Interstate sides in GFs

I think you'll find that 1. Port Adelaide wanted in long before a national comp was up and about, and 2. The SANFL isn't the only league in Australia. 7 of the 8 WAFL clubs were insolvent at the end of 1986. They were in far more strife than the VFL was, and 3/4 of the VFL clubs were also insolvent, so that's saying something.

I am not disputing that. But some have said it was the SANFL who needed the VFL but not vice versa. The fact is, both needed eachother.

Ok well, hypothetically, let's say the ground was worth what, 3 goals to the Tigers today and the umpires also 'gifted' us a couple while God stepped in for another couple, so we get a 7 goal handicap... Congratulations to the Tigers on your 2017 premiership win!!!

On the one hand, anyone who suggests the umpires robbed the Crows are talking shit. I count one dodgy decision against the Crows, when Betts was held, and that's it. On the other hand, I think the home ground advantage thing is also a mental issue. You finish top of the ladder, yet you go into a grand final against the team which has 70% of the support, and at its home ground. Tigers won fair and square, but it's not about the Tigers, this can and will happen in any other year too. It's about a fair competition, something the AFL knows nothing about.

I reckon theres heaps of evidence

Richmond are the most pathetic premiership team away from the mcg in recent memory.

Went and looked at a few premiership teams runs away from their home stadiums and its instructive reading.

Every other premier beat heavyweight opposition away

Richmond beat a single top 8 team that were the biggest pretenders in the 8 then the next best they beat was 14th

Mcg KINGS

EFA

Stay salty.

Solution for all interstate teams- make sure you make it an all interstate GF= problem solved, it's time they upped their game instead of complaining

Nah, non-Vic teams are 8-8 against Vic clubs in grand finals. They're 3-3 against other non-Vic teams.

Totally even. Makes no difference.

On the one hand, anyone who suggests the umpires robbed the Crows are talking shit. I count one dodgy decision against the Crows, when Betts was held, and that's it. On the other hand, I think the home ground advantage thing is also a mental issue. You finish top of the ladder, yet you go into a grand final against the team which has 70% of the support, and at its home ground. Tigers won fair and square, but it's not about the Tigers, this can and will happen in any other year too. It's about a fair competition, something the AFL knows nothing about.

Yeah, but The Crows didnt have to wear white shorts...

Nah, non-Vic teams are 8-8 against Vic clubs in grand finals. They're 3-3 against other non-Vic teams.

Totally even. Makes no difference.
Yes and if the free kick count is even at the end of a game the umpiring has been fair.

Do you set out purposely to sound mind numbingly stupid - because as gw bush would say - mission accomplished

Nah bro, home ground advantage / home state advantage doesn't exist come GF day. Like, those few thousand extra interstate fans completely change the dynamic of it all and nullifies any of the advantages the Victorian sides have. And like the ground dimensions are irrelevant, obviously. Guess the non-Victorian sides simply need to be good enough. Anywhere, anytime, right? Oh, but this only applies to the non-Victorian teams and not the Victorian teams. The non-Victorian teams aren't deserving of a flag if they're unable to win anytime, anywhere, but the Victorian teams, who don't have to win anytime, anywhere, are completely deserving.

And lets not forget that the atmosphere and crowd size should take precedence over the equality of the competition. Can't play at a 60,000 seat stadium, god forbid 40,000 neutrals and MCC members miss out!

Adelaide fans should count themselves very lucky that the GF was at the MCG. If it was in Adelaide they would have to face the brutal reality that Richmond are just plain better than them. Now they have an excuse.
Your away from the mcg record this year screams otherwise.

18th - Beat brisbane at the gabba by 52

1st - Lost to adelaide at ao by 76

10th - Lost to the dogs at etihad by 5

4th - Lost to gws by 3 at spotless

15th - Beat roos by 35 at etihad

5th - Beat port by 13 at ao

11th - Lost by 67 to saints at etihad

18th - Beat brisbane at etihad by 31

17th - Beat gc by 33 at metricon

2nd - Lost to geelong by 14 at skilled

14th - Beat freo by 104 at subi

The only teams you beat away from the g this year were bottom 4

And port.

Dont kid yourself - mcg queens.

Yes and if the free kick count is even at the end of a game the umpiring has been fair.

Do you set out purposely to sound mind numbingly stupid - because as gw bush would say - mission accomplished

That's not the stupid bit that I was hoping you'd pick up on, but I'll take it anyway.

And port.

So we comfortably beat the weaker teams away from home, and lost to the stronger ones by small margins, then belted them on our home deck? Richmond have had a great record away from home over the Hardwick era, regularly picking up wins in Adelaide, Perth, Sydney and Queensland.

Anyway I shouldn't argue, West Coast fans know more about downhill skiing than any other club.

So we comfortably beat the weaker teams away from home, and lost to the stronger ones by small margins, then belted them on our home deck? Richmond have had a great record away from home over the Hardwick era, regularly picking up wins in Adelaide, Perth, Sydney and Queensland.

Anyway I shouldn't argue, West Coast fans know more about downhill skiing than any other club.
You had a pretty identical record away to us - a team that scraped into the 8 and was finals fodder.

But yeah - delude yourself that you would have beaten adelaide in adelaide..... when you couldnt make a brisk walk down the road and beat the top half of the bottom 8.

If you hadnt been kissed on the dk with all your finals at the g - geelong would have smacked your bottoms at kardinia the week before and you lot would be chewing the sour chode of yet another fail year.

As it is you are spending way to much time defending the indefensible - its been weeks. If you supported a team like hawthorn or the dogs you wouldnt care as you would know for a fact you can beat quality teams away from the g.

Your team bradburied a granny - enjoy it like we enjoy priddis’ brownlow......

And port.

Geez we lost by literally a fingernail to GWS at spotless. We must be shit away from the G #vfl #freekickninthmond

Are you aware what losing means?

It means you didnt win.

1 point
10 points
100 points.

If you win every game all year by one point - you are the premiers

If you lose every game all year by one point you win a wooden spoon.

You lot are mcg queens - you beat trash away from home only.

Are you aware what losing means?

It means you didnt win.

1 point
10 points
100 points.

If you win every game all year by one point - you are the premiers

If you lose every game all year by one point you win a wooden spoon.

You lot are mcg queens - you beat trash away from home only.
If margin doesn’t matter why did you include it in your post?

Well it does matter

You win or you lose - thats the most important thing.

Then if you get thrashed that shows something else.

Like how you got thrashed by adelaide in adelaide.

It pours cold water over many tigers supporters claims that you would have easily won a granny played in adelaide.

Well it does matter

You win or you lose - thats the most important thing.

Then if you get thrashed that shows something else.

Like how you got thrashed by adelaide in adelaide.

It pours cold water over many tigers supporters claims that you would have easily won a granny played in adelaide.
Yes you have it right. We won 6 games away from the G this year. 4 away from Melbourne. They were all worth the same. 4 premiership points. We also thrashed Fremantle and Brisbane, which does show something.

Then in the finals, where it is all about winning or losing, we won 3 games, and thrashed 3 top 4 teams.
The exact same way too.
That shows something.

Certainly more than a game played 5 months ago.

Yes you have it right. We won 6 games away from the G this year. 4 away from Melbourne. They were all worth the same. 4 premiership points. We also thrashed Fremantle and Brisbane, which does show something.

Then in the finals, where it is all about winning or losing, we won 3 games, and thrashed 3 top 4 teams.
The exact same way too.
That shows something.

Certainly more than a game played 5 months ago.
Yes - it shows that you are a superb team on your home ground.

You had a pretty identical record away to us - a team that scraped into the 8 and was finals fodder.

But yeah - delude yourself that you would have beaten adelaide in adelaide..... when you couldnt make a brisk walk down the road and beat the top half of the bottom 8.

If you hadnt been kissed on the dk with all your finals at the g - geelong would have smacked your bottoms at kardinia the week before and you lot would be chewing the sour chode of yet another fail year.

As it is you are spending way to much time defending the indefensible - its been weeks. If you supported a team like hawthorn or the dogs you wouldnt care as you would know for a fact you can beat quality teams away from the g.

Your team bradburied a granny - enjoy it like we enjoy priddis’ brownlow......

Lol, this is hilarious. Geelong have played literally one final in their entire existence at Kardinia Park, yet now it's unfair that they have to play finals at the MCG.

You are coming across as incredibly salty. Face facts mate: Richmond finished the season with the best record and demolished all other top 4 teams in the finals.

That's just how it is.

Lol, this is hilarious. Geelong have played literally one final in their entire existence at Kardinia Park, yet now it's unfair that they have to play finals at the MCG.

You are coming across as incredibly salty. Face facts mate: Richmond finished the season with the best record and demolished all other top 4 teams in the finals.

That's just how it is.
Thats better.

Just push through that second rate feeling and enjoy the win.

Tainted or not its still a win. And your first so extra special.

Interstate sides in GFs