16 years since the salary cap breach and they still haven't recovered.How have Carlton been so bad for so long? I mean with all the attempted/exposed cheating as well. It's quite mind boggling
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
16 years since the salary cap breach and they still haven't recovered.How have Carlton been so bad for so long? I mean with all the attempted/exposed cheating as well. It's quite mind boggling
The thread though is specifically about Carlton having been awarded a prime time - hence club-lucrative fixture.Everyone’s very good at bashing when it’s not their team. How about leading by example and stopping this trolling and turn the big footy board into something a bit more respectable. Melb supporters on here have very short memories. Only two years ago were 20 goal floggings in good timeslots. Richmond fans are all happy now they’ve won their first final in 20 years. Carlton actually outscored 7 teams last weekend. Gws just scored 5 goals on Friday night. Brisbane are also 0-7 (yes they were good at home v Coll off their 12 day 3 game stint without Pendlebury and a host of others). Saints kicking around 40% at goal. Port and Ess buying top ups but still floundering mid table. Atleast we know where we are at (bottom) and quite happy to bide our time. Us carlton supporters will just sit back and wait however long it takes. But every single shit Friday night game from anyone and watch us let you all know about it. Starting with Sydney supporters this weekend. You better kick more than 10-11 goals or look out someone will make a “sky is falling” main board page about why Sydney is getting so many prime spots when they can’t even win at home.
True. But I reckon it has a lot to do with why the media love beating on Carlton. It sells. Carlton sells good or bad. People want to watch us get flogged. Others want to watch us succeed. Despite member numbers around 52,000 (still our current record to date) Carlton have a lot of people who watch footy.The thread though is specifically about Carlton having been awarded a prime time - hence club-lucrative fixture.
Your point about BigFooty bashing any team while down has some merit but it’s not precisely relevant.
I for one would love an explanation from the AFL as to why it chose to gift such an advantageous fixture to Carlton at the expense of teams who are performing and might be of interest to viewers looking forward to a decent Friday night footy match to lead into the weekend.
And yes - lots of other teams go though a period of years where they get floggings. And generally during this period, they don’t get a prime fixture. Why exactly does Carlton? I don’t think it’s an unreasonable question to ask.
Not enough people who watch footy to adequately justify the fixture though. Viewing is apparently significantly down this year. So Carlton being beaten soundly as expected doesn’t seem to be a recipe to attract new viewers to tune in, or persuade the old regulars to tune in rather than go out or surf the Netflix offerings.True. But I reckon it has a lot to do with why the media love beating on Carlton. It sells. Carlton sells good or bad. People want to watch us get flogged. Others want to watch us succeed. Despite member numbers around 52,000 (still our current record to date) Carlton have a lot of people who watch footy.
So Carlton’s 2 Friday night games so far with losses under 4 goals has been too one sided for you? The other 8 games have an average losing margin of 6 goals. 4 of which went past 10 goals. None had Carlton.Not enough people who watch footy to adequately justify the fixture though. Viewing is apparently significantly down this year. So Carlton being beaten soundly as expected doesn’t seem to be a recipe to attract new viewers to tune in, or persuade the old regulars to tune in rather than go out or surf the Netflix offerings.
I watch lots of games anyway. But I think lots of footy supporters watch their own game primarily, then other bits and pieces according to when they are around. Lots of people flick on the Friday match as the lead in to the weekend. I do too. And I would vastly prefer every time to see a competitive match up that offers some excitement and, hopefully, some quality skills that you can enjoy regardless that your own team isn’t involved.
They were a bit - yes - in so far as the result was accurately predicted by virtually everyone prior to the first bounce. But the bigger issue is that Carlton are playing football that isn’t particularly appealing to watch at the moment. Clearly this is by virtue of being a developing team starting from the foot of the mountain towards where they would like to be - but this is something the AFL would have been totally aware of before the advantageous fixturing.So Carlton’s 2 Friday night games so far with losses under 4 goals has been too one sided for you? The other 8 games have an average losing margin of 6 goals. 4 of which went past 10 goals. None had Carlton.
It's clearly not working since ratings are down 15% this year compared to last.
No, we shouldnt just suck it up. Because the AFL Public have zero comfort this bullshit wont be repeated next year, e.g. giving Freo 10 Friday night spots for some god forsaken reason. Heads need to roll and this shit needs to be acknowledged.Competitive entertaining quarter so far. People should just sit back and enjoy what is, will be amended next year but til then suck it up
Can’t believe Sydney got a Friday night. Legitimately rubbish football in their fortress. No wonder no fans turn upNo, we shouldnt just suck it up. Because the AFL Public have zero comfort this bullshit wont be repeated next year, e.g. giving Freo 10 Friday night spots for some god forsaken reason. Heads need to roll and this shit needs to be acknowledged.
No, we shouldnt just suck it up. Because the AFL Public have zero comfort this bullshit wont be repeated next year, e.g. giving Freo 10 Friday night spots for some god forsaken reason. Heads need to roll and this shit needs to be acknowledged.
Looks pretty appealing to me. The media have driven everyone out pushing an agenda against Carlton. The fans have missed one of the best competitive halves of the year. Blues up. **** the haters.They were a bit - yes - in so far as the result was accurately predicted by virtually everyone prior to the first bounce. But the bigger issue is that Carlton are playing football that isn’t particularly appealing to watch at the moment. Clearly this is by virtue of being a developing team starting from the foot of the mountain towards where they would like to be - but this is something the AFL would have been totally aware of before the advantageous fixturing.
But that’s as may be. I can only speak for myself, but if there must be an inequity with regards to how these prime slots are allocated, I would like the decision makers to give some consideration to the best possible quality matchup, featuring some more contenders for the neutral audience to enjoy.
But anyway, I’ve probably said as much as I have on the topic and the game has started so good luck and I hope that it is a good one.
Mate have you been watching this game? Absolute shocker.Lol thread backfire.
Give Carlton all the friday night games I say.
Was this all to get lethlean the CEO job, or for some other reasonCarlton's 2018 fixture is a clear pointer to the existence of corruption in the game. They didn't even try to hide this one.
No, we shouldnt just suck it up. Because the AFL Public have zero comfort this bullshit wont be repeated next year, e.g. giving Freo 10 Friday night spots for some god forsaken reason. Heads need to roll and this shit needs to be acknowledged.
Sunday twilights should rotate between West Coast and Fremantle in my view, a good game more often than not and a good time slot for WA fans.
I don't get the Carlton hate. That's not to say I have any idea how the AFL select the Friday night games.
Also the tv ratings and thus sponsor visibility to consider (as well as the AFL's desire to promote the game in NSW); Friday night is a profitable slot whether home or away.The Friday night games in Melbourne make more sense than less than 27,500 turning up to the SCG , So if it's about money they messed that one up , Sure Carlton have a strong supporter base but not in Sydney
stop blaming the media. It has zero relevance.Looks pretty appealing to me. The media have driven everyone out pushing an agenda against Carlton. The fans have missed one of the best competitive halves of the year. Blues up. **** the haters.