to realise that by the time he's tackled them, they've released to ball to a team mate.

But considering we have the Demons this week, he shouldn't be under any pressure even if he is thrown in the middle so he should more or less be the dominant midfielder on the ground because they'll obviously tag Judd now. Then cue the deluded people who think that because he did well against Melbourne in the middle, they'll start saying "told ya so" and use it as evidence that he'll do well against the top teams in the finals.

Spot on.

If there's ever a time when this bloke needs to stand, now is the time. With no Murph and no Carrots, this guy has to stand up and help Judd out in the centre. If Ratten doesn't play him in the midfield now that our 2nd and 3rd best mid are out then he seriously has rocks in his head.