He never went close to winning a Brownlow.
And pray tell, when was the last time a CHF won the Brownlow?
Dual MVP winner. Up until GAJ, no one had won more MVP’s than that.
I’d love to see Hobbs’ top 100 list. Would be one hell of a giggle-fest.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
He never went close to winning a Brownlow.
Carey average in finals: 18 disposals, 7 marks, 2.6 goals, 2 behinds, 1.2 tackles.
Kernahan average in finals: 13 disposals, 7 marks, 3.6 goals, 1.7 behinds, 0.8 tackles.
Not sure what Kernahan beats Carey in at all aside from goals, your post is a little misleading.
Carey benefits from two major things.
1. He is in the media currently.
2. People in decision making/powerful positions in the present media & AFL saw him play or played against or with him.
A lot of the ranking stuff is about timing. Sure Carey was very good. But there have been plenty of good players.
Was he better than Quinlan, Wade or Kernahan? Possibly not.
2. People in decision making/powerful positions in the present media & AFL saw him play or played against or with him.
A lot of the ranking stuff is about timing. Sure Carey was very good. But there have been plenty of good players.
It frustrates me when talking about a certain player, Carey in this case, that another player, Kernahan in this case, gets down played to make the other player seem even greater.I’m not going suggest Sticks was anywhere near Carey, but do want to note a couple of things. Firstly, Kernahan was a 5 x All Australian. He was 28yo when the All Australian team became what it is today and got two jumpers under that system and three under the previous carnival based system. Also, Sticks ended up playing closer to goal later in his career, but he started out a genuine CHF playing up the ground, while Carey was a CHF who played a hybrid role closer to goal than a traditional CHF. Lastly, Sticks was a great big game player and I’d say he has the superior record of ten two in finals, something he’s not given a lot of credit for in those types of conversations.
It’s to hard to rate players from different eras IMO - these days Carey would have 2 opp like Buddy does at moment because when he played it was more one on one footy coaches would have the 3rd man up and wouldn’t let the Pagan paddock to happen - SOS great fullback but a scragger like they all were is the day these days they would be constantly be giving away free kicks - how would the modern day athlete of a player go playing in the bog heaps they used to play in - how would the old players go with the speed of the game now - that’s why it is impossible to compare players out of different eras
As for me personally Carey was one of the best players I have seen in the 90’s
SOS great fullback but a scragger like they all were is the day these days they would be constantly be giving away free kicks
Nah I reckon it's a real good act, especially if they're hotRooting your team mates misses is a pretty low act! But for that to have you taken out of the list for one of the top 100 players ever lol
Hard to assess as a Carlton supporter as Carey never got the better of SOS.
How many seasons did Sticks have another bloke in his team kicking 75+ goals?Hard to assess as a Carlton supporter as Carey never got the better of SOS.
Plus Kernahan betters him on all key stats including goals per game and (by a margin) goals per game in finals.
How many seasons did Sticks have another bloke in his team kicking 75+ goals?
Took Silvagni in to the middle of the ground for the 3rd quarter of the 99 grand final, picked up 9 disposals and North extended a 20 point lead to an unassailable 43 point lead by 3/4 time.
Carey in today's game would be unstoppable.
Really? Having Longmire rather than Earl Spalding as the other KPF is not relevant?Given Carlton's goal-kicking midfield through the 90s that's not really relevant question.
He really kissed arse on the umpires and was lucky to play during a weak era.I know I missed most of his career but from a stats point of view Wayne Carey wasn't that impressive, not compared to other players of his era anyway and I don't get why he is held in such high regard.
SOS should’ve worn Carey like a glove, but for some reason Parkin had him stay down back a lot in that third quarter, playing at times on Allison and McKernan. I don’t know why. .
He’d kept Carey almost kickless to halftime and usually followed him and Hird into the middle when they’d gone there before.
Because stats aren’t everything. I’m by no means a Carey fanboi but he was one of the best in an era of greatsI know I missed most of his career but from a stats point of view Wayne Carey wasn't that impressive, not compared to other players of his era anyway and I don't get why he is held in such high regard.
I know I missed most of his career but from a stats point of view Wayne Carey wasn't that impressive, not compared to other players of his era anyway and I don't get why he is held in such high regard.