Intraclub Alert (Change of Venue)

Does this mean that we've already given up hope of defeating Sydney at the SCG this year?

Pretty dissapointing.

Can't make next week, and was relying on reports from the Melbourne posters.

Unfortunately I doubt anyone will get to this one to make a report, at midday on a Friday.

There's not too many Ballarat posters on here is there?
I'll probably pull a sickie and get out there.

Need to keep it a secret from the missus too as she will threaten to tag along with the little one if she finds out Im going on a road trip on her day off.

Their not going to Canberra, or Gold coast, even west Sydney.
You could look at it another way and say how great it is that they invest energy in the state of Victoria. And it may be a good thing for a big country town in this state.

I wonder if saftey is also a bigger issue than the club is letting on. I dont like the sound of the hard wicket area in the middle of the ground, especially since so much of our play is being directed through there now.

Yeah and I think ever since Hale hit the fence there looks to have been a big push to clear the ground of crap lying around at training. The other day i was there and they were trying to ensure the fitness testing stuff they have on the side of the ground was completely off the ground before they started match simulation exercises.

I think the last thing they need is for a large insurance premium increase.

It may be disappointing for us but whether it is the size of the ground, or the safety of the players, or even a potential insurance hike, they are doing it for the benefit of the NMFC on and/or off the field.

well they played the intraclub at Arden St last year, so i'm not sure what's happened in a year that has made the place suddenly unsuable now...
A new coach whose pedantic and meticulous about everything being done properly I guess.

Most AFL clubs have never gotten Intra Club game scheduling right, the Arden Street Friday twilight thing would've been a winner, Friday midday at Ballarat is just dumb. If the Kangas used their brains beforehand they'd have played the first match - the 36 minute 'game' - at Arden Street, then gone up to Ballarat for their fair dinkum hit out next week.

But Ballarat is only an hour up the road. Essendon played in Shepparton, Melbourne have theirs in Cranbourne. Not much different.

Do you reckon this is a bit of treat them mean and keep them keen?

All the melbourne-based supporters are still hankering for their first look at the kids. Keeps the excitement going, and together with the 'no numbers' policy, keeps the mystique going about our kids and what we're up to. Might boost the North attendance in NAB1 and Rnd 1. That's a good thing if it plays out.

In past years, there's been a whole lot of 'look at us', and not so much looking. This year we play the intras out of town, without numbers, and people say, 'what are they hiding?' 'Let's go have a look.'

I'm happy the Ballarat folk are getting rewarded for coming out too. Come out again and it's a fair case to get some games played up there.

Yeah and I think ever since Hale hit the fence there looks to have been a big push to clear the ground of crap lying around at training. The other day i was there and they were trying to ensure the fitness testing stuff they have on the side of the ground was completely off the ground before they started match simulation exercises.

I think the last thing they need is for a large insurance premium increase.

It may be disappointing for us but whether it is the size of the ground, or the safety of the players, or even a potential insurance hike, they are doing it for the benefit of the NMFC on and/or off the field.

Bring HZI back on board??

I'll probably pull a sickie and get out there.

Need to keep it a secret from the missus too as she will threaten to tag along with the little one if she finds out Im going on a road trip on her day off.

Urmoe

Why don't you just give your wife a 'Mummy Day Off' and take Junior Urmoe with you? I'm sure she will appreciate it more.

mmm....lets see.

match in ballarat - yep thats where i live.

played on friday - yep, dont work on friday.

kangas playing - yep, i love the kangas & im a member.

woohoo, lucky me......

mmm....lets see.

woohoo, lucky me......

Good onya mate i am happy for you and all the peope from ballarat

Originally Posted by shiraz
Do you reckon this is a bit of treat them mean and keep them keen?

All the melbourne-based supporters are still hankering for their first look at the kids. Keeps the excitement going, and together with the 'no numbers' policy, keeps the mystique going about our kids and what we're up to. Might boost the North attendance in NAB1 and Rnd 1. That's a good thing if it plays out.

In past years, there's been a whole lot of 'look at us', and not so much looking. This year we play the intras out of town, without numbers, and people say, 'what are they hiding?' 'Let's go have a look.'

I'm happy the Ballarat folk are getting rewarded for coming out too. Come out again and it's a fair case to get some games played up there

agree with this one to

Urmoe

Why don't you just give your wife a 'Mummy Day Off' and take Junior Urmoe with you? I'm sure she will appreciate it more.
Aussie_Roo, dont get me wrong as I love them to death but if either of them come with me, then I may as well stay home and read the report in the heraldsun the next day.

My wife gets many days off, I do take the little one out alone quite a bit to give the missus a break, the footy is my time off.

The only hope I have if they find out about it, that they come with me and decide to go play on the grass somewhere together.

mmm....lets see.

woohoo, lucky me......

Well the pressure's on you to deliver a lengthy report on the game now nmfc_always :thumbsu:

Anyone know if this is going to be a 30 min hitout or longer this time?

Thinking of chucking a sickie to go have a gander.

On a purely selfish note, I am (including Mrs Frogsplash) extremely dissapointed about this. We just happen to be in Melbourne later this week, (from Tassie) and were both looking forward to this. Ah well, I suppose we'll go to the family day, but the intraclub would have been good. On a positive note, I am happy that I don't have the junior splashes with me. That would have cost me some serious shopping dollars.

Intraclub Alert (Change of Venue)