I hate race day virgins!

Im The Gun

Sep 21, 2004
around
I love gong to the races, when I'm not playing footy or cricket I try to get to them as much as I can, I've been to a lot of big days, 8 Melbourne Cups, 8 Oaks meetings, some before Oaks day was even "in" a number of Caulfield Cups and now 6 Cox Plates (it being my top race), I've even strapped a horse in each of these races back when I was working with the horses.

The one thing I hate are the "race-day Virgins" the first timers who do not know how to behaved at the races.
First of all the Tee-shirts and shorts/jeans 90% of people go to the effort of dressing up for the day, why can they?
I this year spent $300 on a new suit, $194 of a new shirt and tie (for yesterday), $200 on new shoes and $12 for the “rose of the day”.
If you can’t outlay that sort of money, you can still make some sort of effort to throw on a suit.

Second the “race to the drunkest”
I was in a part of the track that cost $165 to get in, that gave us all we could drink and eat for the day. By 11am (40 minute before the 1st) there were people throwing up, girls were “Plastered” by midday and making fools on themselves. I like a drink, but I also know that when people are around, I should not get as drunk as I can in the quickest time I can. By the running of the last no one cared about the races, people were tackling people walking across the lawn and feeling girls up. Fights were starting to break out and the day went from a good day there to see one of our greatest horses to a **********house day trying to get out of the place in a safe manor without getting tackled.

Third The lines to put bets on, There are windows for bet min. $50, $20, $10 and “everything else” I am a big punter, I could almost do it full time if I was allowed (mum would kill me, the GF would leave”) I never bet lower than $50 and what I like about this time of year is the no lines to bet with the TAB. People were lining up to make $5 bets in the $50 line. I know I sound like I’m having a sook, but I saw what odds on the Tote and Matras was on the tote and wanted to back it, I had $300 ready to go and there was a line, there was no way in hell there was 20 plus people there to have $50 or more on the race.

Next year it’s back to MVRC membership where people know how to behave at the races.

Im The Gun said:
I love gong to the races, when I'm not playing footy or cricket I try to get to them as much as I can, I've been to a lot of big days, 8 Melbourne Cups, 8 Oaks meetings, some before Oaks day was even "in" a number of Caulfield Cups and now 6 Cox Plates (it being my top race), I've even strapped a horse in each of these races back when I was working with the horses.

The one thing I hate are the "race-day Virgins" the first timers who do not know how to behaved at the races.
First of all the Tee-shirts and shorts/jeans 90% of people go to the effort of dressing up for the day, why can they?
I this year spent $300 on a new suit, $194 of a new shirt and tie (for yesterday), $200 on new shoes and $12 for the “rose of the day”.
If you can’t outlay that sort of money, you can still make some sort of effort to throw on a suit.

I was in a part of the track that cost $165 to get in, that gave us all we could drink and eat for the day. By 11am (40 minute before the 1st) there were people throwing up, girls were “Plastered” by midday and making fools on themselves. I like a drink, but I also know that when people are around, I should not get as drunk as I can in the quickest time I can. By the running of the last no one cared about the races, people were tackling people walking across the lawn and feeling girls up. Fights were starting to break out and the day went from a good day there to see one of our greatest horses to a **********house day trying to get out of the place in a safe manor without getting tackled.

Third The lines to put bets on, There are windows for bet min. $50, $20, $10 and “everything else” I am a big punter, I could almost do it full time if I was allowed (mum would kill me, the GF would leave”) I never bet lower than $50 and what I like about this time of year is the no lines to bet with the TAB. People were lining up to make $5 bets in the $50 line. I know I sound like I’m having a sook, but I saw what odds on the Tote and Matras was on the tote and wanted to back it, I had $300 ready to go and there was a line, there was no way in hell there was 20 plus people there to have $50 or more on the race.

Next year it’s back to MVRC membership where people know how to behave at the races.

Tissue?

Im The Gun said:
I love gong to the races,

etc
Agree with most of your points. Race clubs do not care about the horses, they care about money. Entry through the gate, alcohol sales and drunks betting more than they can afford. And they put 10 race cards on and spread the day from 11am - 6pm to maximise it. They are effectively turning quality race meetings into daylight nightclubs. A shame really.

I was in the MV members area, Tote queues, yeah they were bad especially in that tip they call the Octagonal Lounge with the tiled floor and the concrete roof the echo effect is a disgrace. There were two totes in the public where you could get service straight up at any window, amazing. But some Totes were understaffed. Understand your issue there, I hate getting on too when you are held up by a drunken male or female trying to bet on scratchings or reading out names of horses to the TAB operator!!

But the one I don't agree with is the fashion stuff. Why do people insist on wearing a suit to the races, even if they are in the public area? You can go to the races for 48 weekends of the year and T-Shirts are common place, but for some reason during Spring you have to dress up? Good on those who don't feel the need to be one of the many sheep. It is often the "virgins" who think the suits are a must for the races.

why dont you just go to the races by yourself and the rest of us will just stay at home. apart from the drunken fools that wreck other peoples time theres no way im outlaying $700 for a friggin suit, tie and shoes when i can just whack on a shirt and jeans and still look better and decent than most people as for the 20 people in front of you in the $50 line how do know they werent punting that amout of money,what i suggest to you mate is since you got the money go and buy your own betting window and that way youll never have to wait or complain problem solved :thumbsu:

Im The Gun said:
etc
very harsh IMO. DOnt go to the races much other than Oakbank. Part of the fun is getting smashed with ya mates, and trying to pick the odd winner. I don't think you should be obliged to suit up either.

• Banned
it's about class.
If you don't want to dress up a bit for the races, don't go during the spring.
It's about taking pride in the way you dress, women go to the effort and so should us men.
I'm not saying spend $700, I did and I like to, I have a little bit of cash and I want to spend my money that way, but when people treat the Spring races like they're end of season footy trips to the country races there's something wrong.

how should you behave then? i have never been to the races, or taken a punt, looking at the racing section of the newspaper gives me headache. i'm a uni student so i have had to study for exams, but eventually i'd like to go and see what it's all about. None of my mates are keen on it(or are in a similar position to myself), and i have no relatives who are either. What tips do you have for someone like myself?

I had a great day. I put all my bets on via my internet TAB account before I left the house. I wore my work clothes, a cheapish but smart shirt and black slacks because it's far too hot to wear a suit with all that humidity and it's lucky I did because Glen Boss sprayed me with champagne. I don't really care what anyone else wears, I'm there to watch the horses not people. I found a nice spot on the hill up near the Tabaret to watch the races. Next year I'm just going to buy a ticket for the Tabaret because the balcony there is an excellent viewing spot to watch them come by at the turn for home.

Yes, there were lots of drunks, lots of people talking nonsense about this horse or that jockey, but I'd backed a few winners and was in a good mood. I've heard that there was quite a bit of trouble but I didn't see any. I thought most people were well behaved. A lot of folk didn't seem to be having a very good time, maybe because of the rain. I think they would have been better off staying in the pub. The bouncer in the Junction tavern did say he'd dealt with a few punch-ons. I was struck with how young many people were. I felt like an old age pensioner and I'm only 31, it was like schoolies week.

I limited myself to three beers because I become a foolish gambler when I drink.

Im The Gun said:
I wish I were as good as you.

How could you expect them to know if they've never been before?

Your snobbery is laughable. It's like people wanting to promote the AFL and then snobbing newcomers who don't know the rules. Everyone must start somewhere.

Is your second name Carnonaro by any chance? Do you have a bro called Ben?

I was in a part of the track that cost $165 to get in, that gave us all we could drink and eat for the day. By 11am (40 minute before the 1st) there were people throwing up, girls were “Plastered” by midday and making fools on themselves. I like a drink, but I also know that when people are around, I should not get as drunk as I can in the quickest time I can.
Tip:
1. Most people who go to the races really don't care about racing. It's a ******** up basically
2. Races only appear classy to bogans. It's not classy at all. The reason being is it attracts the bogans you talk about.

By the running of the last no one cared about the races, people were tackling people walking across the lawn and feeling girls up. Fights were starting to break out and the day went from a good day there to see one of our greatest horses to a **********house day trying to get out of the place in a safe manor without getting tackled.

Third The lines to put bets on, There are windows for bet min. $50, $20, $10 and “everything else” I am a big punter, I could almost do it full time if I was allowed (mum would kill me, the GF would leave”) I never bet lower than $50 and what I like about this time of year is the no lines to bet with the TAB.
You're my hero. I wish I had a penis as big as yours.

Once again, not sure why you expected anything different. The people who think racing is a classy sport are the same people who think girls in white pants are classy.

Racing attracts yobbos. Deal with it.

bunsen burner said:
I wish I were as good as you.
not many are!
bunsen burner said:
How could you expect them to know if they've never been before?

Your snobbery is laughable. It's like people wanting to promote the AFL and then snobbing newcomers who don't know the rules. Everyone must start somewhere.
Hey I'm all for newcomers to racing, I love racing and the more people who love it the better.

bunsen burner said:
Is your second name Carnonaro by any chance? Do you have a bro called Ben?
what are you on?

bunsen burner said:
Tip:
1. Most people who go to the races really don't care about racing. It's a ******** up basically
2. Races only appear classy to bogans. It's not classy at all. The reason being is it attracts the bogans you talk about.
what about the kings, queens, princes and princess's, Racing is a world leader in bringing the rich and poor together.

bunsen burner said:
You're my hero. I wish I had a penis as big as yours.
must be hard living with a needle **********, I like to bet big, the totes on track trys to make it easier for people like myself by having $50 bet lines.

bunsen burner said:
Once again, not sure why you expected anything different. The people who think racing is a classy sport are the same people who think girls in white pants are classy.
All I'm saying is that a little bit of class shown by people.

bunsen burner said:
Racing attracts yobbos. Deal with it.
It's starting to, Racing on a whole doesn't, but those who have just turned 18/19 who think that drinking as much as you can in as little time is cool hopefully will grow up soon.

luckysaint48 said:
how should you behave then? i have never been to the races, or taken a punt, looking at the racing section of the newspaper gives me headache. i'm a uni student so i have had to study for exams, but eventually i'd like to go and see what it's all about. None of my mates are keen on it(or are in a similar position to myself), and i have no relatives who are either. What tips do you have for someone like myself?
you can have fun, but it's not a end of season footy trip to the country races.
Don't drink as much as you can, space yourself because it's at least 6 hours outside. go to some effort and don the suit, it doesn't have to a $300 one, but as long as you're wearing one. It's apart of the fun of the spring, everyone going to some sort of effort in the way the look & behave.

Im The Gun said:
go to some effort and don the suit, it doesn't have to a $300 one, but as long as you're wearing one. It's apart of the fun of the spring, everyone going to some sort of effort in the way the look & behave.

The races are for everyone. There is no dress requirement for the general public (apart from neat and casual) and nor should there be. Why should someone fork out money to buy a suit. Isn't that elitism?

I'm on your side ITG.

I work during the carnival for a bookie and the behaviour is just getting worse by the year. Obnoxious drunks everywhere, girls falling over and just generally a nasty atmosphere towards the end of the day.

I love a drink myself and am definitely no wowser but something has to be done soon. I heard Jo McKinnon on the radio today and she said that crowd behaviour is the number one issue facing race clubs today.

A couple of things that may help.

Heavy enforcement of the under age drinking rule. It seems that there are more teenage drunks at the races than anywhere else. Why ?

This one pains me to say but it has to be done. Enforce the under age betting rule.
I've never seen one bookie or tote clerk knock back someone on the grounds that they are under age. Hell, I've taken many a bet from kids I know are 14 or 15. Everybody turns a blind eye to it. However I think we (the racing community) need to make it clear that the races are for adults. I think one of the attractions of the races for the 16yo and 17yo's is that they get to be treated like grown ups for the day. They've lost that trust now. There are just far too many who get drunk before the races and then behave like imbeciles to all those around them.
Its a shame because you want to encourage kids to be racegoers and I fondly remember my days at the races as a 16yo. However I didn't go and get plastered and annoy the genuine punters. It may also help with those queues at the tote windows !!!!!

Zero tolerance policy. If someone is drunk and being a nuisance show them the gate. Do not pass go.

Disagree with you about the suits though ITG. If you want to go in a tshirt and jeans, then fine. Ditto if you wish to wear a suit.

whythelongface said:
The races are for everyone. There is no dress requirement for the general public (apart from neat and casual) and nor should there be. Why should someone fork out money to buy a suit. Isn't that elitism?

People pay $60 to get in on cup day, most males have a suit and while some don't like wearing them, whats wrong with a shirt & tie when you are paying $60 in get in? It's about taking pride in the way you look during a ime of class. The spring racing goes for just 6 weeks, you can go to the races in just a tee-shirt & jeans all you want for 48 weeks of the year, but for 6 weeks when the best are in town, go to some sort of effort.

tee-shirts have no place during the spring IMO, if you have any pride in yourself you would think the same.

Im The Gun said:
I could almost do it full time if I was allowed (mum would kill me, the GF would leave”)

I have the occupation as a Professional Punter. Do it full time. Get yourself involved with a firm so atleast your on a salary aswell as getting money to have a punt.

If you go in independently and have a few bad weeks you will be in a lot of trouble!

Im The Gun said:
It's about taking pride in the way you look during a ime of class. The spring racing goes for just 6 weeks, you can go to the races in just a tee-shirt & jeans all you want for 48 weeks of the year, but for 6 weeks when the best are in town, go to some sort of effort.

tee-shirts have no place during the spring IMO, if you have any pride in yourself you would think the same.
You are a dead set snob. Who cares what you wear? I'd go in a t-shirt and jeans if I am in the public area. But I steer clear of the Melbourne Cup Carnival and Caulfield Cup Day for the reasons you mentioned above - the people who are there, it's just a frustrating day not being able to move or get bets on.

The people who go week in, week out to the races actually get ********ed off at this time of the year because the race clubs block their favourite viewing areas off, the access to betting rings and parade areas is bad and after all most of them are the ones who keep the clubs going during the 48 weeks of the year.

sludgebucket_05 said:
I have the occupation as a Professional Punter. Do it full time. Get yourself involved with a firm so atleast your on a salary aswell as getting money to have a punt.

If you go in independently and have a few bad weeks you will be in a lot of trouble!
I would love to but like I said mum would kill me.
I've worked in racing and still have a lot of friends who I still get a lot of good tips off.
I have money put away for a "rainy day" and I'm never short of a buck, but the risks are too high to give up work for. My Girlfriend freaks out a bit when I bet big, but she knows that I do know what I'm doing. She just doesn't want to spend the rest of her life with a pro-punter.

I have my own set of ratings which are all in a database file on my PC and backed up weekly, I at the moment try to work off a 2.5% POT% and I'm up for the last 3 years after a very poor year a few years ago.

ITG i agree with much of your sentiments but i disagree with having to dress up in suit. I go regularly to the races but absolutely hate wearing suits, so i wear my normal clobber which is jeans shirt etc. Otherwise yeah can't stand the queues and crowds either.

The Cox Plate and the Melbourne Cup would hardly be the major events they are if 500 people turned up to watch them would they? You might not like having to rub shoulders with the great unwashed but the racing clubs wouldn't get the prize money or the atmosphere without them.

That said, I would have loved to have gone to the races back in the glory days. I read that 30,000 people used to turn out most weeks at Randwick 70 or 80 years ago. It is a pity that more people don't appreciate the sport ahead of the booze and perving but at least they are paying a hefty amount to support the industry the other 11 months of the year.

Good post Im the Gun.
I disagree with you about wearing suits. I go to the races very often and I want to feel comfortable and relaxed. I dress in good quality clothes even though it is jeans,shirt etc. I'm all for it in the members but if you choose to be in the general public then it is fine to be dressed neat but casual. I'm an SAJC member but do not go into the members area as I enjoy the relaxed environment of the general public.
I agree with you regarding the d*** heads that attend. There was one incident over here in Adelaide recently that I witnessed where a horse was going off in the mounting yard and a group of childish morons in a footy trip group were yelling and cheering in response to the horse playing up and eventually the horse threw itself onto the ground. These people have no interest in the races and horses and I have no respect for them if they are going to come and not respect those who are regulars and take it seriously.
Another example is Oakbank on easter Monday over here. 60,000+ attend this great meeting and unfortunately 50% are ****heads who carry on like idiots.

Im The Gun said:
etc
I can see where you are coming from mate,but I think you are being a bit precious!
Everywhere you go out these days,whether it be the races,footy or out on the town @ night,you are always going to encounter idiots! If you let them worry you,it will stuff up your day/night.
Just concentrate on YOU having a good time,we are ALL out there to have fun so just CHILL mate :D

Im The Gun said:
People pay $60 to get in on cup day, most males have a suit and while some don't like wearing them, whats wrong with a shirt & tie when you are paying $60 in get in? It's about taking pride in the way you look during a ime of class. The spring racing goes for just 6 weeks, you can go to the races in just a tee-shirt & jeans all you want for 48 weeks of the year, but for 6 weeks when the best are in town, go to some sort of effort.

There are only 52 weeks are year.

HeLMie said:
There are only 52 weeks are year.
and the spring racing goes for 6 weeks
52 - 6 = 46
I'm asking that for 6 weeks that males wear a suit when going to the races during the spring

I hate race day virgins!