If AFL was any good....

Excellent! We want to ****ing get out already. Melbourne Rectangular Stadium ole!

Hahaha! You think Foxtel would choose AFL over football? They'll take the EPL over the AFL any day of the week. Not to mention UEFA and AFC Champions Leagues and the Primera Division on ESPN.

Yes, do that. Cut off your Foxtel and phone lines and stop buying consumer electronics.

yehp foxtell would choose afl over soccer because thats what gets the highest ratings and thats what brings in the dollars in.

Ill do business with companies that dont support soccer, just imagine how big a market that would be for a company made up of all afl fans who will not do business with soccer companies

weather you like it or not the afl has all the power, .Guess which sport all the media outlets make most of there money from ? the afl

guess who all the sponsors make the most money from ? afl fans

guess who has the most voters ? the afl

yehp foxtell would choose afl over soccer because thats what gets the highest ratings and thats what brings in the dollars in.

Ill do business with companies that dont support soccer, just imagine how big a market that would be for a company made up of all afl fans who will not do business with soccer companies

weather you like it or not the afl has all the power, .Guess which sport all the media outlets make most of there money from ? the afl

guess who all the sponsors make the most money from ? afl fans

guess who has the most voters ? the afl

Mate, even the Championship is worth more than the AFL ever will be. No media outlet will throw away soccer, and you're stupid for thinking they will.

Go ahead and attempt your sickening crusade. You'll lose.

Mate, even the Championship is worth more than the AFL ever will be. No media outlet will throw away soccer, and you're stupid for thinking they will.

Go ahead and attempt your sickening crusade. You'll lose.

whats the championship got to do with Australia ? nothing

as for no media outlet willing to throw away soccer ahahahahahahahha no won wants it, its not on free to air tv unless Australia is playing than it makes its way to sbs.THE countires number 1 selling newspaper gives it no attention.What sport cant get on foxtell ? theres even curling on foxtell

The AFL is the America of Australian sport, it has all the power and can bully other sports around

whats the championship got to do with Australia ? nothing

as for no media outlet willing to throw away soccer ahahahahahahahha no won wants it, its not on free to air tv unless Australia is playing than it makes its way to sbs.THE countires number 1 selling newspaper gives it no attention.What sport cant get on foxtell ? theres even curling on foxtell

The AFL is the America of Australian sport, it has all the power and can bully other sports around

:rolleyes:

You're not worth my time or effort. One day, football will destroy AFL. And you'll be first up against the wall when the revolution comes.

:rolleyes:

You're not worth my time or effort. One day, football will destroy AFL. And you'll be first up against the wall when the revolution comes.

Listen pal!!

Trolling is one thing.

Talking absolute bullshit is another.

You are adding nothing to this debate, except showing us all what a complete and utter moron you are.

FFS sake go back to the wogball board and find someone who will teach you the ability to post without dribbling crap down your bib!!

http://vulgar.com.au/libero/01lamington.html
In 2008, the VFL or AFL or whatever they call it now (for 99.99% of the world who think I’m talking about a law firm or tropical disease, I’m talking about Australian Rules, Eggball, Boganball, Fumbleball – a peculiar game played in the southern parts of Australia) celebrate their 150th year, which itself is debateable.

Anyone involved in this sport, especially the puppets in the media in the city of Melbourne and the small towns of Adelaide and Perth, will tell you it’s the “greatest game in the world”. The reality is that this game, after 150 years of existence, is surely a HUGE failure.

In 150 years, VFL is only popular in four states of Australia (a country of only 21 million people) – Victoria, SA, WA and Tasmania – with a combined population of approximately 10 million; we could add another 2 million people from the rest of the country and perhaps the rest of the world (& that is being very, very, very kind as most of those following the game overseas would be ex pats from the States listed above) and the games’ pool of fans totals a measly 12 million people. For a game that has been around for so long yet blows it’s own trumpet so loudly, that is pathetic! Trampolining has managed to spread further.

That’s the thing that really gets to your typical VFL fan: no-one can see what a great game it is and they scratch their empty heads wondering why they can’t sit down every 4 years with a VB and meat pie to watch their country battle it out for the VFL World Cup. Maybe the fact that they nearly burst into tears if the state up the road wins a game doesn’t help with their quest for global domination. Or perhaps it’s the fact when non-VFL people watch their first game, they liken it to a pack of 8-year-old boys who have had too much red cordial, running around in their Mardi Gras singlets and shorts, fumbling an egg-shaped ball for 3 hours. Add to this the 7000 different rules & you can see why this game has not been embraced anywhere else in the world.

Compare this sad little game’s growth and popularity around the world to other games like Football and the Rugby codes and it becomes clear what a dismal failure the controllers of this sport have been in trying to grow their game. Football, for example, is played in every country on the planet with most countries having some sort of organised competition right through to the multi-billion dollar leagues of Europe which are watched weekly throughout the world. A bit different to the VFL’s struggle to get people in Sydney to tune in. Even Gridiron has some sort of international profile, which is an achievement in itself considering how well liked the Yanks are around the globe.

Celebrate 150 years or commiserate? Perhaps the popularity of the game is a reflection of the narrow-minded, insular minds of the people who run, report on and support this sorry excuse for a sport.

Mint article.

And McDonalds is more popular than truffles and champagne.

20 years ago communism was the most popular form of government.

It's pretty obvious why soccer is great for junior participation. Don't have the hand-eye co-ordination to hit a cricket ball, or take a jumping mark? Play soccer. Don't have the strength or speed for track and field? Play soccer. Not tall enough or have the motor skills for basketball? Play soccer. Girls and women are great at it!

The bottom line summarise why soccer will eventually, in this century, surpass Aussie Rules. Small minded people running it. If Eddie took over the AFL it will boom.

Whislt we are propping up suburban clubs we are not spending money on junior development and promotion (at the moment it is a token effort) AFL will shrivel. I am talking of football academies where each club has at least 100 kids under their umbrella. Each club having youth squads that play each other. Kids being identified by AFL clubs at 12. Not saying playing them before 18, but at least guiding them. It happens in Soccer overseas, and is about to take off here. The whole idea of amateur clubs developing the kids is unprofesional.

And McDonalds is more popular than truffles and champagne.

20 years ago communism was the most popular form of government.

It's pretty obvious why soccer is great for junior participation. Don't have the hand-eye co-ordination to hit a cricket ball, or take a jumping mark? Play soccer. Don't have the strength or speed for track and field? Play soccer. Not tall enough or have the motor skills for basketball? Play soccer. Girls and women are great at it!
your ignorance wont make the soccer threat go away. Whislt our codes administration sits back and says "she'll be right mate, soccer is for pansies" Soccer is gaining momentum.

Meh, I don't believe so. That doesn't even make sense anyway. If I am so small-minded, then why aren't I declaring war on association football? Wouldn't an insular, arrogant AR fan, or administration, be doing whatever they could to shut down the competition?

Instead, we let them share our sponsors, play on our grounds, whatever. Many fans on here have openly professed less than a burning hatred for the roundball game.

By the sounds of it, you have no clue what you are talking about anyway. You have no idea how much money is being spent by the AFL on promotion and development. You have no idea of the participation rate in NSW and Sydney in recent years. What are you going to tell us, from over there in Adelaide?

My previous post was a pretty blatant troll, but you shouldn't be labelling others as ignorant, just because you have an uneducated opinion on the situation.

Meh, I don't believe so. That doesn't even make sense anyway. If I am so small-minded, then why aren't I declaring war on association football? Wouldn't an insular, arrogant AR fan, or administration, be doing whatever they could to shut down the competition?

Instead, we let them share our sponsors, play on our grounds, whatever. Many fans on here have openly professed less than a burning hatred for the roundball game.

By the sounds of it, you have no clue what you are talking about anyway. You have no idea how much money is being spent by the AFL on promotion and development. You have no idea of the participation rate in NSW and Sydney in recent years. What are you going to tell us, from over there in Adelaide?

My previous post was a pretty blatant troll, but you shouldn't be labelling others as ignorant, just because you have an uneducated opinion on the situation.
your previous post is the Attitude that the AFL boss has of soccer...

On the negative side, there are some characteristics of the game itself that may make it difficult for the current boom to last. One of its problems is that soccer tends to draw low crowds, and drawing low crowds may make it difficult to win the public relations battle. For example, in the last ten years, the average attendance at Brazilian games has been 12,000, with 11,000 in Argentina, and 4,800 in Chile. In Europe, the average attendance is around 20,000. If soccer can't draw decent crowds in countries where it is king and has lengthy traditions, it may find Australia even more difficult to build crowd sizes that can then be used to hype it over the other football codes.
Soccer also exaggerates its global popularity. Soccer World Cups tend to be largely European and South American affairs. The World's two largest nations, China and India, have rarely been represented. Admittedly, there is more diversity in the finalists than there is in rival World Cups of basketball, cricket and rugby union, however soccer's low scoring means qualifications and performances are more of a lottery, and this naturally means it will always have more competitive games, and a wider variety of countries involved.

convictcreations.com

Lets look at this for logic to understand why this thread has gone so long and will never die.

I am not a bogan
I got it, you call me a daygo and then you go and use a Greek work for shit, how smart are you, you're too smart to be a bogan.
Not sure if this is because, the word scatological was used, which strictly speaking is not the greek word for shit. If there was a double entendre there, ie daygo and scatalogical, it missed.

I am a bogan
...You say about comparisons, you will find that it's the one-eyed bogans like yourself who continously bring it up. .
Probably because now, gratis of some online help, discover the term koproskilo, which means dogshit. Okay, call me whatever because,

really don't care so
Don't need another hawka_fan on my hands so I going to leave it there although have no idea whats wrong with baked beans.

Bogan insult?? taken

How can you argue with that sense. But it is put best by the author himself issuing the care factor for the boss

I've wasted enough of my bosses time I'm going to next topic

Right, what topic was the boss going to be happy with. Don't tell me.

He barracks for Hawthorn too

The one thing i find amazing is the hundreds of different ways soccer fans come up with the same argument.

Aussie rules fans Know that soccer is more popular,
they know that afl will most likely never grow out of the four states it's popular in now, yet, and here's the thing - WE DONT CARE.

We enjoy our game, were grateful that we can go every winters week to see the game we love and whether or not it becomes popular on the world stage is inconsequential to everyone but the bigwigs in the afl commision.

Therefore all you young soccer fans who feel the CONSTANT need to go on about how much more popular the game is than aussie rules can go and share your wasted emotions somewhere else, and leave us in peace to enjoy the footy.

The one thing i find amazing is the hundreds of different ways soccer fans come up with the same argument.

Aussie rules fans Know that soccer is more popular,
they know that afl will most likely never grow out of the four states it's popular in now, yet, and here's the thing - WE DONT CARE.

We enjoy our game, were grateful that we can go every winters week to see the game we love and whether or not it becomes popular on the world stage is inconsequential to everyone but the bigwigs in the afl commision.

Therefore all you young soccer fans who feel the CONSTANT need to go on about how much more popular the game is than aussie rules can go and share your wasted emotions somewhere else, and leave us in peace to enjoy the footy.

Listen up all

The voice of reason:thumbsu:

If AFL was any good....