News Insightful and Inciteful - 2022 Media Thread

To be fair and we know AFL journalism, commentary and umpiring is all a farce in comparison to American sports but you would think if your job is as a footy journalist the least you could do is watch all 9 games a round. With replays its 18 hours, say 20 hours if you sit through a couple of the top games of the round live.

I know this is Australia, the AFL and it's not going to probably happen for 20 years but duck me it really is the least that should be done before writing articles on teams and their players.
You could also get an edit that cuts out the breaks and time between goals. Would take the games down to around 80mins.

The platform in question.
fire screaming GIF by South Park

Looks like he's put some size on. Hopefully means he can (and wants to) tackle now

When the ARL and Super League merged to form the NRL and they had to reduce the number of Sydney-based teams, they had a formula they used to decide which team to cull.

It ended up knocking out South Sydney, although they got back into the league after a couple of years and a very expensive lawsuit (that actually ruled that the NRL’s use of the formula was fine).

One of these days I’m going to actually sit down and try to adapt the same formula to the ten AFL teams in Victoria to see which one would get the arse if the league decided to bring in Tasmania but stay as an 18-team comp.

I reckon it’d be North by a street.

Simmo saying Yeo will be available next week reckons 2 WAFL games for Yeo is one too many. Credits in the bank.

Seriously, if Yeo is allowed straight back into the seniors after being dumb enough to get suspended in the WAFL then it just reaffirms how low standards are right now.

Surely he plays WAFL for one more week minimum.

Paddy Dow eh?

A high draft pick that never lived up to his potential, doesn't have much of an inside game, ordinary disposal by foot but can run all day

Seems like the type of player we would likely be interested in. Sadly

We should be. Possibly the the biggest pool of currently unrealised potential in the competition that still remains young enough to achieve it in a new environment.

Doubt he would relocate to Perth however. More likely that he joins up with his brother at Richmond.

Convinced that he will become a very good player wherever he does end up.

if he is fit he must play.
Why?

Senior player costs himself minutes in the legs through idiocy. Why shouldn’t he languish for a week longer.

The whole mentality that certain names ‘must play’ is part of the reason we’re in this mess to begin with. About time these scrubs are held to account.

Seriously, why do tassie 'deserve' an AFL team.

Financially it makes zero sense.

Because as a traditional football state the people there should have had a representative in the national competition over 30 years ago.

The people of Tasmania also deserve to be treated better by the sport's administration than as a means to provide a sugar hit to parasitic Victorian clubs that struggle to generate their own support.

Financially they make more sense than arguably a third of the Melbourne clubs and (TV rights aside) the two recent expansion clubs into Rugby territory.