If you're going to abuse a telemarketer...

I've worked as a telemarketer a few times. The way I see it, telemarketers have a job, don't clog up the dole queue and most importantly, pay taxes.

the funny thing was that the only people who really bashed me about was unemployed people.

Yeah anything exceeding a couple of years sorta has that adult working at maccas vibe. It is a massive toss up between the alternative in zero skill required, fast and available work, escort driving. Probably do need a hint of physical presence though.

was a telemarketer once upon a time. rest of the crew were like myself uni students just looking for some cash over summer. when uni started we all resigned en mass and went back to complete our degrees.

I did it for an hour while at uni. ****ed off out of there and got a factory job for the rest of the year, couldn't hack that shit.

Would have thought telemarketing was a dying industry considering how few people use landlines now.

I would imagine most people are like me and only answer calls on their mobile from people they know.
When you're running a business you need to answer every phone call, I'm sure they target phones signed up to 'business' accounts. I can get up to 20 of these leaches call me in a day despite being on the 'do not call' register.
I'd prefer them to be on the dole, at least there's a chance people on the dole are doing something to extend their skills and not just ringing me up to read a script.

Yes I work as one (Shut up) and if you're going to abuse me then don't give me Seinfeld. I'll fire back with more Seinfeld before you can blink. So at least give me something original or just hang up and save us both some time.

So now we get an idea of ManWithNoName real name.
Is it Raj,Sunil,Ajay,Kumar or Sachin ? :p

Earning the big bucks.
Surely this bloke is rolling in cash and living it large in his big house he bought with all the money he earnt sitting around on his backside?
Anyone earning this much money couldn't possibly still be living at home could they?

If he was earning 2k per week 8 years ago he must be on a fair whack by now, penthoused up to the eyeballs swooning glamours in the citay

So now we get an idea of ManWithNoName real name.
Is it Raj,Sunil,Ajay,Kumar or Sachin ? :p
Mate if my name was Sachin I would've just rung into India and dominated.

They were good times.

Also lol at people going 8 years back in my posting history to have goes at me. Imagine having so little in your life. Sad really.

Yeah anything exceeding a couple of years sorta has that adult working at Mackers vibe. It is a massive toss up between the alternative in zero skill required, fast and available work, escort driving. Probably do need a hint of physical presence though.

But you get to wear casual clothes.

No shame in being a telemarketer, I did it once when I was starting out in my working life for a few months. Kiddos have to start somewhere.

Earning the big bucks.
Surely this bloke is rolling in cash and living it large in his big house he bought with all the money he earnt sitting around on his backside?
Anyone earning this much money couldn't possibly still be living at home could they?

Don't knock living at home, m8.

If this bloke did stay at home he could have saved shitloads. Had he invested 50k a year from that 2k a week he was bringing down in Aust/Int shares/fixed interest and REITs, with a little bit of cash, his portfolio would have been getting at least a 6% pa return since 2008.

Assuming that continues he'd likely be a millionaire in 2020.

If this bloke did stay at home he could have saved shitloads. Had he invested 50k a year from that 2k a week he was bringing down in Aust/Int shares/fixed interest and REITs, with a little bit of cash, his portfolio would have been getting at least a 6% pa return since 2008.

This changes everything!

although i didnt last long in the industry, gotta admit you gotta be thick skinned to cold call and get rejected more often than not.
I almost never got abused, which seemed odd. I did it for what, 2 years? And yeah, I could count the amount of times I actually got yelled at on one hand. Was certainly different to the norm of others.

Must be my winning personality.

Yeah I always politely decline, no need to be a dick about it. I'll say something along the lines of "I'll save you the trouble" all good.

I don't like the scripts they use, pretending to build rapport, etc . Shop salespeople do it is well, the technique of getting the other person answering questions helps you (the salesperson) control the conversation and drive it to its ultimate goal - closing the sale, or even upselling something.

Honestly, I wouldn't mind if telemarketers cut to the chase quicker. If it really is a win win then I'll have a good idea of that early on. The longer and more convoluted the pitch is, the more suspicious I am that you are trying to trick me into buying something I don't really want.

But yeah, always be polite. But **** those ones that call and don't say anything when you answer, or call many times without leaving a message. That's harassment.

Doubtful, there'll be a financial crisis in there somewhere :p

i always turn the volume up and go back to watching tele half listening and responding with appropriate positive answer when prompted and go along with all it the way until they read the terms and conditions and then say sorry i can't agree to that.

of course its been about 12 months since i got a telemarketing call so maybe 0405 #### #### is a dickhead has gotten around the industry.

Yeah I always politely decline, no need to be a dick about it. I'll say something along the lines of "I'll save you the trouble" all good.

I don't like the scripts they use, pretending to build rapport, etc . Shop salespeople do it is well, the technique of getting the other person answering questions helps you (the salesperson) control the conversation and drive it to its ultimate goal - closing the sale, or even upselling something.

Honestly, I wouldn't mind if telemarketers cut to the chase quicker. If it really is a win win then I'll have a good idea of that early on. The longer and more convoluted the pitch is, the more suspicious I am that you are trying to trick me into buying something I don't really want.

But yeah, always be polite. But **** those ones that call and don't say anything when you answer, or call many times without leaving a message. That's harassment.

The worst ones are when you've already got business with them.

As soon as I get "Hi I'm from..." I just hang up when I don't use the company.

I regularly cycle credit cards to grab FF points and I got this prick from NAB ring up trying to flog me insurance. He spent a couple of mins questioning me how I liked the CC before leading into "how I'd pay it off if I were injured and couldn't work..."

But **** those ones that call and don't say anything when you answer

Used to get one where my "Hello" would get pure silence, then a second later you'd hear office/callcenter background noise and the person would say just "Hello", forcing you to say "Hello" again :thumbsdown: Must've been a system where the caller didn't touch anything until a number picked up.

Yep, if you don't say anything at all. You do not get put through.